? 02/16 Tinka 121 AMPS,131 +2,112 +3,95 +4,92 +5,77 +6,124 +8,122 +9,148 PMPS,126 +2,95 +3, 92 +4.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all, we had a very eventful evening last night with Tinka as we shot low at PMPS which was 74 and had to monitor till +7.5 so only finished at 4am! Typically Tinka has had higher values at AMPS as a bounce back from seeing green or even blue during the day and especially from going lower in the eve, as its really only been past week that we are seeing blue and green again since removing her AM steroid. Last night I actually increased her PM steroid a little as unforunately the itchy skin is back. So I was really expecting yellow this AM but we got a nice blue 121. Does that mean she's not having a bounce then or that it could come later today? We did see something similar on 02/13 just not as low a values in the AM.

Difficulty is I can't monitor as much this morning. She ate well and we also added 1/6 steroid to her AM breakfast for the itch. This will prob cause values to increase at some point today. I didn't want to do that as we have been working hard this past week since removing it to get values stabilised but we also have to get the itch under control again. I took her +2 and she is 131 does that mean she doesn't need to be monitored as closely this AM? I can get in a +3 in next 20 mins just to make sure all is good. What would that need to be in order for me to leave and only retest again later probably at +6.5?? Thank you!

Here's my last condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...4-3-81-4-lc-meal-99-5-5-104-6-133-7-5.173231/
 
So I just got in a +3 and she is now 122 which is lower than +2 and AMPS. Is that a stable number to leave and retest again at around +6.5 or not?? Thank you!!
 
Any suggestions am I probably good to leave for 3 hours and then come back and test and feed her lunch or is the +3 of 112 indicating thats not a good idea?? Thanks!
 
I don't know enough to give the best advice. Hopefully someone will come along soon and help out.
Just an FYI, I have seen people say in some condos that the reduced shots don't necessarily help out in the beginning of the cycle (as far as keeping numbers up)
 
I don't know enough to give the best advice. Hopefully someone will come along soon and help out.
Just an FYI, I have seen people say in some condos that the reduced shots don't necessarily help out in the beginning of the cycle (as far as keeping numbers up)
Thanks so much Barbara :) Hoping I can get some advise soon and then leave. Want to make sure she's safe. Not use to this AM type cycle. We didn't do a reduced dose today, last one we did was 11 cycles ago. Thanks again!
 
OK, sorry bout that. I'm running on fumes too. Got 3 and half hours of sleep. Hope you and Tinka have a safe day. I will check in later to see how her mid-cycle number goes.
Thanks Barbara, dont worry my brain is pretty mushy today too only a few hours sleep as well! Thanks so much for your help I really appreciate it! I've not heard back from anyone else, so I'll wait for a +4 and see where we at and hopefully I can leave then. Hope you and Uncle have a good and safe day too. Here's hoping for blues and greens tonight but no pj parties!
 
Tinka seems to be staying pretty flat right now. I think you're okay to leave for a few hours. If you're worried, you can always leave some LC out for her to snack on to keep him surfing.
 
Tinka seems to be staying pretty flat right now. I think you're okay to leave for a few hours. If you're worried, you can always leave some LC out for her to snack on to keep him surfing.
Thank you Carla for your msg :) I just got in a +4 and she's now dropped to 5.3 /95. Does that mean cycle is becoming more active? Do you think I should stay and monitor? Thanks again!
 
That's not much of a drop from +3. I don't think you need to say home and monitor. Are you still going to be able to test around +6.5?
 
That's not much of a drop from +3. I don't think you need to say home and monitor. Are you still going to be able to test around +6.5?
That's good thanks for the help. With monitoring longer this AM I've had to try change plans. I will plan to get in a +5 possibly then hopefully a +6 then I'll feed her lunch. Hoping I can head out then.

So if we haven't seen a bounce yet does that mean her body is getting use to the lower values? Once we are more use to shooting lower and lower blue and green values in general does one not need to monitor as closely when you know how they handle things? It's been a really intense week of monitoring. Was up till 4am last night and only a few hours sleep and wasn't expecting lower values this AM. I'm really pleased though just wondering how this works long term.
 
Hopefully she is getting used to the lower numbers, but she could still bounce. Sometimes there is a delayed bounce.

Once you get an idea of how she will do when shooting a low number, you'll have a better handle on if she'll surf (like she's doing today) or drop and you need to monitor more. The +2 looks like a food spike and the + 3 was pretty flat. That is usually a good indication that a cat will surf safely. You'll get some good data with your tests today.
 
Hopefully she is getting used to the lower numbers, but she could still bounce. Sometimes there is a delayed bounce.

Once you get an idea of how she will do when shooting a low number, you'll have a better handle on if she'll surf (like she's doing today) or drop and you need to monitor more. The +2 looks like a food spike and the + 3 was pretty flat. That is usually a good indication that a cat will surf safely. You'll get some good data with your tests today.
Thank you Carla that's really helpful advise!!
 
+5 was 92 so I'm assuming she's surfing :) This is a new AM experience! Going to get in a +6 in about 15 mins then feed her lunch. She's appearing very hungry. Hopefully I'll be able to leave soon.
 
Tinka's +6 was 77. Thereafter I fed her usual LC lunch which she finished, she looks pretty hungry. I'll try test again around +7 or maybe I could wait till +8. Unforuntely she's still scratching a lot today so the little extra steroid last night and this AM hasn't kicked in. Clearly her BG didn't get the msg as she's been surfing all day. I decided to change plans to stay at home to monitor her but planning to head out in a few hours time so hopefully she'll be stable then or coming up slowly.
 
So I managed to get in a +8 and +9 and looks like she's surfing blue now which im pleased with. Finally heading out, will be back for PMPS in a few hours, lets hope its a good number but not too low too shoot, this mama is running on a few hours sleep, no more pj parties pls!
 
Very nice numbers today. It looks like the 77 was her nadir. I hope she surfs safely for you tonight.
Thanks Carla :) Yes we had a pretty good surf day, not use to seeing that in the AM it was great!! :) Her PMPS was 8.2 / 148 so at least we're not shooting as low tonight hoping we'll see some good values without too low numbers so we can get some sleep tonight. I did unfortunately have to give her a little extra steroid this PM as she's still itchy and she also had a little this AM so I'm not sure if we'll see an increase in values from that later tonight or tmrw, will have to wait and see.
 
Very nice numbers today. It looks like the 77 was her nadir. I hope she surfs safely for you tonight.
Had some pretty good values this eve - 148 PMPS, 126 +2 and 95 at +3. We are feeding her usual last meal for the night now. Will test again between +4 to +5. So as her +2 was only a slight dip after PMPS does that mean the cycle generally is pretty flat. I'm assuming I don't need to stay up late and monitor like last night? Lots of blue and green and all this monitoring is still pretty new to me, thank you!
 
@Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey hope you've had a good day and not too exhausted? Had a good day with Tinka, we shot much lower than usual this AM and saw blue and green all day :) Mama had to do a lot of monitoring though as I wasn't comfortable heading out this morn with those new lower values in the AM, wasn't sure what she'd do but she went on to surf the day. I think we're doing pretty good this eve, I don't think I need to monitor much more. What are your thoughts? Hoping for some good sleep tonight as only had a few hours last night. Tinks on the other hand has had a lovely day of snoozing and the occasional play and of course eating and a few more LC treats than usual with all the BG testing.
 
Hi Tanya,

Very nice numbers from tinka.
Looking good tonight too.

If I had to guess I would say that tonight might be a little more active than this morning, just because tonights +2 showed a more significant drop in relation to PS than this morning where it was the same.
I would probably go ahead and get that +4 and that should tell you more, she dropped 30pts from +2 to +3, so if she continues at that rate then she would be in her 60's. (she may of course come up and surf for you.
 
Hi Tanya.

Sorry I didn't see your tag. I've been working on a project offline and just now came on to check a reference. I see Gill came to your aid. I hope you got another reading after that 95, as I too, have a feeling Tinka was headed lower.
She's looking really, really good!
 
I'm glad Gill was able to give you some advice. If the +2 is about the same as the PS, usually that indicates a flat cycle. If it is lower, you should test at +3 to see if she's going to go down like she did last night. Since the +3 was over 50 points lower, it's a good idea to test again or leave some food out to keep her surfing.
 
I'm glad Gill was able to give you some advice. If the +2 is about the same as the PS, usually that indicates a flat cycle. If it is lower, you should test at +3 to see if she's going to go down like she did last night. Since the +3 was over 50 points lower, it's a good idea to test again or leave some food out to keep her surfing.
Thanks to you all for your msgs :) I'm in bed but just checked my phone. I got in a +4.5 earlier tonight and she was 5.1 / 92. Sorry I can't put it on the SS on my phone. I did feed her at +3 though her usual LC meal so I'm not sure how much that influenced her. After +4.5 unfort things turned south for me as I have unfort been really unwell myself. Hope I'm ok on stopping at +4.5 don't know if iv got the strength to get up and do another BG. Really in need of sleep it's 4am here and I'm exhausted and unwell. She's sleeping on the bottom of my bed looking peaceful so I hope she's all ok.
 
I hope you got some sleep last night and start feeling better soon!
Looks like Tinka's had a day and night with great numbers. Maybe she'll go into a bounce and you can get more rest. :bighug:
 
I agree with Tricia. I hope you can get some sleep and feel better soon. Sending prayers.
Thanks so much Carla! We survived the night. She had a bounce to 279 this am so I got in some rest. Feeling a little better. She's now 121 at +6. Glad to see she's clearing bounces quickly esp as we still had a little steroid in this AM.
 
I hope you got some sleep last night and start feeling better soon!
Looks like Tinka's had a day and night with great numbers. Maybe she'll go into a bounce and you can get more rest. :bighug:
Thanks Barbara you are spot on she had a bounce this morn to 279 this am so I got in some much needed rest. Feeling a little better and she's now 121 at +6. I have to head out for a few hours but I think she'll be good. She's clearing bounces quicker which is great esp as we still had a little steroid in this AM. Overall pleased to see these values past few days, just need some rest myself too so thankfully today doesn't look to crazy but that is a fair drop from AMPS to +6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top