02/20 Furball AMPS=159 PMPS=220 Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89281

Furball was happy & purry this morning. I was very happy to see a rising number at AMPS. It would have made me very nervous to shoot a green and have to go to work.

If Furball keeps this up, I think I will reduce her dose to 1.5 units this weekend and see how she does. I am sort of following the SLGS Protocol at this point, but didn't take the last reduction she earned because they weren't taking. I have been hoping if she stayed in blues and greens longer the reduction will hold when I take it. Does anyone have any suggestions about a reduction? Thanks.
 
Re: 02/20 Furball +10.25=96 AMPS=159

Morning Carla,

Nice blue AMPS to start the day. I know what you mean about shooting a green and then going to work... Makes me nervous too (although we haven't had one in a long time). You know me, I don't give dosing advice, but your reasoning makes sense to me. The longer Furball stays in blues and greens, the more time her pancreas has to begin to heal and maybe the reduction will hold the next time. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

Have a good day,
Kathie
 
Re: 02/20 Furball +10.25=96 AMPS=159

Hi Carla, you've been seeing some nice numbers lately with Furball. I can understand your worry with these numbers with being at work all day. You have to feel comfortable. Good luck with your decision, and I'm sure the advisors will weigh in with their thoughts. Have a great day.
 
Re: 02/20 Furball +10.25=96 AMPS=159

Nice numbers Furball. No advice here but wanted to stop by and say hello. Furball is looking good. You are a great bean Carla. Have a great day!
 
Re: 02/20 Furball +10.25=96 AMPS=159

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O) Very nice numbers! I too think you have to do what you are comfortable with. it is tough when one is gone all day. Safety first in my book. Good luck with your decision.

Furball - you surf well, 'K? Enjoy your day today Carla.
 
Re: 02/20 Furball +10.25=96 AMPS=159

Morning Carla ~O)

Love to see that "happy & purry" :-D

Totally understand your reluctance to shoot a low number then head out for the day! Healthy AND safe's the goal :smile:
Good luck with whatever you decide.

Have a great day!
 
Re: 02/20 Furball +10.25=96 AMPS=159

Great numbers for FB! :mrgreen: If you want an expert to stop by, please use the ? icon and/or put "dose question" in the subject line. Happy Wednesday!
Liz
 
carfurby said:
If Furball keeps this up, I think I will reduce her dose to 1.5 units this weekend and see how she does. I am sort of following the SLGS Protocol at this point, but didn't take the last reduction she earned because they weren't taking. I have been hoping if she stayed in blues and greens longer the reduction will hold when I take it. Does anyone have any suggestions about a reduction? Thanks.
I'll admit that SLGS is tough for me because it's not really my cuppa tea, but here are my thoughts.

I see that Furball is spending the vast majority of her time in blue and yellow, usually under renal threshhold, except for a few hours right around AMPS most days, so that is good. I can see what you mean about reductions not holding, so that tells me that you need to adjust your criteria for what merits a reduction, which you have done by not reducing for the last couple of green preshots. So, good thinking there. :mrgreen:

In general, for SLGS you want to ask yourself whether you are happy with the numbers you are getting. If so, keep things the same, and if not, increase or decrease to get to the range you want. Personally I would rather see more blue/green and less yellow, but that is me and you are you, and you're the one who needs to be comfortable.

So it looks like Furball is doing pretty well, except the low (especially green) preshots are worrying you. Take a look back at your spreadsheet for the past couple of weeks. It looks like usually when Furball has those lower preshots, they usually head back upward pretty quickly right after +12. Based on that, I don't think you have a lot to worry about with lower preshots, but it is definitely something you'll want to consider when you decide what to do about dose. Data is always your friend, so whenever you get a chance to shoot lower in the evening when you can test, grab the opportunity and see what the numbers look like. That data will help you know what to do when you're staring at a low number in the morning when you have to leave.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top