02/17/2020 Apple AMPS 297 +10 101 - Is half dose ever permissible?

we don't shoot anything under 120,
.

Why don't you shoot anything under 120? On TR, we gradually shoot lower and lower Pre-shot numbers. I got to where I'd shoot China if she was above 50

Also, looks like you still have 2 hours.....a lot can happen in those 2 hours so you might want to get a test at +11.5 so you have 30 minutes to get some advice if Apple doesn't go up by then
 
.

Why don't you shoot anything under 120? On TR, we gradually shoot lower and lower Pre-shot numbers. I got to where I'd shoot China if she was above 50

Also, looks like you still have 2 hours.....a lot can happen in those 2 hours so you might want to get a test at +11.5 so you have 30 minutes to get some advice if Apple doesn't go up by then
Okay, we'll check it in half an hour and get back to you then. If you shot China at 50, how often would you test?
 
I have seen Callie's BG drop a lot in the last hour or so. I wouldn't decide to change dose till the last minute. If you feel unsure then, there is always the reduced dose option. These low numbers can feel scary if your not used to them.
 
Looks like you might not have to worry about being under 120.

Side note, you have been holding this dose far longer than TR says. With greens in the picture, you hold the dose 10 cycles. I count 51 cycles?
 
It's great to see Apple in those nice blue numbers! It would be terrific if she could stay in them... there's a saying around here, 'shoot low to stay low'.

You may have to put on your big-girl pants and do just that...until you start to see those nice green numbers that we're all ever watchful for.

Just think about it this way, how are you ever going to get her off the juice if you don't walk her down the dosing ladder...when that time comes you'll be shooting lower and lower numbers until she doesn't need insulin any longer.

Keep posting - looks like you've got some great support for this evening :)
 
We thought it was after you see greens hold it two more cycles. The question we had was if we did keep shooting lower and lower, how often do you test for a possible hypoglycemic episode? Needless to say, yes we are terrified of shooting lower, but with your advice we with rethink our position. We do want to get him in remission.
 
By the time I was shooting that low, I knew exactly what to expect from her. We tell people here to "Know Thy Cat" and there's nothing more important.

I was lucky? that I'm disabled so could be home to test as much as I wanted to. Also China gave me VERY clear signals when she was dropping "too low".
With 14 rescues, keeping an eye on Apple in the mix is daunting. I haven't seen any changes in his behavior, high or low.
 
Looks like you might not have to worry about being under 120.

Side note, you have been holding this dose far longer than TR says. With greens in the picture, you hold the dose 10 cycles. I count 51 cycles?
I don't know if you saw this reply to your post.."We thought it was after you see greens hold it two more cycles. The question we had was if we did keep shooting lower and lower, how often do you test for a possible hypoglycemic episode? Needless to say, yes we are terrified of shooting lower, but with your advice we with rethink our position. We do want to get him in remission."
 
I don't know if you saw this reply to your post.."We thought it was after you see greens hold it two more cycles. The question we had was if we did keep shooting lower and lower, how often do you test for a possible hypoglycemic episode? Needless to say, yes we are terrified of shooting lower, but with your advice we with rethink our position. We do want to get him in remission."
It’s hard to know exactly when to test once you’re starting to shoot lower and lower numbers. Every cat is different, they all respond differently so you have to get to know your car and their “typical” patterns. In the morning on work days, I always get a +1-1.5 test before I leave for work and will leave food in the auto feeder for him. If I’m able to come home on my lunch to grab a +6-+7 test, I will, but it’s not always possible. If his BG is lower than normal in the evenings, I get a +1 and +2 and go from there. If he’s dropping quickly or in lower numbers, I feed MC or HC and keep testing for as long as I can until I need to go to bed, then I leave the appropriate carb % of food in the auto feeder. If you’re getting +1, 2, and even 3 and a test before bed, you should be able to avoid hypo events, because you should be able to catch any big or fast drops, and feed accordingly. It’s hard to give an exact answer, you just have to experiment with your tests and food and figure out what your cats patterns are and what foods work when needing to get BG up. I hope that helps a little.
 
I used to test until Max was surfing without food. I was not working but did have other obligations so if I had to leave I would steer the cycle with food. Max would often drop at night so I had many pj parties. He always got a food bump so for him a +1 wasn’t of any value. I knew a lot about what to expect from his +3.
 
Back
Top