02/18 Jax +12 88,+12.5 92,+13 89 (NS)

JaxBenji

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Today's dental surgery day! Jax did not seem pleased his breakfast was some gaba and salmon :p And it's raining here and jusstttt below freezing but I think we have dodged the ice that some areas to the north of us are getting.

Surf safely, kitties, and eat your alllllll of your snacks especially since Jax is not allowed to :p
 
Last edited:
Thank you everyone :bighug::bighug::bighug: His doctor called a little bit ago and he's out of surgery and had two extractions (both upper 3rd molars). His doctor wants to keep an eye on him a bit longer since he's loopy from his gaba :joyful: so I will go get him in about 2 hours and have a curbside chat with her.

Are there specific drugs I want to come home with? When I talked to his doctor at his drop off, she said she'd let me know on antibiotic once she sees his mouth and I believe they are going to give me more gaba for pain management.
 
Thank you everyone :bighug::bighug::bighug: His doctor called a little bit ago and he's out of surgery and had two extractions (both upper 3rd molars). His doctor wants to keep an eye on him a bit longer since he's loopy from his gaba :joyful: so I will go get him in about 2 hours and have a curbside chat with her.

Are there specific drugs I want to come home with? When I talked to his doctor at his drop off, she said she'd let me know on antibiotic once she sees his mouth and I believe they are going to give me more gaba for pain management.
Buprenex (kitty morphine) for pain for sure, unless they have packed the wounds with the Buprenex (not typical unless a dental specialist), usually they rely on the oral Bupe. And definitely get the antibiotic - may want to consider a Convenia injection (yes it's controversial) just b/c you don't want to have to put a lot in his mouth right now (?).
 
Last edited:
My vet won't give anything more than Onsior for 3 days, and an antibiotic. I've seen several other choices mentioned. We can only get bupe for extreme pain. I do wish I had some on hand though.
They have also snuck in a Cerenia injection along with a dental.

So happy Jax is safe now, even if a bit loopy. Have a nice day Susanne!
 
Onsior for 3 days
Thanks! She mentioned did mention onsior if she thought it was necessary. I'll see what she says at pick-up - she comes out to the car to talk to us which is nice in these times. I got the feeling at drop-off she didn't dispense bupe unless surgery was super involved.

Do you have any meat only baby food? You may want to make sure he's eating before you give insulin.
Yes! I bought a jar of gerbers turkey and a jar of gerbers chicken (just meat, water, & cornstarch). His doc said to give him a small snack when he gets home so I'll try his usual food then.

dental specialist
He's with a board certified dentist so I keep reminding myself to trust her :cat:

Convenia injection (yes it's controversial)
He had a convenia injection in January since we couldn't get in for his dental for a bit (due to the doctor's schedule) and since then I've read it's not super effective at bacteria in the mouth (along with concerns about how long it stays in the body); his doctor did mention another shot of convenia at drop-off but I asked to get an alternative if she decided antibiotics are necessary...she said sure (and I can't remember the other drug she said)...from my reading and even from talking to the doctor today, there is a shift from prescribing antibiotics as "preventative" measure and only prescribing if necessary...here's one paper on it...SO MUCH INFO o_Oo_Oo_O

Thanks of course for all your input...we are all trying so hard to make informed choices for our kitties :cat:
 
Glad to hear the dental is over, and two bothersome teeth are out.

Clindamycin is the go to AB for the mouth. It tastes foul, so consider than if you are asked pill or liquid for it. You definitely want to give him probiotics (2 hours apart) with Clindamycin. I can speak from personal experience on that too. :blackeye:

My dental vet specialist's go to is buprenorphine for pain. Onsior is an NSAID and even the manufacturer says no more than 3 days for cats. Bupre can be given longer term if needed.
 
Yesterday

Today's dental surgery day! Jax did not seem pleased his breakfast was some gaba and salmon :p And it's raining here and jusstttt below freezing but I think we have dodged the ice that some areas to the north of us are getting.

Surf safely, kitties, and eat your alllllll of your snacks especially since Jax is not allowed to :p
Glad this is now behind you. Did Jax come home with the anesthesia still working? Dolly always did, falling into walls, crying from pain I would imagine. Since using the Oxyfresh the last four years she has had perfect checkups. I hope Jax recovers from the extractions quickly. :D. I hope you all have a good day. Dolly sends hugs to Jax and Benji. :bighug::bighug: Hope the weather improves :nailbiting:
Everyone stay safe. :bighug::bighug::):cat:
 
Last edited:
Glad to hear the dental is over, and two bothersome teeth are out.

Clindamycin is the go to AB for the mouth. It tastes foul, so consider than if you are asked pill or liquid for it. You definitely want to give him probiotics (2 hours apart) with Clindamycin. I can speak from personal experience on that too. :blackeye:

My dental vet specialist's go to is buprenorphine for pain. Onsior is an NSAID and even the manufacturer says no more than 3 days for cats. Bupre can be given longer term if needed.
Thanks Wendy :bighug: Here's what they sent me home with (Jax is 14.2lbs or 6.44kg)
  • Clindamycin 25mg - they gave me the pill and to start in the morning
  • Gaba 100mg every 8-12 hours - start tonight...I know to stay ahead of pain but holy moly he's so drugged right now...
  • Onsior 6mg - one tab every 24 hours for three days - start tomorrow
  • 1-TDC capsulses - rub on gums starting tomorrow
They gave a shot of onsior in the office -do you know if I then still do 3 days of pills or just two? From reading manufacture site, seems like today is day 1 and days 2 and 3 will be my pills...I'll call and ask too.

He also had a injectable Simbadol Buprenorphine Extended Release 0.43 of 1.8mg/ml, injectable of Clindamycin Injectable 0.23 of 150mg/m, and Cerenia (0.65 of 10mg/ml).

And any thoughts on dosing tonight? If he's eating, I'll do his full dose but he seems very confused on food...well on life in general (he ate about 2t and a bit of that was Gerber's turkey). Hoping he'll be less druggy in a few (3) hours.
 
Get a BG test when he gets home, and then compare that to PMPS. Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG, so it depends which one they used, one type has no impact. Also, feed small meals, a tsp or two, 20-30 minutes apart. Anaesthesia again plays with the GI system. The small meals will also let you see whether he'll feel like eating tonight.

The reduced dose this AM should help keep him up tonight, but I've also seen people with a cat and dropping numbers due to anaesthesia and the cat not feeling like eating. :eek:
 
.

I blended Georges food after his extractions so he could just lap it up, no need to chew, he seemed to appreciate that. We were only given an anti inflammatory, (no gaba or bupe), so I think he was still sore.
I noticed that he wanted to eat but would try and chew his soft food and he would spit it out.

Vines and prayers he is feeling better soon.
 
Yay! I'm so glad Jax is home and well.

Even though the antibiotic injection is controversial and not great for mouth issues, that's what Grem has had twice for his broken tooth, one preventative and one with early signs of infection. He broke his tooth when I was giving him his regular tablets :facepalm: And he's always been notoriously hard to pill (though easier with only one front leg). With all the meds I was already having to shove in a sore mouth, we decided one more was out of the question.
When my civvie Luna had a tooth pulled, I don't think she was given anything... Pretty sure I gave her some of Grem's Meloxicam (at the vets instruction) for a couple of days and that's it. But she ate perfectly fine from the get go, fortunately. It was like nothing had ever happened!

I do hope Jax eats and recovers well! But I'm sure there will be no problems at all with such a good mumma bean looking after him!
 
The tiniest bit of advice I'd love to offer - do not give 100mg of Gaba 3x a day! I know it looks like that dose startled you like me! Poor guy would be wiped out or melted, right?!

Jax - you get to feeling better buddy! Eat enough to get the fuzzies out:cat:
 
Some anaesthesia induction drugs lower the BG
I think he had Dexmedetomidine (? I'm reading off my invoice and then googling...). He's been coming down a little bit since we've been home:

+8 155
+9 140
+10.25 116

I was planning to shoot at +12.5 to get closer to our preferred schedule so I may get a +12 and feed and see if he'll eat. If he's green at shot time and I'm not confident in his eating then I would skip I think...if I think he'll eat, I may still do a reduced dose. Decisions....I did pick up a few more jars of baby food just in case as he did easily eat that up when we got home.
 
So glad to hear Jax is home. Lots of meds, pills, thats a "no" for Dolly. We have tried everything and found a tiny bit of a pill pocket, enough to enclose the pill and then rolled in FortiFlora. Probably not the best solution after a dental :oops:. Maybe Jax is compliant with pills, I hope so. I use the oral Buprenex for Dolly's pain. It goes on the gums so that might not be what you would want.

Sending healing prayers for Jax :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:\
Hope he isn't in a lot of pain.
All of you take good care and as always (when she remembers :rolleyes:) big hugs from Dolly to Benji :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
.

I blended Georges food after his extractions so he could just lap it up, no need to chew, he seemed to appreciate that. We were only given an anti inflammatory, (no gaba or bupe), so I think he was still sore.
I noticed that he wanted to eat but would try and chew his soft food and he would spit it out.

Vines and prayers he is feeling better soon.
Thanks, Gill - I think Jax is feeling like George...wants to eat but doesn't like the feeling or something (he's so drugged up still that I doubt he haas pain but who knows...). He still is eating pate so perhaps I'll blend with more water than usual and see if that helps. Thanks for the idea :bighug:
 
Even though the antibiotic injection is controversial and not great for mouth issues
I know and I considered it - no judgement here if others use it (I mean he did have it in January). In any case, I actually called the vet up and exchanged his Clindamycin tablets for liquid (bitter liquid but better than a tablet...and I actually asked for the liquid in my written note to them but it's so hard communicating with covid restrictions). He had an clindamycin injection today so he'll get his bitter liquid tomorrow :) Thank you for your well wishes :bighug: kisses to grem!
 
found a tiny bit of a pill pocket, enough to enclose the pill and then rolled in FortiFlora
Thanks Adrienne :bighug::bighug::bighug: I saw you shared this with someone else recently (maybe Ruby & Katherine?) so I ordered a pack of greenies to have on hand just in case. I am pretty confident in getting the gaba in him and then only have to get his onsior in (just two days...I'm sure we will get through it!).
 
If Jax eats, anyone have thoughts on insulin dose? He definitely seems hungry but also not his usual self just yet after his dental adventures & drugs.

He had a 0.25u this morning and the readings since he's been home are below; he has only had ~2t of food (between +8 and +9).

+8 155
+9 140
+10.25 116
+11 104

I'm kind of wondering even if I get him to eat if I should do a reduced dose (1u? or 0.75u?) just to play it safe? @tiffmaxee or @Wendy&Neko or @Gill & George or @Marje and Gracie ?
 
Max got buprenorphine for pain. He got clindamycin also. He ate when he first came home but a little later refused so I opted to not give any insulin the first night. I was a wimp and didn’t want to mess with him too much. So I’d likely give a reduced dose. I’m glad Jax is home. :bighug:
 
Max got buprenorphine for pain. He got clindamycin also. He ate when he first came home but a little later refused so I opted to not give any insulin the first night. I was a wimp and didn’t want to mess with him too much. So I’d likely give a reduced dose. I’m glad Jax is home. :bighug:
So you can ignore my PM that asked you to stop by lol :joyful: Thank you :bighug: so if I think he'll eat, do half dose? (and whyyyy is he dropping...I thought he'd be high so dealing with this is catching me off guard lol). I know I can skip and he'll be okay.
 
For some the anesthesia leads to a decrease in bg. I felt I didn’t want to mess with Max after in case he was in pain. I didn’t want to fight a low bg.
 
For some the anesthesia leads to a decrease in bg. I felt I didn’t want to mess with Max after in case he was in pain. I didn’t want to fight a low bg.
Good point...I guess I'll see where he's at. And he had Dexmedetomidine for anesthesia from what I can tell from his invoice - I just read the drug info and it says it raises glucose because it inhibits insulin release...Jax didn't get the memo on that :joyful:
 
Was that for induction? My vet only uses gas. I bet Jax got that as well.
Oh you're right - two page invoice ($$$$$$$ lol) - Sevoflorane Gas Anesthesia (70 minutes!) - does that a inhibit insulin release too? I'm thinking I'm skipping because I had to heavily supervise him eating 2t of food.
 
I don’t know what it may or may not do to the bg. My worry was if I couldn’t get Max to eat. I wasn’t about to syringe feed or finger feed. I’m a wimp though.
 
I’d probably skip. He might eat a bit now but not later and I’ve seen too many cats whose BG has dropped the cycle after getting anesthesia. It’s one thing if the BG is much higher. He’s had a tough day already and his mouth is likely sore so if you aren’t worried about ketones, etc (I’d test), I’d give him a break.

My little guy has had a few episodes of tonsillitis who h they give him clindamycin liquid. If you put it in the frig, it kills the taste. He never acts like he’s getting anything more than water.

Good luck and I hope he feels better.

Edited to add: I’d hold off on the gabapentin and then when you do think he needs it, try a much smaller dose. When my Livvie was spayed, they gave her a full dose of bupe for her weight and it was way too much for her. She must have been hallucinating because she went from one water bowl to the next and “dug” all the water out. She looked like a baby seal. I waited until her pupils were no longer dilated and gave her a half dose and she was much better.
 
I’d probably skip. He might eat a bit now but not later and I’ve seen too many cats whose BG has dropped the cycle after getting anesthesia. It’s one thing if the BG is much higher. He’s had a tough day already and his mouth is likely sore so if you aren’t worried about ketones, etc (I’d test), I’d give him a break.
Thanks, Marje :bighug: I stalled a little bit, realized how confused/drugged he was, and then decided to skip. Glad I did - less pressure on him (and me!). You are right on grabbing a ketone test (no history, knock on wood).

If you put it in the frig, it kills the taste.
Thanks for the tip - first dose in the AM so putting in the fridge now!

Edited to add: I’d hold off on the gabapentin and then when you do think he needs it, try a much smaller dose. When my Livvie was spayed, they gave her a full dose of bupe for her weight and it was way too much for her. She must have been hallucinating because she went from one water bowl to the next and “dug” all the water out. She looked like a baby seal. I waited until her pupils were no longer dilated and gave her a half dose and she was much better.
I am pretty sure that's what's happened here - he had a larger dose of gaba for temperament (200mg) this morning then got Simbadol Buprenorphine Extended Release 0.43 of 1.8mg/ml at his surgery - he is still so high o_O. I haven't given any meds and will hold off on any more gaba until he needs it.

On the bright side, his teeth are so white :D Just ready for the drugs to wear off a bit!
 
I’m glad you skipped. The meds could kill the appetite as well.
I'm glad too - less stressful! And, he's eating a bit better now! I am having to make him soup and he's making a mess :p but he's eating - hope it lasts. I think his injectable bupre + the gaba from this AM + some other meds from surgery was too much for him and some of it is finally wearing off. And skipping means straight to our preferred shot time - so hurray for that :cat:
 
Man that’s a lot of drugs. I’m not a fan of sustained release drugs. Once in, you can’t get them out. I can see why he’s so drugged up. Poor boy!
That’s how Dolly always was after dental surgery. Scared me, she would fall into walls, had no balance. Couldn’t leave her alone for fear she would try to jump on the couch and get hurt. :nailbiting::nailbiting: The dose of gabapetin, prefilled syringes, they had me give her for vet visits would knock her out for two days.
 
Hi Susanne,, I wasn't on all day, it's 2 AM. I just wanted you to know I hope Jax isn't in pain. Poor boy must of been high as a kite.
I feel bad he had to get 2 teeth pulled. Poor baby. I hope he feels much better in the
AM. I'm glad this is behind him. I'll check in tomorrow. ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top