02/17 Rupert +6/455. +10.5/ 55 , now at 77 ??????

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=63830


Morning everyone! another foggy/grey day on the We(s)t Coast here.

not unexpected pink this morning. interesting watching the trends starting to show on his chart. hoping he'll dip nicely and hold better today. He was keen for his raw steak bites this morning and tolerated me stabbing him... his ears getting pretty tough already though. poor guy. He was very active, bright, alert and pissed off this morning. Chasing a toy mouse round the living room right now, will have some Merrick in a few minutes. I'd left out food last night (because he was so nice and low and I was a little worried about him) and maybe that contributed to the bounce? who knows. Will try to start regular scheduled/amounts of feeding bit tricky with four others in the house.

anyway, he's bright and happy (not with me!), alert and doing just fine! fingers crossed for a nice blue day eventually.
 
Re: 02/17 AMPS 367 (drat!)

Good Morning Pip!!

your post about temperamental Rupert made me laugh :lol:

And I absolutely love your profile!

Thought I'd share our latest arrival with you...
(condolences on the loss of your gorgeous buckskin)
perhaps this will bring a smile to your face...

(click on the pic to enlarge)

celi & binks
 

Attachments

  • dyna blue day 1.jpg
    dyna blue day 1.jpg
    83.7 KB · Views: 630
Re: 02/17 AMPS 367 (drat!)

:-D He's our latest Quarter Horse foal Dyna Blue...the mare is mine, but Blue belongs to my best friend Gail...
she hooked us up with sire Dynamic in Blue.

We're just AMAZED at the Dun Factor this guy's got :-D :-D :-D

Gail's greatest love is Western Pleasure, so the lil guy will likely become quite familiar with the ring :lol:

glad he gave you a smile...
(Binks has yet to be told that Blue is not destined to be his "Little Pony") :lol:

celi
 

Attachments

  • Blue snuffles.jpg
    Blue snuffles.jpg
    59.2 KB · Views: 628
Re: 02/17 AMPS 367 (drat!)

Hi guys .. Boo on the pink .. but he's got all day to come down right? That's how we have to look at it sometimes .. sorry to hear the ears are starting to get tough .. do you put on any neo ointment after the poke? You would never know we've been testing mocha for over two years now .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 02/17 AMPS 367 (drat!)

I've been putting Neosporin on his ears but it seems that the poor little veins are just getting tired! am sort of working my way UP the ear.. and am thinking I should've started higher and worked down, I think the pokes lower down might be impeding the flow further up. Live and learn. we'll make it happen.

fingers crossed he comes down nicely again today, he did yesterday so hopefully he'll do it a little less steeply and Mr. Liver doesn't panic so much.

Curious... how much food do you think a 13lb (not overweight, just BIG!) cat should get each day. I think I'm going to switch to the 2 or 3 times a day feed rather than free feed.
 
Re: 02/17 AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

12 noon and he's at 455. dammit.
I know I'm being impatient, but I just don't get how they can go UP after a shot , and then other times go down. seems to be so damn random. grrr. don't mind me. grey weather, worrying about hubby and still grieving over loss of the horse is all getting to me a bit at the moment.
 
Re: 02/17 AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

If ever there were the perfect place to vent...THIS is that place!

And Rupert...DUDE...

cat_covering_eyes_card-p137009269845924614z85cd_400.jpg
 
Re: 02/17 AMPS 367 (drat!)

Pip & Rupert said:
Curious... how much food do you think a 13lb (not overweight, just BIG!) cat should get each day. I think I'm going to switch to the 2 or 3 times a day feed rather than free feed.

I realize that a lot depends on the individual cat's metabolism, age, and activity level...
but Binks is at his ideal weight of 11 lbs (he's a manx, so small with a blocky, rabbity build).
I feed him 7 oz LC canned per day. He's OTJ, but I have continued with his feeding schedule of 6 minimeals per day...(i just split the 7 oz into 6 portions)
at what would be his Shot time, +1, and +2 each cycle. This front loading mini meal schedule seemed to really work for him...
I was browsing various Spread Sheets when we first started Lantus, discovered the mini meal tactic-
and started with it two weeks into our Lantus journey.

He also gets boiled chicken breast and freeze dried chicken as treats.

he's an indoor guy, but goes out for an hour in the yard daily...and runs, jumps and plays like a kitten-likes his exercise!
He's 12 yrs old.

Don't know if ANY of that helps :-D

celi
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

This is a formula for calories per day from Dr. Lisa's site. She describes it at "generous" so you can adjust as needed. At least it will give you a ballpark for how much to feed.
Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70​
What it looks to me is happening with Rupert's numbers is that he may be bouncing due to the fairly fast drop between his AMPS and +6 yesterday and that you shot a reduced dose last night. If you notice on your SS, every time you've skipped or reduced Rupert's dose, the numbers run higher the next cycle.
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

thanx for the info. unfortunately I can't do the mini meal thing because I'm not there 24/7, and with four other cats in the house it's tricky. But looking at the calorie counter thingy there, it looks like he should be getting 1.5 cans of Merrick (235 calories total) per day.. so a half a can each feeding.. which is about what he gets right now. I'm trying to get the other cats on a regular feeding schedule so that they all eat at the same time and clean out their bowls... thereby not leaving any nibblies for Rupert to find. The funny thing is, we've never notice Rupert to be a big eater, and he certainly doesn't demand food or round up all the bowls like a couple of the others we have. He must be a closet eater!!!

sigh. we'll get this sorted. He seems to be FEELING fine even if it's stressing his mom out! it's funny how quickly you get used to looking at the numbers and how UP you feel when you see them coming down. it's becoming my addiction!

we are going out tonight so he will get his shot right at 6pm. I won tickets to go see 'Whose Live Anyway' with Ryan Stiles and Greg Proops... one of my favorite tv shows (Whose Line is it anyway), on stage. Looking forward to it. we need a good laugh at the moment. hopefully Rupie will surf down nicely tonight and make me smile in the morning too!
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

My first time stopping by, so hello and welcome! Loved your profile!

Not sure if anyone has discussed these with you, but many of us find them to be a necessary part of the sugar dance experience. :lol: :lol: :lol: You're doing great! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

:lol: :lol: :lol:

similar to what we have in horse riding world: Safety Knickers!

my riding coach last night said to me 'just like a damn woman, you want it all, you want it perfect, you want it right now and you want it forever" (this when I was expressing frustration that my mind numbingly stupid anglo arabian gelding was being a dork after I haven't ridden him seriously for abuot 2 months!)
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

Hi there !

This is my first visit to your condo. I'm an old-timer who loiters about the LL neighborhood. . .

What a handsome fellow Rupert is !

I agree with Siennes observation about dose irregularities resulting in wonky numbers - and will add that finding a dose you can shoot consistently, every 12 hours, will go a long way in smoothing things out.

In Ruperts profile you mention the possibility of a bad tooth - if that's is still the case, having it addressed could make all the difference in his BGs.
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455 so frustrated, sigh

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
I agree with Siennes observation about dose irregularities resulting in wonky numbers - and will add that finding a dose you can shoot consistently, every 12 hours, will go a long way in smoothing things out.

I was thinking the same thing. It looks like 2.5 and 2 units have occasionally left Rupert lower than you are comfortable shooting the full dose. 2 units actually looks like a fairly good dose for Rupert for now, and we can teach you to shoot numbers like the 156 he got last night. Or you could try reducing a little bit, to 1.5 or 1.75, then hold that dose for a few days and see what happens. Sometimes it is easier to work UP to a good dose than DOWN to one. The lower dose might not be enough, but it will give you a chance to gather some data, keep him on a consistent dose for several days in a row, and see where the numbers land when they settle down. Most likely he'll need a little dose increase then, but you'll be more comfortable because you will have worked up to the dose.

I loooooooove Rupert's picture. He looks so much like my mom's soulmate kitty, who went to the Bridge last year.
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367,+6/455.+10.5/ 55!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!

ok. tested a little earlier, normally would have just done a PMPS, but we are heading out at 6 tonight (of course tonight.....).....
and he's gone from 455 at lunchtime to 55 now??????????? holy freaking dive batman.

he's eating his dinner now. will retest in an hour... last time he was this low before shot and we skipped and he rocketed.

gah.. this is such a roller coaster. maybe the lunchtime one was just wrong??? although is morning one was high too.

will retest, and repost, if he's too low before we leave I'll stall (dammit, I know that screws things up), we'll be back home by 10pm, I can give him his shot then (okay??) if things are rising, and then give him his morning shot later tomorrow to prevent too much overlap.
jeesh Rupert. Make up your mind????

all thoughts appreciated..... I think this is a BOS moment but the fact that we are going out makes me think it might have to be a BCS instead.. and yet the last few times we've done that it's been followed by MORE days like this. up, down, up, up up up up... doooooooooown. good grief.
I guess I'm safe in assuming he's going to bounce hugely.. again... tomorrow.. regardless.
you'd think he'd look worse for wear.. but nope. right as rain, happy camper, giving me the 'What?' look. although holding out for steak ('we don't eat no steeenkin cheap ground beef here') for his treats pre test... I think he's got me pegged!
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455. +10.5/ 55 !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did you retest to see if the 55 is correct?

if you'll be out tonight, then tonight is definitely not the night to learn to shoot low. I would see where he is when you get home.

The afternoon reading was probably ok. Some cats do what we call a high before the break, where they throw a weird high number just before a breakthrough.
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455. +10.5/ 55 !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Libby and Lucy said:
Or you could try reducing a little bit, to 1.5 or 1.75, then hold that dose for a few days and see what happens. Sometimes it is easier to work UP to a good dose than DOWN to one. The lower dose might not be enough, but it will give you a chance to gather some data, keep him on a consistent dose for several days in a row, and see where the numbers land when they settle down. Most likely he'll need a little dose increase then, but you'll be more comfortable because you will have worked up to the dose.

In light of current events this sounds like a good strategy :-D
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert AMPS 367, +6/455. +10.5/ 55 !!!!!!!!!!!!!

ok. +11.5 and he's at 77 so he's sneaking up slowly......and of course I realized I committed a sin by letting him eat (but it WAS supper time?!!) before testing him again so this increase could just be 'normal' due to food.......

am thinking going with the reduced dose...although... it's saturday tomorrow and I could dose him the full amount tonight when we get home(but of course stalling will mean an overall reduction right?) and then I can shoot him later (i.e. 12 hours time) tomorrow because I'll be home.

decisions decisions. any further input?
 
whenever you shoot your lowest number, we pretty much insist that you be able to get a +1 and +2. That is to help keep Rupert safe. If you'll be gone for +1 and +2, then I wouldn't shoot this. There will be a next time, I promise!
 
How many hours late will it be when you get home? Shooting when you get home is a good plan, numbers permitting. Would you have to be back on schedule by Monday?
 
we'll be home by 9:30 so that would be +3 and I could definitely shoot him at 9:30 tomorrow morning, and then work him back slowly, I can shoot him as late as 8am and 8pm (have to be at work by 9, but it's close so could go later... hm.... why am I getting up at 6am then?!). DOH!

okay. I think I'll wait till I get home and give him the 2.0. will be interesting to see how fast he rises between now and then, and then I can get him on a better time schedule anyway. although I think the reason we were going with the 6 and 6 was so we COULD go out in the evenings... hm.. don't mind me, thinking aloud. I"ll hold, shoot him full amount at 9:30 tonight. then 9:30 tomorrow, and then slowly work him back to an earlier time again... jeesh. so much for trying to keep things regular.....thanx guys. sorry to be so all over the map with this.........I really AM trying to follow the rules... Rupie just isn't playing by them at the moment!
 
Hi Pip and Rupert,
I'm just getting to your condo and want to say WELCOME. Rupert is a gorgeous boy. Our Stu (GA) was also a very big tuxedo cat. Your profile page is so neat. I love seeing pics of your kitties and your handsome horses (very sorry to hear that your DH lost his best buddy). As a girl and teenager I was horse-crazy and I was lucky to be able to ride once a week at a horsemanship school and to take part in shows. Your pictures of the ring brought it all back.

Rupert certainly threw you a curve tonight! It will be interesting to see where he is when you get home. As you know, Lantus likes consistency. Hopefully you will find a 12/12 schedule that will fit your lives and his!! Good luck with the feeding challenge! With all those kitties, that may well be the most difficult feat to bring off.

Enjoy the weekend. Again, welcome to Lantus Land!

Ella & Rusty
 
Wow....what a day for Rupert. Gracie has taught us to not make plans :lol: :lol: :lol:

While I did give Christie those patience pants long ago, I no longer spread those around via the Sisterhood of the Travelling Patience Pants. I decided that if the numbers make us crazy, we should at least LOOK good. So here are the ones we now share in the STPP (please don't mind my belly in the photo...JK :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ):
 

Attachments

  • yellow patience pants.jpg
    yellow patience pants.jpg
    5.9 KB · Views: 551
I would follow Libby's advice and shoot a lower dose and stick w/ it for a few days. Lantus really does need to be dosed consistently. Every time you skip a shot or BCS it acts like a dose reduction and the shed has to readjust. Then when you go back to the regular dose it is like an dose increase and the shed needs tro balance again, Viscous cycle. :YMSIGH: When you are adjusting your time back earlier, try to do it in no more than 15 minute increments or that can mess his numbers up too. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: I know the higher numbers are hard to take, the impotant thing is he is active and happy. That beats any old BG test. :-D :-D

On the food, an easier calculation is 20 to 30 calories per pound of ideal body weight, depending on the activity level. So for Rupert 260 to 390 calories a day. Tess is a little over 8 pounds and she gets 180 to 200 calories. She doesn't gain weight and she is not all that active either. Unless napping is considered and "activity." :roll: The more complicated formula is to calculate calories for a weight reduction plan. It is generous for trying to lose weight.
 
Re: 02/17 Rupert after a low of 55, he's up to 277

thanx everyone for the warm welcome, the great support and all the advice. wish I couldv'e caught the rise and shot him sooner. sigh.

we just got back from town (GREAT show! very funny!)..... and tested Rupie the minute we came in (poor guy must hate when he hears us coming home!). He was at 277. not horrific, but still quite a move upwards. So.. I gave him his usual 2.0. so I will shoot late tomorrow. I am DETERMINED to get him on a regular 2.0 shot for long enough to see what's going on.. then again..... maybe I should go lower since we are having this massive swings ... sigh. will see where his numbers are tomorrow and maybe go for a 1.75 shot (hard to tell though. STILL can't find half unit syringes anywhere around here) and try and be super consistent with that for at least 7 days in a row! No outings planned next week so evenings should be under control (famous last words!)

he's looking fabulous, took a great picture of him posing on the couch, on a very regal looking pillow. He looks QUITE disdainful. will try to post it tomorrow! thanx everyone. I sure hope this rollercoaster quits bouncing soon, I'm getting seasick!
 
I can't get syringes with half units marked in Australia but with the 3/10cc syringes (which I assume that you're using) I really don't have any trouble measuring the 0.25 and 0.75 doses.

You can grab a practice syringe and use some water with food colouring in it to practice and then when you are happy you have the right amount leave that syringe to one side to compare with the doses you draw if you like.

It doesn't matter so much if you have exactly the right dose just that you are consistent with what you have decided is right.
 
hi pip! what an exciting day you've had - rupert's keeping you on your toes and insisting that you learn Lantus 101 really fast! and what a fun evening!

i like the suggestions you've gotten today too. you're on your way!
 
sorry to bump this... but looking for suggestions... we shot him at about 9:15 last night, soon as we got home, he was up to the 230's.

this morning, at regular shot time, 6:30, he's at 277.. should I wait til 9:15 to give him his shot or should I give it now and get back on schedule?
 
~O) ~O)

to move back to schedule safely you have 2 options:

Shoot 15 min early each cycle until you get back on track or
shoot 30 min early once per 24 hours until you are back on track.

(Housekeeping item - please start a new condo for today)
 
Hi guys,
Yes, it is very important to move the shot time back gradually, just like Sandy said: 15 minutes a 12-hour cycle; or 30 minutes a day.

Your objective is to be consistent so that you don't get whacky swings in blood glucose numbers. This applies to the shot time (every 12 hours) and to the dose (stick with a dose for the required number of cycles, as specified in the Protocol, unless there is an urgent reason to change it; one of the very knowledgeable people will advise you if this is the case). Every time you skip a dose, or stall, or shoot a lesser amount (BCS), there will be an effect on the Lantus shed. Of course, we all have to skip, or stall, or shoot BCS shots on occasion, but we have to be prepared to expect that getting back "on schedule" might take a few cycles, and will be reflected in the bg numbers. Until you are able to shoot consistently, you will not be able to gauge how Rupert is doing on his current dose and therefore will not be able to know if and/or when to modify the dose.

Hope this helps?

Enjoy the holiday weekend,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top