02/17 Blackie PMPS 139, +3 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=89072&p=954584#p954584

WCR: Weight = 10.75 lbs. Had to take yet another civvie, Bubba, to the vet yesterday. UTI again. It's all because of the Friskies dry that they're all eating. So, Mr. Bubba is on Clavamox for 10 days. I found out yesterday that he doesn't like to be pilled. Instead, I crushed the pill up, and mixed it in with Evo Beef wet food. He ate it all up. :-D So far, his stool looks solid, but only time will tell if that'll soften up, and if it does, or if it gets too runny, he'll be given psyllium 2x a day until his system gets used to the new diet. I hate doing crash diet changes, but when it comes to UTI issues, I'd rather deal with that, than another vet visit. How I knew that he had UTI was he went to the LB, peed, and I didn't notice it right away. I think he did a poo in the LB next to that one, and I happened to look down at the time. I also looked at the other boxes, including the 1 he peed in and noticed that his pee spot had an unusual amount of blood in it. I did a quick check with the other 2 spots in either of the other LBs, and noted that they were clear (thank goodness). Knew it was Bubba, but to be sure, I took a wad of tissue paper, grabbed his tail, and quickly dabbed at his rear end. Sure enough... The tissue showed evidence of blood. To the vet you go, Mr. Bubba. He was mostly quiet all the way there, and back, and was extremely good with the vet as she was trying to get any evidence of blood from his urethra. Unfortunately, he had voided his bladder at home. Sorry, doc. I had stuck a towel in the carrier with him just in case, but nothing had happened on it, either. So, now its 10 days' worth of meds, and a complete diet change. My big boy weighs 17.6 lbs. He'll probably lose a bit of weight on this diet, though. He'll feel much better for it, I'm sure. The next kitty to slowly transition to Evo is Groucho, Jr. Mint's brother (Jr. being the original UTI patient who is also eating Evo). I'm already starting the transition to Evo dry (Chicken & Turkey) with him. I'll be adding some Evo wet to his wet food diet soon, too. He has a finicky system with regards to foods, and I have to be a bit careful with him. I don't think I'll have too much of a problem, though. I'd rather have him transitioned over to Evo than go through another round of pills, and another vet bill. Next after him, I'll do the girls. I found out from the vet that the males have a tendency for UTI problems more often than the females. Still think I'd rather be safe than sorry, though.

MY WISH: For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.​
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134

Morning Angela ~O)

Steady start for Blackie :smile: I hope Bubba responds well to his meds.
ohmygod_smile You certainly have your work cut out for you food-wise with your bunch!

Have a great day!
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134

Good Morning Angela ~O) ~O) nice AMPS for Blackie and hope she has a nice slide today. So sorry Bubba has a UTI, but sounds like you caught it so early with being so observant and got him to Vetty. Sending lots of healing vines to Mr. Bubba. I hope the Clavamox agrees. Mags has a UTI which spread to the kidneys and is on Orbax for six weeks. Her signal was small pee clumps and missing the box at times. How many kitties own you? :lol: I will check your profile. Good luck with the food transition. Have a nice Sunday.
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134

Morning Angela,

Poor Mr. Bubba, I hope the meds help and he feels better soon. I agree with Bruce, you do have your work cut out for you with transitioning the food. Good luck. I just got my Smokey transitioned to the Evo dry chicken & turkey. She is quite stubborn.

Hope you and the gang have a wonderful day,
Kathie
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134

Morning Angela ~O) ~O) ~O)

poor Bubba - healing vines for him. And much luck wit the food transition - I hope that goes well.

Nice start today for Blackie!
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134, +3 62

+1 - 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 1.09 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 62 - 0.35 oz. Evo 95% C&T

Thanks, guys. So far, Bubba's more interested in the Evo wet than the dry, which is fine. As long as he's eating that's the main thing.
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134, +3 62

I hope the ABs help clear up Bubba's UTI quickly. Good luck with the food transition with your kitties. Blackie looks good today, as usual.
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134, +3 62

Hi Angela & Blackie! What a lovely day for Blackie! Keep going with those pretty numbers! Scritches to Mr. Bubba!!!! Glad he's enjoying the EVO wet and hope his UTI clears up quickly. Blessings to you, Angela. Hope you have a wonderful Sunday!
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134, +3 62, +6 88

+6 88

Yep, she's definitely looking good. Although, was slightly disappointed that she didn't give me a # below 50 @ +3 so that I can reduce her dose tonight. I'm not sure how low she went on Thursday since I couldn't be here to test her, hence the pile of food that she received that morning to keep her from dropping too low.

QUESTION: Do her #s on this current dose look good enough to reduce tonight, or should I wait 1 more day, as per the protocol, and then reduce on Tuesday?
 
Re: Dose Question (last post) 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134 +3 62 +

I don't see any obvious indications that her dose needs to be changed, either up or down. Her PS numbers are still higher than I would prefer to see for trying a reduction, so I would just hold this dose. Nothing wrong with holding onto something that's working. :smile:
 
Re: Dose Question (last post) 02/17 Blackie AMPS 134 +3 62 +

Well, I'm hoping that her #s will settle down fairly soon. I guess all the #s need to be in the 50-120 range then, right? With her, that's going to be impossible. :sad:
 
Re: 02/17 Blackie PMPS 139

PMPS 139, 3.0u, 0.90 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 0.85 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 1.09 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 63 - 0.35 oz. Evo 95% C&T

I'm noticing her PS #s are rising, so will be aborting the extra gram of food PS & +1. Will keep the 1.09 oz. +2, and the snack will remain the same, also.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top