02/18 Rupert - PMPS 203, +3 / 165

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterdays fun: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63908
today: AMPS 293, +2/122, +4/167,
so after stalling three hours last night for Rupert's shot, he had come up to 277. the plan was to wait the regular 12 hours (till 9:30) this morning and reshoot, on a 'new' schedule. But.. just tested him at his normal PS time and he's already at 293... should I shoot him now.. if so, what dose? or should I wait till later and let him continue to rise. He's had nothing to eat since 10pm and I haven't fed him yet (other than the raw steak bits whilst he had his ear poked).
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - QUESTION!????! 293 now, should I shoot?

Normally you would be told to shoot through the bounce-It seems from your SS that everytime he goes green you skip the next shot..I do understand, but you were advised last night that lantus needs consistancy and patience--If you feel better shooting a reduced dose like 1.75U and you will be home to monitor today,
IMHO you should shoot within 15-30 minutes of the time you shot last night & work back 15 min intervals to normal shot time--may take a day or so.
I was also frightened when I saw low numbers, but most cats do bounce and we are taught here to shoot through the bounce--A bounce can last up to 72 hours, so this should be alright.
A bounce is when the bg numbers go low, the liver panics at something unfamiliar, and dumps glucose into the bloodstream, raising the bg numbers up--It is quite normal and not to worry!
You will get used all this, it is overwhelming at the beginning.
Just post your numbers today-OK? You are doing a good job with Rupert! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - QUESTION!????! 293 now, should I shoot?

ok. so thinking I'll do 1.75 now, which would be at the +10 mark from last night. I'll be in and out all day today but should be able to take reading at around +2 and +6
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - QUESTION!????! 293 now, should I shoot?

I agree with Roni, don't shoot more than 30 mins earlier than your +12

Lantus likes consistency you'll be changing both the dose and the time if you do that = inconsistent
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - QUESTION!????! 293 now, should I shoot?

Just posted in you other thread -

to move back to schedule safely you have 2 options:

Shoot 15 min early each cycle until you get back on track or
shoot 30 min early once per 24 hours until you are back on track.

I could be wrong, but I think 2u may be too much for Rupert. I think backing off to 1.5u may work to allow you to shoot consistently every 12 hours and level out the wild swings. If after 6 cycles it's not enough,then you can increase.

What do you think?
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293

Pip, shooting 2 hours early is very risky.

Due to the cumulative nature of Lantus, shooting early amounts to an increase in dose.
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293

Libby said:
It looks like 2.5 and 2 units have occasionally left Rupert lower than you are comfortable shooting the full dose. 2 units actually looks like a fairly good dose for Rupert for now, and we can teach you to shoot numbers like the 156 he got last night. Or you could try reducing a little bit, to 1.5 or 1.75, then hold that dose for a few days and see what happens. Sometimes it is easier to work UP to a good dose than DOWN to one. The lower dose might not be enough, but it will give you a chance to gather some data, keep him on a consistent dose for several days in a row, and see where the numbers land when they settle down.
Libby is a very experienced Lantus user and I would encourage you to follow her recommendation.

Shooting 2 hours early is NOT a viable option if you are not going to be home. Shooting that early maximizes the overlap between doses and acts like a dose increase -- which is exactly what you are not wanting.
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293

Hi again,
I posted in your yesterday's condo, too. I'll just add here that I agree with all the others. Consistency is the key to success when working with Lantus.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293

Hope you didnt misunderstand, I said shoot 15-30 minutes earlier than the time you shot him last night which was a late shot--Hope you didnt shoot early as an early shot acts as a dose increase....
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293

damn. I DID misunderstand.. you had said 'shoot him at his regular time', of course you wouldn't know what that was.

so I gave him his shot 7:00 which would be at about +10/+10.5 but I did a 1.5 (and a smidge.. not quite 1.75).

drat. I'll learn.

I'll be able to test him at +2 and + 4 and +5 with no worries. Have to scoot out at 10:30, will be back by 11:30, out again at 1:00, back at 1:30 (!!! yes, I'm running a dressage clinic this weekend so picking up instructor from ferry, dropping him off at one venue, picking him up - moving to another venue.. then back home then I get to ride at 5:15 tonight, and back home in time for Rupie to have his shot.. which.. given the ever increasing knowledge from here.. will be at 7:00 to be exactly 12 hours from this morning.

thanx for all the input. and yes. I am tending to agree that 2.00 seems to, already, be too much for Rupie. It's what the vet started us on in January.

Rupie is looking fabulous this morning. has had half a can of Merrick Cowboy cookout, a small drink of water, been out for his morning pee and is now sulking under the dining room table! I've also begun supplementing him with a bit of Milk Thistle (for liver support) and Lysine (we use a LOT of herbal approaches with our horses and our selves)..
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293

With your spreadsheet it will be easier for people to see what's going on and understand if you put all the shots you give in the shot column (U). If you have stalled you can add those numbers to the +12 column. Just make the font smaller if you need to so you can fit the numbers in. I have never stalled but for example you can check out Vyktor's ss for the PM cycle on 02/02 where I took multiple tests in the same one hour period. I also include the time of the shot in the U column.

As per the advice received from the wise ones I would give a straight 1.5u dose at your next shot and keep that consistent for a minimum of 3 days (6 cycles) unless he happens to earn a reduction. Yes that will be at 12 hours from the shot you gave this morning.
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293

To add to the great housekeeping advice from Vyktors mum -
Since we are all in different time zones, all over the world, we express time not as it is on the face of our clocks but in + (plus) hours from the most recent shot.
so, stalling 2 hours last night, you shot at +14. Once you shoot the clock starts over again.
I did a lot of stalling during our journey. You can see examples on Black Kittys ss (link in my signature below) on 05/28/2009 PM.
15 min increment is .25, 30 min is .5, 45 min is .75

This makes it easier for others to immediately know where your kitty is in a cycle and better help when help is needed. :-D
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293, +2/122

Rupert looks good today. came upstairs and demanded attention at 5:30am, batted a toy around, had a chat with Oliver (the new stray that moved in), went out for a pee. Gave him a 1.75 dose at 7:30. Sitting on the back of the couch in the den, looking out the window in his usual regal fashion. Can't believe how healthy he is looking. Amazing to think really, I'm sure in people if you had these huge swings you'd feel like crap? I know our diabetic friend says that when he goes hi, OR low, he feels totally whacked out.

Here's a pic of Rupie from last night, pissed off and sitting on the living room couch giving me the 'What the heck is WRONG with you , woman?' look!:

KingRupert.jpg
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293, +2/122, +4/167 and new pic!

he does look like he's related to royalty! :lol:

glad you got some good advice!

just to recap what i'm understanding - tonight you need to shoot at 7:30pm and either stay with the dose you had this morning (sounds like a fat 1.5u) or drop to a 1.5u and then stay there for a few days. Lucky you - you've had all very experienced people giving you dosing advice the past couple of days. we look out for new members because we all remember how overwhelming it is and how impossible it is to figure out on your own at the beginning.

if you need to move it earlier still to get to an earlier shot time (did you say you want to be at 7am?) you can adjust by 30 minutes tomorrow. today was already early, so we wouldn't want tonight to be early as well.

glad you have a plan for moving forward! hope your day didn't make you too crazy! thanks for all your kind words in punkin's condo (thread) today! you're very sweet!
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - AMPS 293, +2/122, +4/167 and new pic!

Hi Pip

I hope you got some more tests in today. That drop from AMPS to +2 is HUGE. Your +2 should be almost the same as your PS or else he could have an active cycle. Having shot two hours early....well...you see what Sienne was
trying to say. Hope today went well with him...he is very handsome.
 
Re: 02/18 Rupert - PMPS 203, and new pic!

You handled today well and all's well! He is a gorgeous kitty, Moonie is also a tuxedo cat --gotta love those tuxes!! Rupert did well & tomorrow will be even better..Good job & sorry for the misunderstanding..but it turned out well after all! Hugs & have a good Ni Ni!!
 
nice 165 at +3 this evening. much less of a dash downward. gave him a fat 1.5, hair under 1.75....

he's bright and happy and eating a few cubes of steak after his ear poke. Will leave him a few tablespoons of Merrick Cowboy Cookout (5%) out for him overnight (hope Oliver or Polly.. or Sophie or Bumley, don't scarf it down instead!)...hoping tomorrow starts of in a happy place. Ni Ni everyone. thanx again for the support thru the beginning of this ride. hopefully won't be quite such a rollercoaster from now on!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top