02/15 Misty PMPS 322 AMPS 349 +7 322 dose?

rowena

Member Since 2019
Misty will be coming up to her sixth dose at 1.5u tonight. Her numbers have been in the pink range for the last almost 4 days. Should I increase in the morning or leave it?
background: she was on 4.5u for over 12 months without testing (been diabetic 2 years and had a very slow increase to that high dose with limited blood testing, using urine, fructosamine and behavioural observations). Her frequent bladder infections stopped at 4.5u. She had a hypo on 01/29, hospitalised, released on 01/31 then had another hypo managed at home. I’ve been testing as much as possible since then, but Misty is feisty and I’ve made some mistakes.
 
Here’s your last post. We link them for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-223-amps-324-6-344-dose.259284/#post-2913250

Is it possible to get a second test at night, every night? To follow TR, you need two tests every cycle. Cats often go lower at night. Looking at her number that I do see she could increase to 2.0 but without other tests I don’t feel comfortable suggesting that.
Thank you. I can try.
however, I just managed to test her urine and I think there’s a hint of ketones. It’s so hard to tell, but I did several sticks and I think they were turning a little pinkish rather than staying neutral.
 
You will need an amps and a second test and a pmps, and one more at night minimum. Was that clear? You do need to increase with ketones. Testing will get easier.
 
Hi Rowena…it can be hard sometimes to tell if the ketones test is negative or a hint of trace. I used to have the same trouble. next time you get a test and you are not sure, take a photo and post it here….just copy and paste it. You will need to get the photo quickly s it changes colour after the 15 seconds.
Don’t worry if you need to give her the broth to do the testing. If that is what it takes, just give it.:) As soon as we hear back from the company about the carbs we can worry about it then.
Is she eating well? Food helps keep ketones away as well so feed her as much as you can. Also fluids.
 
Hi Rowena…it can be hard sometimes to tell if the ketones test is negative or a hint of trace. I used to have the same trouble. next time you get a test and you are not sure, take a photo and post it here….just copy and paste it. You will need to get the photo quickly s it changes colour after the 15 seconds.
Don’t worry if you need to give her the broth to do the testing. If that is what it takes, just give it.:) As soon as we hear back from the company about the carbs we can worry about it then.
Is she eating well? Food helps keep ketones away as well so feed her as much as you can. Also fluids.
Yes she is eating ok. She sleeps a lot during the day, is active and outside in the afternoon/evening then bed with me. I tested water with the ketodiastix and it didn’t seem the same, but it is tricky. She was looking for rainwater to drink today, which she doesn’t normally do. She did it when she got back from the 2 day stay at the vet.
 
Have you managed to test for ketones today?
Here is the photo. I just thought it was more pink than neutral. The photo is not great. I think I may have imagined it. It certainly isn’t as pink as the trace square, so hopefully it’s ok. I upped the dose to 1.75. I got up at 1am to do a mid pm cycle test. I will post again in the Lantus forum tomorrow when I see a bit more how she’s going. Thanks.
file:///var/mobile/Library/SMS/Attachments/2e/14/D28E0C35-7F74-4D8B-B451-5DFCFBC986E9/IMG_4187.HEIC
 
@rowena I ended up ringing Purina about the fancy feast broth because I hadn’t heard back with the email. I spoke to a lady how did the calculations for me and said the broth has very little tapioca starch in it as it is a broth and the carb content is less than 1%. That was for the one with prawns, tuna and surimi. So you can relax and use the broths.:D
 
@rowena I ended up ringing Purina about the fancy feast broth because I hadn’t heard back with the email. I spoke to a lady how did the calculations for me and said the broth has very little tapioca starch in it as it is a broth and the carb content is less than 1%. That was for the one with prawns, tuna and surimi. So you can relax and use the broths.:D
Thanks so much. What a relief! I can only test her with them, so I feel so much better now.
 
Back
Top