02/18/20 Thomas J. AMPS 326, +4 237, +7 139, +10 324, PMPS 316, +4 314

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/17/20
He fought me a bit this morning but I still got the test in under 5 minutes. I've learned that he'll tolerate me touching his ear the first time but not usually anything after that. The problem is the the first time is when I'm wiping off the ointment to get a clean area to poke.
I was able to hold pressure and ointment on after but he barely tolerated it. He's not too difficult, but I guess I'll see how the rest of the day goes.
Second day giving 1 unit. I was surprised that even with my frequent testing yesterday he stayed in the yellows consistently all day, nothing under 200 for once during an increase. Although I didn't get a PM +6 so maybe he did drop more. I'll have to get that info at some point though, maybe I'll try tonight.
Good appetite still, moved when I was injecting so I didn't get to hold it there for 3 seconds or more but I know I got everything injected at least. I didn't smell insulin after and I made sure not to touch the site at all today.
Hoping everyone is doing well today.:)
 
Hi Brittany
Well done getting those ketone tests done!
I’m glad Thomas’s appetite is good.
It can take up to 6 cycles for the depot to fill with the increase in dose.. hopefully we will see some blue numbers soon.
Yellow is better than pink though!!
 
I hope you see some lower numbers soon. It's great he has a good appy. I hope he'll get used to the testing soon and make things easier for you.
 
Disturbed Thomas' nap on the couch to get a +10, it was higher than expected. Now he's airing out on the floor. Yes, he did destroy that box in the background in case you were wondering. Haha. He's like a dog sometimes.
20200218_164313.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20200218_164313.jpg
    20200218_164313.jpg
    113.3 KB · Views: 57
He was very adamant that he didn't like getting poked this evening. Fought me a good bit. Wasn't getting much blood again. I had to poke 3 times. He shook off the second drop, was able to quickly grab the third at least.
He must've still been upset because he didn't like me touching him when I was trying to give him his injection. He kept moving and glaring at me like he would bite me, hasn't done that before. After a 4th attempt I got it done. He still glared at me after.:(
 
His +4 is quite high, guess dinner is still messing with the numbers. I gave him his before bed meal as well so I doubt he'll get very low throughout the night either.
Less testing tomorrow, just the normal 4 tests unless he has a very low number. I think the extra tests make him more stressed. The 139 today made me hopeful that I can get him to normal numbers in the future.
Have a good night everyone.:)
 
He was very adamant that he didn't like getting poked this evening. Fought me a good bit. Wasn't getting much blood again. I had to poke 3 times. He shook off the second drop, was able to quickly grab the third at least.
He must've still been upset because he didn't like me touching him when I was trying to give him his injection. He kept moving and glaring at me like he would bite me, hasn't done that before. After a 4th attempt I got it done. He still glared at me after.:(


treats, treats and more treats :)

it'll get easier
 
treats, treats and more treats :)

it'll get easier
Thank you. It seems all I do is give treats but he knows he's being bribed and distracted. He reacts too quickly and attacks before I can do anything. Just gotta work with him more I guess. Sometimes it's easy, other times it's a literal fight.
 
Back
Top