Mariette
Member Since 2020
Previously:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-16-buddym-amps-77-3-60-6-69.243232/#post-2742351
But we also had some discussion on Katherine's thread yesterday about Buddy and Ruby's similar numbers:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-17-ruby-pmps-88-1-5-80-3-69.243278/
I said that I don't feel like the insulin is doing very much for Buddy currently. @Marje and Gracie pointed to the better AMPS numbers. I didn't want to hijack Katherine's thread yestterday, so I'm hoping we can discuss here today.
We've previously established that the lower AMPS number was because of the food. I started giving Buddy a snack at 5am to try to bring that number down. He wasn't really interested in eating at that time at first but he's now consistently eating it all.
We even did a little experiment on 1/31 to confirm that the better AMPS number was because of the 5am snack and not the insulin:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-30-buddym-amps-83-2-71.242333/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-31-buddym-amps-133-2-73-4-63.242390/#post-2731122
I can do the experiment again, but I don't really see the value in doing it again. I know that the food sends the numbers down. We've also seen it for the +9 test. When I fed at +6 on 2/11 and 2/12 the +9 tests were lower.
Look at 1/13, the first day he didn't get any insulin... Food alone brought him down from 193 to 68 in 90 minutes.
This is why I believe that food is a much larger factor in Buddy's numbers than the insulin. And if I look at Buddy's numbers during the time he was off insulin, and now, they look the same if I disregard the AMPS number. When Buddy was off insulin I was not giving the 5am snack so we can not look at the AMPS number when comparing, because it will be an apples to oranges comparison.
I am a little concerned that havng increased the insulin in these small steps may have done more harm than good. I suspect that the body may just be adjusting to the extra insulin. The same way that when a cat is reducing on TR after staying in normal numbers for a week. When reducing in these tiny steps the body seems to just compensate. What if I have now done the same but in reverse. I have now succesfully gotten Buddy on insulin again, instead of off.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-16-buddym-amps-77-3-60-6-69.243232/#post-2742351
But we also had some discussion on Katherine's thread yesterday about Buddy and Ruby's similar numbers:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-17-ruby-pmps-88-1-5-80-3-69.243278/
I said that I don't feel like the insulin is doing very much for Buddy currently. @Marje and Gracie pointed to the better AMPS numbers. I didn't want to hijack Katherine's thread yestterday, so I'm hoping we can discuss here today.
We've previously established that the lower AMPS number was because of the food. I started giving Buddy a snack at 5am to try to bring that number down. He wasn't really interested in eating at that time at first but he's now consistently eating it all.
We even did a little experiment on 1/31 to confirm that the better AMPS number was because of the 5am snack and not the insulin:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-30-buddym-amps-83-2-71.242333/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-31-buddym-amps-133-2-73-4-63.242390/#post-2731122
I can do the experiment again, but I don't really see the value in doing it again. I know that the food sends the numbers down. We've also seen it for the +9 test. When I fed at +6 on 2/11 and 2/12 the +9 tests were lower.
Look at 1/13, the first day he didn't get any insulin... Food alone brought him down from 193 to 68 in 90 minutes.
This is why I believe that food is a much larger factor in Buddy's numbers than the insulin. And if I look at Buddy's numbers during the time he was off insulin, and now, they look the same if I disregard the AMPS number. When Buddy was off insulin I was not giving the 5am snack so we can not look at the AMPS number when comparing, because it will be an apples to oranges comparison.
I am a little concerned that havng increased the insulin in these small steps may have done more harm than good. I suspect that the body may just be adjusting to the extra insulin. The same way that when a cat is reducing on TR after staying in normal numbers for a week. When reducing in these tiny steps the body seems to just compensate. What if I have now done the same but in reverse. I have now succesfully gotten Buddy on insulin again, instead of off.
Last edited:


