? 02/21 Chase +11.5 115, amps @ +12 114, shot @ 12.5, +1 135, +2 112, +11.75 144, +1 186, +2 148, +3 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
0.1 this evening... right Marje?

Oh heck... I'm still here and ready to bolt but I may as well get a 2.75. I'll post and run and will try to check in at work at some point.

OMG... Marje... look. At +2.75 he is still at 122 BG. He hadn't eaten all of his food, but most of it. He's finishing now and I'm REALLY out the door.

The 0.1 and MC... so far, so good. Fingers crossed. I will post his PMPS before I shoot, this evening. :)
 
Everyone... please stop posting so that I can easily find Marje's instructions easily. OR.... Marje, you could message me the instructions?
@Marje and Gracie and those leaving instructions...
This might be a good time to use a different color font so relevant information will pop out. :)

Sandi, if you haven't, you can leave some food out for Chase to nibble on while you're gone...
 
@Marje and Gracie and those leaving instructions...
This might be a good time to use a different color font so relevant information will pop out. :)

Sandi, if you haven't, you can leave some food out for Chase to nibble on while you're gone...
Agreed. She left food out. That has been the plan all along...even days when he's a bit higher so that he has LC food to graze on.
 
Thank you. Wish I could print this out now. LOL. Everyone... please stop posting so that I can easily find Marje's instructions easily. OR.... Marje, you could message me the instructions?

Ok... gotta run. Byeeeee
Yes. Since I've posted them here, I will copy and paste in a PM so you can find them.

Let's see what he does today before we decide on dose but I'm thinking, if he doesn't shoot up, this might be a safer dose for him that you can shoot twice a day and work.
 
Hey Sandi, sorry I disappeared on you I thought you had already gone to work, and I had some stuff to do.
Great numbers for Cheeky Monkey.
Have a good day.
 
He's at 144 at +11.75 - I'm really late getting home, but I'm pretty sure 0.1 u is going to be recommended. His BG is pretty low. Don't want to overdo it with .25. I like his numbers today.
 
Last edited:
He's at 144 at +11.40 - I'm really late getting home, but I'm pretty sure 0.1 u is going to be recommended. His BG is pretty low. Don't want to overdo it with .25. I like his numbers today.
Hi Sandi, that is a nice cycle today and I would be inclined to do a 0.01 again too at this reading. But, I would still get a +12 or PMPS to see if things changed. Also, get a + 1 and + 2 to see how the cycle is going to go.


ETA : I am a self admitted test-a holic. After posting the above, it is only 20 minutes away from the PMPS You can use your own discretion on whether you test again in 20 minutes.
 
I like his numbers, too, and I think I'd stay with 0.1u until we can see where he settles out.

I know you worry about him bring safe when you are at work.
Hi Marje. Am I misunderstanding something? Doesn't PMPS mean PM pre-shot? I have to test before I give him his insulin at the 12 hr mark. Should I not list his PMPS in the PMPS spot unless I can do the pretest and shoot all within the same 10 minutes?
 
Hi Sandi, that is a nice cycle today and I would be inclined to do a 0.01 again too at this reading. But, I would still get a +12 or PMPS to see if things changed. Also, get a + 1 and + 2 to see how the cycle is going to go.


ETA : I am a self admitted test-a holic. After posting the above, it is only 20 minutes away from the PMPS You can use your own discretion on whether you test again in 20 minutes.
Isn't +12 and PMPS the same thing. Just when I think I understand, I guess I don't. :(
 
I agree that you should get a +1 and +2. I also think I'd start with the MC to be sure he doesn't drop on you and earn a reduction.
Hi Marje. Am I misunderstanding something? Doesn't PMPS mean PM pre-shot? And since I tested 15 minutes before the 12 hr mark... oh... I'm confused.

You aren't missing something but the SS says you tested at +11.75 not +11.4. If you tested at +11.75, then shoooooot.

And yes, PMPS is +12.
 
I agree that you should get a +1 and +2. I also think I'd start with thenMC to be sure he doesn't drop on you and earn a reduction.


You aren't missing something but the SS says you tested at +11.75 not +11.4. If you tested at +11.75, then shoooooot.

And yes, PMPS is +12.

So then why is Bobbie saying I should test at PMPS AND +12? I keep putting .45 when I should put .75, because it's 15 minutes before the hour. I actually tested closer to 6:40, so that's why I'm saying 6:45. Unless I should be precise about the very minute.

I shot at 6:52. I need to take him back a little since I was so late getting his insulin into him this morning (7:00 a.m.).
 
So then why is Bobbie saying I should test at PMPS AND +12? I keep putting .45 when I should put .75, because it's 15 minutes before the hour. I actually tested closer to 6:40, so that's why I'm saying 6:45. Unless I should be precise about the very minute.

I shot at 6:52. I need to take him back a little since I was so late getting his insulin into him this morning (7:00 a.m.).
I did give him MC. I thought that was the plan. :(

It's very difficult for me to be right on the minute with anything. I'm trying. I really am. I thought he was going to get MC food, for now, unless his BG was really high. I thought 144 wasn't considered to be really high. Please correct me if I'm misunderstanding. :)
 
So then why is Bobbie saying I should test at PMPS AND +12? I keep putting .45 when I should put .75, because it's 15 minutes before the hour. I actually tested closer to 6:40, so that's why I'm saying 6:45. Unless I should be precise about the very minute.

I shot at 6:52. I need to take him back a little since I was so late getting his insulin into him this morning (7:00 a.m.).
I think she said +12 OR PMPS in case you ran late past +12. So if you were really running late and had to shoot at +12.5, that would be your PMPS.

I might have confused you in explaining what two cycles are. Normally..it's 12 hours so normally AMPS and PMPS are at +12 but ifmyou have to stall or even if you ahoot early, that will change.

Does that make more sense?

And yes....if you read back a few posts, you'll see I said to start with the MC so you did perfect.
You've done everything right today! Believe in yourself!!
 
I think she said +12 OR PMPS in case you ran late past +12. So if you were really running late and had to shoot at +12.5, that would be your PMPS.

I might have confused you in explaining what two cycles are. Normally..it's 12 hours so normally AMPS and PMPS are at +12 but ifmyou have to stall or even if you ahoot early, that will change.

Does that make more sense?

And yes....if you read back a few posts, you'll see I said to start with the MC so you did perfect.
You've done everything right today! Believe in yourself!!
Thank you. And your're right. She DID say +12 OR PMPS. I read it wrong. LOL.

Still... the AMPS and PMPS confuse me. I thought I should put a number in that column no matter what... because I'm testing right before his shot no matter what.
 
Thank you. And your're right. She DID say +12 OR PMPS. I read it wrong. LOL.

Still... the AMPS and PMPS confuse me. I thought I should put a number in that column no matter what... because I'm testing right before his shot no matter what.
We are just sitting down to dinner but I will explain it after. For now, grab your dinner, relax, and we will see you at +1.
 
We are just sitting down to dinner but I will explain it after. For now, grab your dinner, relax, and we will see you at +1.
Thanks, Marje. Maybe we can look at the SS at the same time, and you can "try" to get it through my thick head. No time for me to relax. My kitchen is so small and always looks like a bomb went off in it unless I clean up twice a day. LOL

Don't let me forget, Marje. How late am I supposed to stay up to get his final test in?
 
Sandi, no stress, we all needed so much help in the beginning. I was a tech mo- mo and had to learn all the forum talk while learning about FD. We will help you every step of the way just like we were helped every step of the way. No stress. :)
 
Hmmmmm..... +1 is 186. PMPS was 144. LOL. Does that mean the rest of his meal should be LC, Marje? I'm asking you since we are doing an "experiment".
He's a strange fellow. I'm thinking LC. o.O
 
Guess I'll just wait. He thinks he's gonna die if I don't put that food down, but he'll be fine. LOL.... he keeps going in there hoping there's more.
 
I'm sorry....I was waiting to get the notification and didn't. Sometimes the board doesn't work right.

That's a food spike. You can wait until +2 and we will see where he is and hope he doesn't dive.
 
Sandi

You asked about how late to wait up and get his final test. It depends on where he is at +2 and perhaps +3.

Regarding the SS and the preshots. A few points:
  • Because the cycles are 12 hours long. "generally" the preshots will be at +12 or very close to it so that is what will go in the AMPS or PMPS columns
  • If you are stalling, you can "stack" the numbers in the +11 column and then the number you actually,shoot will go in the AMPS or PMPS column with the +hours number. For example, if you tested at +11 of the p.m. cycle and he was 100, you tested at +11.75 and he was 85, +12.5 and he was 102, then in the +11 column, you would put "100; 85 @+11.75" and then in the PMPS column you would put "102 @ +12.5". That would tell us that you stalled until +12.5 and then shot.
  • You don't have to be precisely on the minute; our shot time was 7/7 so if I tested anywhere between 6:40 and 6:50, I recorded it as 11.75. If I tested and shot anywhere between 6:55 and 7:10, I recorded it as the A PS or PMPS and didn't bother with any +.
Does that help?
 
That is a big drop between +1 and +2. I'd give him a couple tsp of MC to flatten him out or he could continue use a big drop. Or...you can try a good helping of LC and see what happens. Just don't want you dealing with really low numbers tonight.

Either way, please test at +3 since he's coming down.
 
He is due a whole can. I will give him MC. I'm still not completely understanding the numbers. :(
Sandi

He might be "due" a whole can but we need to space the food out a little bit. If he goes up more, you can feed him more later. If you feed everything now and he needs food later, you'll have to feed something else.

What don't you understand about the numbers?
 
Sandi

He might be "due" a whole can but we need to space the food out a little bit. If he goes up more, you can feed him more later. If you feed everything now and he needs food later, you'll have to feed something else.

What don't you understand about the numbers?

When its too much of a drop or spike. But I have a migraine and I can't even think about it right now. I'll do the best I can. It was a very long day at work. I'm his sole caregiver and my job is very demanding. I will post his +3.
 
I just don't understand. His insulin is 0.1u. He's never dropped like this, in the evening, and he's gotten 0.1u 3 straight times, now. And on MC food. I don't know what to do, anymore. I'm sure I sound like I'm complaining and whining, but I'm so tired.
 
Didn't you say that it takes 30 minutes for food to take effect, though? I tested at 9:45. Then I gave him 2 TBL of HC gravy and the rest of his MC food. When do I test again?
 
I'm sorry... I'm still here. I didn't think you would post again until you tested him.

If you didn't feed him, of course you can.

He really hasn't dropped that much tonight....He started out at 144, got a food spike, and then came back down to 132. Two nights ago, he dropped 50 mg/dL and never got a food spike.

Curves are often not predictable and vary.
 
Last edited:
Let's see where he is, ok? I wanted to see if you could give him until +4.5 so you could rest a bit and he could have a break but if you want to test now so you can get to bed if he's up, that works.
 
@Sandi & Chase in AZ

Let me see if I can explain this a little better.

Insulin is not a drug....it's a hormone so that means we are potentially going to get a little different reaction each cycle. It's not only that it's hormone but it's also that absorption can vary up to 50% from cycle to cycle, the syringes are inaccurate, and you are trying to be consistent with a very small dose.

Our goal was to get him to stop dropping from mid blue/yellow to green in a couple hours. This is called managing the curve with food. The goal with managing the curve with food is to stop fast drops and keep numbers from going too low.

In managing the curve with food, we feed the normal total portion of food over several hours to slow the drop and raise the nadir so we get a flatter cycle. Sometimes when we do this, we eventually need to raise the dose a bit to get the entire curve to come a little lower. It's something we will have to talk about if Chase stays in blue numbers. We usually manage the curve with the kitty's normal, LC food but sometimes we have to be flexible and that's what we've tried to do with Chase to keep him safe while you work.

We've seen the MC has worked really well to slow the drops and flatten Chase's curves. What I would suggest, and what I think Gill suggested, is that you keep really good notes in the Remarks section of the SS indicating what, how much, and when you fed food. Then you can see what worked and what didn't. If you look on Gracie's SS, you'll see we keptmreally detailed notes on how we fed her because managing the curve with food is art as much as science.

We can give you ideas and thoughts but it really comes down to you learning about Chase's reaction to insulin and food. Look at his SS and see if you can identify when his insulin onsets, when is the lowest point of the cycle (or the peak caution) we call the nadir; how much duration does he get from his shots? These are things you should study and whhen we ask, you should know. There might be a time when his feeding schedule needs to change so its really important you have a feel for it.

Please let me know if you have questions. :bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
@Sandi & Chase in AZ

Let me see if I can explain this a little better.

Insulin is not a drug....it's a hormone so that means we are potentially going to get a little different reaction each cycle. It's not only that it's hormone but it's also that absorption can vary up to 50% from cycle to cycle, the syringes are inaccurate, and you are trying to be consistent with a very small dose.

Our goal was to get him to stop dropping from mid blue/yellow to green in a couple hours. This is called managing the curve with food. The goal with managing the curve with food is to stop fast drops and keep numbers from going too low.

In managing the curve with food, we feed the normal total portion of food over several hours to slow the drop and raise the nadir so we get a flatter cycle. Sometimes when we do this, we need to raise the dose a bit to get the entire curve to come a little lower. It's something we will have to talk about if Chase stays in blue numbers. We usually manage the curve with the kitty's normal, LC food but sometimes we have to be flexible and that's what we've tried to do with Chase to keep him safe while you work.

We've seen the MC has worked really well to slow the drops and flatten Chase's curves. What I would suggest, and what I think Gill suggested, is that you keep really good notes in the Remarks section of the SS indicating what, how much, and when you fed food. Then you can see what worked and what didn't. If you look on Gracie's SS, you'll see we keptmreally detailed notes on how we fed her because managing the curve with food is art as much as science.

We can give you ideas and thoughts but it really comes down to you learning about Chase's reaction to insulin and food. Look at his SS and see if you can identify when his insulin onsets, when is the lowest point of the cycle (or the peak caution) we call the nadir; how much duration does he get from his shots? These are things you should study and whhen we ask, you should know. There might be a time when his feeding schedule needs to change so its really important you have a feel for it.

Please let me know if you have questions. :bighug::bighug:
Could only skim through this. Running out the door. I messaged you, and talked about LC. Please look at my notes and his SS and tell me what you think. I'll check in as soon as I get home this evening. My goal is to be here NLT 6:00 so I can test, shoot and feed. I'll test, post immediately, and hope that I'm on the right track. Thank you so much. Maybe I'll get to peek in here, from work. I'll try. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top