02/16 Cleo AMPS=374 +2=387 PMPS=285 +2=350

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
02/15 recap
AMPS = 524
+2 = 470
+4 = 404
+6 = 356
+8 = 490
+10 = 358
PMPS = 335
+2 = 454

Cleo has decided to start the week in yellow :):):)!!!!

This evening I increased the dose to 2.75, even if she was yellow. Did I do it right?

Since some days Cleo has decided to refuse insulin: when I put the needle into the skin, she turns toward me and try to bite me, with the risk to hurt herself and me. Infact, this evening I pricked my finger :mad:

The pm +2 test is 350?! Why? :(

Have a good day and many scritches to your kitties!
 
So nice to see that yellow start! Cleo hasn't seen yellow for a while, and might even have seen some upper blues today, so she's probably bouncing now.

Ouch on the pricked finger. I've done that. :oops: Where on Cleo are you giving her shot? Some places are more sensitive than others. One other thing is to try to make sure you are inserting the needle with the bevel (short side) is up. Marje posted a picture of that in her Testing and Shooting Tips post. I look at the needle with a magnifier to make sure I have the pointy/long side down before I shoot. One other possibility, some kitties find that Lantus stings. When Neko was on Lantus, I used to hold the syringe between my fingers for about 20-30 seconds to warm up the Lantus before injecting.
 
Hi Wendy, I usually give her shot on scruff and side of chest. I don't know if it makes sense, but I shoot on scruff when her blood sugar is low and on side of chest otherwise. Moreover, I give her am shot on the left side and pm shot on the right side.
I already shoot with the bevel up, I had read about it somewhere in this forum. I will try to warm up the Lantus before injecting as you told me.

Thank you for the link to the post of Marje. Exactly what I was looking for.
 
ugh, sorry to hear you almost got bit and stuck yourself with the lancet--been there, done that! :oops::oops: Wendy just told you what I was going to say(good thing I read that first LOL :rolleyes:) I draw up the insulin first thing and give it a chance to get to room temp because I am convinced it stings my little Tiger because she gets a fairly hefty dose.

The other thing, are you giving treats for tests and shots? My Tiger loves chicken Pure Bites, she gets a piece before each test and after the shot. I also shouldn't admit this, but her face is in her food bowl when she gets her shots ...:rolleyes::rolleyes: And she has never taken a nip at me yet!

Great to see some yellows for your girl Cleo! :bighug::bighug:

Your +2 could be a food spike or New Dose Wonkiness, or sometimes our kitties just like to confuse us! :cat:
 
My Polly is fussy with her shots, too. I suspect when she was on those high doses (10U), the Lantus did sting a bit. Even now that we're down to 4U, she still sometimes tries to pull away. I shoot in the scruff, hold her "tent" firmly and just hang on! Sometimes, she's oblivious to it, though. And yes, I shoot while she's eating.

So nice to see that yellow PMPS! Step by step. Plugging along.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top