02/17 Frank +12 57,rt70,+12.5 62,+13.5 93,+16 134,+18 288

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina and Boozle

Member Since 2013
Last Post

We got snowed in so Frank didn't get his dental Friday. I guess that is good though because he has a bit of a cold that was probably coming on before-hand. Everything else seems to be fine, but I suspect something is going on. We had to skip his shot this morning and at +16 he is stll in the blues. Blah... busy as usual so that is what I have for now. Hope everyone is having a fantastic day!
 
Re: 02/17 Frank +12 57,rt70,+12.5 62,+13.5 93,+16 134,+18 28

I really am not sure how low he got last night, which is kind of scary. He has been hitting greens on the regular and maintaining without intervention. I got paranoid when he hit 50 one day and gave him a teaspoon of gravy. Who knows if he actually needed it. I have only seen him in the greens at AMPS once and that was when he had vomited all of his food. Not really feeling like I have enough information to make a decision because we are in new territory. I am feeling as if the safe thing to do would be to cut his dose by at least .25. Does everyone concur or am I being paranoid?
 
Re: 02/17 Frank +12 57,rt70,+12.5 62,+13.5 93,+16 134,+18 28

We usually wait until they actually go below 50 to reduce, but you also have to be comfortable with what you're doing.

It looks like he's bouncing now off the lower numbers last night/this morning so I think you'd be safe to stay with the 3 units tonight, especially if he keeps going up.

It really looks like when he gets fluids, it can really drops his numbers which happens with a lot of kitties. 200 cc does seem like a lot of fluid though! Without going back several months, I'm not sure why he's on the fluids, but I notice he's gone up from 100 to 200cc's every other day.

Sure would be great if they came with an instruction manual wouldn't it? Of course even if they did, we'd have to get them to actually read it!
 
Re: 02/17 Frank +12 57,rt70,+12.5 62,+13.5 93,+16 134,+18 28

You've shot a 104 before. That wouldn't have been much different than the 93 at 13.5. We do like to shoot low to stay low here but shooting a 57 for your first green would have been a bit much so a delay was warranted. We suggest testing every half hour until you get a number you are comfortable shooting. If you were home today, it would have been a good opportunity to gather data on how he handles lower preshots.

I agree with Chris that we typically wait until we see an under 50 to reduce, but Neko gave me a rising 50 at PS this morning so I called it close enough to reduce. However, I just took a drop off the dose. But that's what works for me - I hope. :? You have to learn what works for Frank. Each cats instruction manual is different. :roll:
 
Re: 02/17 Frank +12 57,rt70,+12.5 62,+13.5 93,+16 134,+18 28

I guess if there were an instruction manual, this would be the place. I have learned a lot here.

Chris, Frank was severely dehydrated when we first took him in. We started will 100 cc and it helped, but he would have a high numbers day and it was beating him down with as much fluid as he was passing. We had to treat it more aggressively to get real results. On his last visit, a few weeks ago, it was suggested we continue the 200cc. I imagine until we get this dental done, and his progress isn't as inhibited by that infection, we'll probably continue that. There is some suspicion that he may be developing CRF, but the tests were inconclusive.

Wendy, unfortunately I had school today so I would have had to leave him. I wish I knew what he was coming up from this morning. Dang odd time for him to drop into the greens. Lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top