02/18 Blackie PMPS 112, +1 94, +2 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=113878&p=1200389#p1200389

Recap of yesterday's #s:

AMPS 81, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T
+1 104 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 66
+4 66
+9.5 93
PMPS 101, 2.0u, 41g Evo 95% C&T, Zobaline tablet crushed, and mixed into food
+1 83 - 31g Evo 95% C&T
+2 62

WCR: All is well with Blackie. She received a new pen this morning. It's been about 53 days since the last time I opened a pen. Since it's a fresh pen, I expect perhaps a bit of excitement, but then, perhaps not. :lol: Yesterday's #s are awesome, to say the least. I think I may have found the solution, but then, perhaps her pancreas is healing nicely. Or, could be a combination of both, who knows. All I know is that I'm taking this as each day comes, and making sure she's fed, and medicated. And most importantly, receiving lots of love and praise. :-D

I'm sending tons and tons of prayers, healing vines, and positive thoughts to all who need them. I've got tons to give, so feel free to take as much as you need.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70

Oh, stop! You guys are going to make me blush, I swear. :lol: (taking a bow, and thanking you all :lol:)

I seriously don't know what I'm doing right. The only thing that I did was work with her food amounts in order to bring her weight down a bit. I have been monitoring her weight since, and as soon as I saw her weight go down a bit further, I decided to increase her food by a gram at each feeding. I honestly thought that small amount of extra food would spike her #s as it had in the past. It had the reverse affect, and I noticed that it helped to bring them down a bit more. I'm still weighing her every other day or so to make sure that she's not dropping any further. So far, she's doing well at 10.81 lbs. If she loses more than that, then I may have to give her another gram of food at each feeding. Right now, she's getting 144 grams, (5.01 oz.), which is a total of 194.82 calories (38.2 calories per ounce of Evo 95% Chicken & Turkey). Since she's not active (i.e. not playing anymore), this is appropriate for her. I haven't touched her insulin other than decreasing it whenever she gave me 3 #s under 50. The only thing I've been working with is the food amounts as stated above. That was my intention as I didn't want to mess with the dose amounts, other than giving her decreases instead of increases. So, it must be working, otherwise she wouldn't be showing me these beautiful #s. I'm not even going to be optimistic here as I don't want to be disappointed like I have in the past.

It was simply an experiment with the food amount adjustments instead of dose and food amount adjustments that I wanted to try. I didn't know what to think when I tried it on Blackie. Something just told me to try and see what happens. Worse case scenario, I can always increase the doses to bring her back down again. I'm just glad that I didn't have to go there (yet). :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70

Morning Angela ~O) ~O) ~O)

I concur! Blackie is looking awesome. What a perfect day yesterday: greens, and so steady and even. LOVE it! I suspect she will do the same today. I applaud your diligence with the food. The solution you have found for Blackie obviously is working. She's always had such great numbers. KUDOS!

Enjoy your day today. I like this, and as it should be:
All I know is that I'm taking this as each day comes, and making sure she's fed, and medicated. And most importantly, receiving lots of love and praise. :-D
Numbers are secondary to a happy healthy and loved kitty. Excellent!
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70

Yes, it is. A happy, healthy kitty is definitely most important, then the #s come second. She's definitely more alert, and I just whispered "lil mama" (her nickname) to her, and she looked at me. Then, she looked outside the window. She didn't move... She was sitting on the floor.

Yesterday, I rolled a ping pong ball towards her, and I thought she'd start to play with it, but instead she simply watched it roll by her. :lol: Oh well.. I'll work on that with her. Not sure if play will ever come back into her life, but at least I can try.
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70 +2 45

+2 45 (retest at +2.5)

Oookkkk... Then. One of 2 things will happen at this point... Either she'll go up on her own, or continue to drop, at which point she'll get a snack, and a possible dose reduction. I'm betting on the former.
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70 +2 45

WOW - Nice +2 Blackie. Up just a smidgen, ok?

HAHA: this was so Mannie!
Yesterday, I rolled a ping pong ball towards her, and I thought she'd start to play with it, but instead she simply watched it roll by her.
:lol: :lol: :lol: Always the way it was with him. He'd be out on the deck and the squirrels would run right by him, within a foot, and he'd just sit there, watch them go by. :lol: :lol: :lol: You gotta love it.

Have a great on Angela!
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70 +2 45

Oh, not to worry, Michelle. I'll be here to test in about 8 minutes' time. I'm guessing that she'll be going up on her own, however, I did give her a new pen this morning, so this may be working just a smidgen too well today. :lol: We'll know the new # shortly.
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70 +2 45 +2.5 55 +5 80

+5 80

I'm guessing this higher # could be a very slight bounce from the lower # of earlier this morning combined with a slight irritation of her left ear, which seems to be a bit itchy to her. I treated it with a few drops of ear mite med that has Aloe in it. Upon looking in her ear, though, there didn't appear to be any dark stuff in it. I did find a small abrasion which I'm sure probably stung a bit, so I put a small dab of Neosporin with Pain Relief in there, and rubbed it. Her ear feels a bit hot now, and the other feels cool. I'll be monitoring it to see if it needs further treatment of some kind. Poor baby.
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70 +2 45 +2.5 55 +5 80

Hi Angela,
Wow on those beautiful numbers and on all the great food data you are assembling. You are the poster child for "KNow Thy Cat" :cool: !!

Surf safe Blackie!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70 +2 45 +2.5 55 +5 80

Nice day you've got going there, Blackie. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Angela, you are an awesome mom. I am so impressed by the care and attention you are giving Blackie, and the rewards you are reaping from it. Keep this up and who knows where it will lead (I don't want to speculate for fear of jinxing it)?! ;-)
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS 98 +1 70 +2 45 +2.5 55 +5 80 +7 76

+7 76

Thank you, Tricia. :-D :YMHUG: I appreciate those words very much; yours and others on here. All we can do is just see where this takes us, right?
 
Re: 02/18 Blackie AMPS +1 70 +2 45 +2.5 55 +5 80 +7 76 +10 1

+10 128

I tried to get a sample, and had to poke a few times to get it. Was poking the right ear instead of the left one. May be a result of those extra pokes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top