02/19/10 meowmeow amps 218

Status
Not open for further replies.

mrsd4ever

Member
I want to thank everyone for your advise so far. I did what was advised on my previous post(lowered lantus dose, dropped dry food, started spreadsheet)
I was wanting to know if by looking at his ss so far if you can tell me what i need to be looking out for or what to expect. His previous numbers before i started the ss where much higher and dropped significantly since dosage and diet change, however they don't appear do be dropping in a dangerous level that I can tell. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
 
Hi! Your numbers look terrific, looks like you've been very proactive! Great job mama, we'll be lookin' for more good news in this condo. :smile:
 
mrsd4ever said:
I want to thank everyone for your advise so far. I did what was advised on my previous post(lowered lantus dose, dropped dry food, started spreadsheet)
I was wanting to know if by looking at his ss so far if you can tell me what i need to be looking out for or what to expect. His previous numbers before i started the ss where much higher and dropped significantly since dosage and diet change, however they don't appear do be dropping in a dangerous level that I can tell. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

hello and welcome to the group!

right now you're in data collection mode. you've eliminated dry food and dropped the dose (congrats! good move on your part!)... two changes which can effect numbers. for the next couple of days you'll want to continue testing at shot times as well as getting a nadir check around +5 or +6 and a before bed spot check. those before bed spot checks are important because they'll give you an idea of what may happen during the night time cycle. for some reason, a lot of kitties see more action at night than they do during the day.

i don't know if anyone has mentioned we usually try to withhold food for 2 hours prior to shot time. food consumption may inflate the numbers. not feeding in those couple of hours before shot time will give you a "clean" preshot number.

if you haven't already, read through the starred items at the top of the forum. there's tons of info in them... too much to absorb at once, but there for quick reference.

you're off to a great start! ask any questions you may have.
hope to see you posting often!
 
Welcome!

Really great job so far. I think Jill and Carolyn have spelled out the next steps. Collect as much data as you can. PM checks are important -- many cats have lower numbers in the evenings so don't just assume the evening will be the same as the day.

Please let us know if you have questions! It would also be helpful if, when you have a chance, you completed a Profile. There are instructions in the Tech Forum. This will give us more information about your kitty and we won't plague you for information (e.g., any medical problems, what you feed( you may have mentioned in a previous post.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top