02/21 Blackie PMPS 101, +2 72

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114082&p=1202440#p1202440

Recap of yesterday's #s:

AMPS 118, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T (threw up before test)
+1 73 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 58
+2.5 61
+4 74
+8 97
+9.5 97
+11 122
PMPS 85, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food
+1 80 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 62
+9 81
+11 123

WCR: All is good with Blackie. However, have been watching a lump on her back which is located about 1.5 - 2" from her tail. I have been keeping tabs on it to make sure that it didn't grow any bigger, or burst. At first, it started out as a mole (there were no puncture wounds anywhere), but then the mole was attached to a growing lump, which thankfully stopped growing. It looks like it's a bit sensitive, and I'm guessing that it bled a bit as there was a blood scab, which fell off. I treated it with Neosporin with Pain Relief to ward off any further issues, and hopefully stop any further potential bleeding. Due to the recent deaths in this family (especially the last one, Daisy, who passed on January 23rd), I'm extremely, extremely nervous about taking her in for fear of losing her, especially since she is diabetic, and is on insulin.

Questions: When I go to take her in for the exam itself, do I give her the insulin, and food? (probably a stupid question, but I'm extremely nervous... again)

When/if they need to remove it (which I'm sure they'll do), do I not give her insulin and food? How do they remove it? Will I be able to bring her back the same day? How would they perform the removal of it? Would they need to aspirate to make sure that it's not cancerous?


Any advice from those that have gone through a similar situation is greatly appreciated, and I thank you ahead of time.

Another thing I'm extremely worried about is that she's now showing some very lovely #s, and I know that her #s will rise a lot when I take her in. She doesn't like vets; can't say I blame her.

I've been awake since 1:30 this morning after going to bed at 10:00 p.m.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: Question: 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130

I don't have any answers to your questions. I think it will be determined by what the vet says. Sending prayers it is nothing serious. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: Question: 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78

If Blackie is going in for an exam, I would give her the usual dose of insulin, food, etc. If she's going to have anesthesia, then there may be a reason to not give insulin. Your vet should tell you what to do or not do -- or you can certainly ask. With where Blackie's numbers typically sit, if there was a procedure requiring anesthesia, I'd give serious consideration to skipping since anesthesia can lower BG.
 
Re: Question: 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78

Ok, I've written it down for future reference. I'm making an appointment for Monday. This needs to be taken care of before something bad happens.
 
Re: Question: 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78

Sending prayers that this is just a cyst. Trix has something like this over her shoulder. It's been there for several years, and I keep a close eye on it. She did scratch it maybe a year or so ago and it scabbed over, but it is still the same size and hasn't changed.

Blackie is looking great today!
 
Re: Question: 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

+2 75

I'm hoping that it's just that, also. Blackie's had this for a while, and like you, I've been watching it, also. I did make an appointment for Monday at 9:30, however, I've switched it to today at 11:00 a.m. I'm already a bundle of nerves. Might as well get this over with. I pray that when he goes to remove it that she doesn't pass away on the table like her daughter did. I don't think I can take another death. Not now.
 
Re: Question: 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

Good morning, Angela,
I hope that this will turn out to be nothing to worry about. Try to be positive, OK? We are thinking of you and sending prayers and vines for Blackie today. Did you give insulin this morning? Did you ask the vet whether or not to give it?

Keeping you in our thoughts.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Exam Set For Today; 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

This is an exam of that lump. I've already given her the insulin at the usual time, and she's had her food. After I get back from the vet's, I'll update you all on the next step.

I really, really don't want to do this for fear of losing her, too. However, if I leave this for much longer, there's no telling what may happen. I only pray that this can be easily fixed, and that there aren't any other issues with her.

I need a lot of prayers today. I haven't eaten. Been awake since 1:30 this morning, and so far only had coffee. About to sip on some water as my nerves are just too shot to eat right now. I'm on the verge of tears.
 
Re: Exam Set For Today; 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

Thank you. For once, this family needs a positive outcome for the kitties. NO MORE bad stuff!!! I mean it. No more.
 
Re: Exam Set For Today; 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

Sending prayers for Blackie that this is nothing to worry about.
 
Re: Exam Set For Today; 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

Sending many many prayers for Blackie.
I'm holding positive thoughts for you all day today, Angela.
 
Re: Exam Set For Today; 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

(((hugs))) Sending you every single ounce of positive energy I can!!!
 
Re: Exam Set For Today; 02/21 Blackie AMPS 130 +1 78 +2 75

Big hugs for you today Angela!!!! Keeping you and sweet Blackie in my thoughts and prayers.

Tena
 
Re: 02/21 Blackie AMPS +2 75 +6 107 +7.5 112 +10 94

+10 94

I just got back from grocery shopping, and checked gave Blackie a quick BG check. I'm glad to see that she's coming down. Upon looking at the lump on her back, though, it looks like it's starting to swell up again. I just have to make it through the weekend, and I'll be taking her back to the vet's on Monday morning. May have to ask DH to help me with her before he leaves. We'll see.

I just looked at it again, and it could be just the way she's laying that's making it look like that. She's curled in a ball, and is stretching the skin.
 
Re: 02/21 Blackie PMPS 101

PMPS 101, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food

I think I'll hold this dose for a bit longer until all the vet stuff is over and done with. Another week isn't going to make a difference, anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top