02/19 Max amps160 +3.5~36 +6~54

Status
Not open for further replies.

critterlover

Member Since 2012
here we go again, I spoke too soon yesterday about being a quiet weekend (condo was quiet, not worth posting)
I gave him 2 tsp HC(Friskies Chicken Dinner in Gravy Chunks) at +3.5 and will test again shortly

I planned on giving him a fat dose last night because he was running so high but I think it was just the usual dose because its so hard to get in between doses on the syringe.
 
Re: 02/19 Max amps160 +2~70 +3~40 +3.5~36 +4~61

he's on the rise, will continue to test at 30 minute intervals
 
Re: 02/19 Max amps160 +2~70 +3`40 +3.5~36

Beautiful :mrgreen:

Looking at Maxs ss, it's quite possible that the red PMPS on 02/15 was from a visit to the lowlands during the PM cycle on 02/14. . .
there may have been signs that a reduction was warranted that were missed.
Let's see what some other eyes think on that regard. . .I'm only on my first cup of ~O)
 
Re: 02/19 Max amps160 +2~70 +3~40 +3.5~36 +4~61

Also, remember that the 40 warrants a dose reduction. I'd really suggest shaving a drop off of the dose. I don't know that Max is ready for a 0.25u dose.
 
Re: 02/19 Max amps160 +2~70 +3~40 +3.5~36 +4~61 +4.5~52

I understand the protocol says a reduction is in order. I reduced his dose by .25 each the last two weekends because he dropped low.

I'm not questioning you, I'm just trying to understand this better so please bare with me. Yesterday he was running quite high all day, now he is really low. If this is just another bounce, can these numbers be reliable enough to base a reduction on ( I realize you said a shaved dose, not reduction).
 
Re: 02/19 Max amps160 +3~40 +3.5~36 +4~61 +4.5~52

Bounces are the high following a low or a drop that's too fast, either of which can cause counter-regulatory hormones to be released by the liver.
Those hormones raise the BGs and that's what we see as the bounce. It's a protective thing the liver does when it senses danger.
Max's liver is definitely on the job ;-)

Decreases are based on lows caused by too high an insulin dose, so the only way to control going too low is to decrease.
IMHO yesterdays high was likely a bounce from a low that was missed in previous cycles.
Going into the 30s definitely warrants a decrease.
Since Max is at a small dose and has had several recent decreases, rather than another .25u decrease you may want to consider a shave (slight reduction) and see if that is enough to keep him out of the cellar but still in a good range.
Many kitties react to very small changes in dose.
 
Thanks Sandy, that helps me to understand a little better. I printed a post from a couple of weeks ago from Julie about bouncing but it just doesn't seem to be sticking with me yet. I'll print this one as well and keep reading.

At +6 he is up to 54 and it is time for his regular mid-cycle snack so it looks like he's on the rise but I will continue to check for the next little while.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top