02/15 Jax PMPS 116

You are the best bean! But ewwww....Jax really will eat anything:eek:.
Nice cycle and nice AMPS:D:D! Keep it up, Jax.
Have a wonderful day, Susanne:bighug:
 
It will be interesting to see what he does after the dental this week. I know some shoot a half dose that morning but my vet had me skip.
 
It will be interesting to see what he does after the dental this week. I know some shoot a half dose that morning but my vet had me skip.
I was going to ask the board about that...his doctor said to do 0.5u (so a little less than half of 1.25)...I do think there's evidence his #s dip a little when on gaba and he'll be on gaba that morning to tame him :) but it seems like 0.5u should be safe even though he'll be on gaba and no food...thoughts?

I also called the office this morning and the staff said they'll check his BG when he arrives, during surgery, and after, primarily to see if he is too low. I think I'll make a note and tell the tech to ask they don't give him any insulin (even short acting) but of course to use dextrose if needed.
 
When you go to the vet does he drop or go up?
Well, pre-gaba usage, he would go up. On our car trips he goes up - though now only slightly since I give 50mg gaba.

His last vet visit was his dental consult on 01/07 and his numbers seemed to stay flat (he had 100mg gaba before the visit and 100mg pre-dose the night before). This time around, he's getting 100mg pre-dose and 200mg 2-hours before.
 
Hi Susanne, I hope Jax slides down safely.
I hope his dental goes well. I am going to ask my vet to see if she might want to
give him a little gaba before I bring him in for his dental since he was so stressed out when I took him last Thursday for his blood work.
Have a good day Susanne and kisses for Jax ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
give him a little gaba before I bring him in for his dental since he was so stressed out when I took him last Thursday for his blood work.
Might be worth a shot. Do you have gaba at home? you could see what he's like on it...you need to be able to watch him to make sure he doesn't hurt himself. See what your vet says on dose though - my vet was on board with it, just wish I had known about this years ago (Jax is feisty at the vet...may he's from Nj ;))
 
Might be worth a shot. Do you have gaba at home? you could see what he's like on it...you need to be able to watch him to make sure he doesn't hurt himself. See what your vet says on dose though - my vet was on board with it, just wish I had known about this years ago (Jax is feisty at the vet...may he's from Nj ;))
Hey Susanne, I know Tyler's dental is a ways off, I just emailed her and asked what
she thinks. I don't have any , I threw it a way years ago when she gave me some because I told her he was a feisty one and a pain in the butt
I would definitely watch him closely ,wouldn't want the big baby to hurt himself

Maybe Jax is from Jersey :p
I'll let you know what she says :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh these cats! Ugh...

Come on Jax, you can do better than that....leave the pukies for mama to clean up...

Have a great evening Susanne!
 
Back
Top