02/20 Gizmo PMPS=222, +2=165, +3=98, +4=62, +4.5=69, +5=79, +5.5=67, +6=73, +6.5=72

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
02/19

AMPS 112

After I tested and let him start eating I began to question the reading so as soon as he finished and right after the shot I retested - yep, it is correct (2nd reading was 90:eek:).

Since I am off today I didn't get up the hour early to get the +11 from 02/19 so I have no idea where he is going.

Do you know how happy I am I didn't do a dosecrease last night? lol. :joyful:

Should be an exciting morning. Glad I am off!

022017.JPG


Hope everyone has a great day!
 
Last edited:
Nice AMPS Gizmo! I am so happy you are home today Lizzie. I am home today too. :) That looks like a lot of rain headed your way!!
 
Nice AMPS Gizmo! I am so happy you are home today Lizzie. I am home today too. :) That looks like a lot of rain headed your way!!
Already had tornadoes in San Antonio this morning, It hasn't hit here yet - but it is coming, Already got everything set up for power outage (if it happens).

Hope you enjoy your day off!
 
I hope you don't get any tornadoes. Stay safe.
Have pulled the hard sided cat carrier out and put it and the battery operated lantern in the downstairs bathroom. Will grab Gizmo and the meter/strips and HC food and just hang out there if needed. It should just be the leading edge that could be dangerous, then, hopefully, just a rain event.
 
Hope you just get the storm and not the tornado. Great you're home today...good timing Gizmo.
Looks like we are in the clear.

8th cycle. Just have to get it in my head that Gizmo is a bit slower. My thinking was we were talking about a dosecrease right before the dental so that was where my head was, but also knew he hadn't had enough cycles (for him) since the reduced shot and that is why I wasn't too concerned about waiting.

Loving this cycle.
 
Nice to see Giz back in green after clearing that bounce, and good of him to time it when you are not in work.

Glad the Storm was a non event and you are just getting rain.
Stay Safe
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
He's on the rise so you have a few options:
  • Stall 1/2 hour so it will be easy to get back on track and see if you can get him to eat and then shoot a full dose if he does
  • Shoot a reduced dose
  • If you can syringe feed him and you think he won't vomit, you could shoot a full dose and syringe feed when he won't eat
 
Ok, broke out the ol reliable FF T&G. he ate about 2 tablespoons. I really thought that he was just not feeling good because of the lower numbers.

Please, please, please don't be a panc flare.
 
He's on the rise so you have a few options:
  • Stall 1/2 hour so it will be easy to get back on track and see if you can get him to eat and then shoot a full dose if he does
  • Shoot a reduced dose
  • If you can syringe feed him and you think he won't vomit, you could shoot a full dose and syringe feed when he won't eat
Ok, got initial crisis averted. What do I do now? I don't know what is going on.
 
He didn't eat is +6.5 02/19 PM cycle, or 02/20 (today) AM cycle - not unusual - especially with the lower numbers.

ETA - he is definitely not feeling good. Not throwing up, but def in pain.
 
Did you shoot? I'm not sure what you mean by "got initial crisis averted".

Do you have pain meds, like bupe? If he is in pain and you don't have any pain meds, it might be a good idea for an ER visit if your vet is closed.
 
Did you shoot? I'm not sure what you mean by "got initial crisis averted".

Do you have pain meds, like bupe? If he is in pain and you don't have any pain meds, it might be a good idea for an ER visit if your vet is closed.
I shot. I have about 0.02mL of Torbugesic (pain med), Cerenua and Mirtazapine on hand.

He ate about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the FF.

Could the potassium be messing with him?
 
I shot. I have about 0.02mL of Torbugesic (pain med), Cerenua and Mirtazapine on hand.

Could the potassium be messing with him?
If your vet has given you instructions on the pain med and he is in pain, I'd follow the instructions. If he hasn't had any cerenia today, I'd give him the prescribed dose.

Unless you just started the potassium, it shouldn't be the issue.
 
I backed off everything. Dumped all food in his auto feeder and put only Fowl Ball in it. Nothing else in it (supplements).

Put some down and he ate it. He came in and cleaned himself for a bit and laid back down. Now he is back up and sitting in the living room.

Nothing given med wise (yet).
 
He went up stairs and used the LB, been up in the window and watched to birds go to roost and is currently hanging near the autofeeder (hopefully) waiting on the +2.5. Not sure exactly what is going on but fingers crossed. He is limping - same front paw/leg he favors every now and then. Will stick with Fowl Ball for tonight unless I need a higher carb and pray he eats - he does like the gravy but he also is usually a good eater.
 
Ate his +2.5 from the AF without prompting or encouragement. Currently cleaning himself. My issue is the Fowl Ball is very low carbs (4) and he usually gets a little higher and he is dropping. Just going to play it by ear. Hopefully he will eat his regular mixture tomorrow AM. I return to work - really thought we were headed for a bounce.
 
If Gizmo is dropping, and won't eat any other food, you can always put a couple of drops of honey or karo on the Fowl Ball. I hope he surfs safely for you tonight and feels better. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Not sure what % of carb I gave him. About 1 tablespoon of Chick Magnet which Marge or Gil (can't remember) says is 16% - I mixed it with the Fowl Ball (4%) for a total of about 2 tablespoons. I wanted to make sure he was interested in eating is why I included the Fowl Ball.

Did I give him enough carbs?

Is this a dose reduction?
 
Sorry, Lizzie....I was helping Sandi and didn't see any tags.

Yes...16% should be enough as long as he eats enough of it. He should eat a good couple of tsp or at least a good couple tsp of the gravy.

The vet didn't give you a dose on the cerenia? It's usually 4 mg once a day (1/4 of a 16 mg tab).

I'd retest 30 minutes after he finishes eating.

I don't think it was me on the food as I haven't ever fed that food.

ETA: yes....that is a 0.25u reduction so new dose tomorrow is 1u. Yay!
 
The vet didn't give you a dose on the cerenia?
Yes - packaging (rx) says 1 tab (16mb) every 24 hours - It just stuck in my mind that it was 4mg (as Julie stated above^^ - she confirmed my memory). I did not give him anything - med wise. He is eating but I am being pretty conservative - I don't want to overload him and make him sick.

Will retest in 30 min. His nadir is in about 1 1/2 hours.

Do I decrease in the AM?
 
+5 79

No food given. Will test in 30 min. Added a scant tablespoon 16% food to +6.5 (just to be safe) and if he hasn't dropped any in 30 min I am going to bed. I am not feeling well and neither is he - I just hope we are both feeling better in the a.m.

Dose decrease in the a.m. to 1.0U.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top