02/19 Chanel AMPS 280

Laura & Chanel

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-18-chanel-amps-142.225859/#post-2529428
@Wendy&Neko Sorry for not answering last night, I was worn out and went to sleep. Anyway, about Artemisa spreadsheet. It is the dosing that puzzles me. She either kept the dose too long or even for one day. She jumped from 2 to 3 and back to 2. I do not mean to criticize or something. The thing that puzzles me the most is this:she seemed to see better numbers and more consistent with the dose decrease, rather the dose increase. She has lots of black BGs at dose 3, but going from 1.75 down it is like WOW! Also she had a 59 in the first day of 1.75 but she did not decrease the dose because of that. Does this mean that if we have lower numbers but without symptoms, we may actually hold the dose for longer? The she decreased the from 1.75 to 1.5 and then to 1.25 in a matter of like 2 days each. Any reason to do this, is there something that I am missing looking at this SS? Also from3U to 2 and then next day to 2.75.
Thank you and sorry again for being so persistent.
 
I don't remember this person or her cat, so can't talk about history. Her spreadsheet comments sounds like she was taking direction from her vet, so that might explain some of the what look like odd choices to us.
Also she had a 59 in the first day of 1.75 but she did not decrease the dose because of that.
She was using a human meter, unlike you. If she was following TR, and I have no idea if she was, you reduce when you go below 50 on the human meter. She also might have had some higher dose depot influencing the numbers.
She has lots of black BGs at dose 3, but going from 1.75 down it is like WOW!
She also was getting green nadirs at three units. Her body wasn't used to it, hence the bounces to black. Over time she got used to green and stopped bouncing so high. For some cats, the transition to "no bouncing" happens quickly. It's as if their bodies "snap" as we call it, and realize those normal numbers are good.
Does this mean that if we have lower numbers but without symptoms, we may actually hold the dose for longer?
Absolutely not, those guidelines are there for safety. The numbers in Artemesia's spreadsheet are all normal blood sugar numbers on a human meter. If following TR, she never did even go below 50 to earn a reduction.
 
Back
Top