02/14/20 Thomas J. AMPS 369, +6.5 234, PMPS 347, +6 213

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/13/20
He's still doing well this morning with his testing, food, and injection. Not able to increase until Monday however. Completely forgot I already made plans on being out today and this weekend so I won't be home to monitor him all day. I can't cancel on people last minute either so he'll have to do with the same dose until then.
I also want to mention that my brother despite have type 2 diabetes himself is unfortunately not a very good support system in all this. He is helpful regarding already having some meters, testing supplies, and of course general knowledge of diabetes but not when it comes to being supportive of my testing and such.
I feel like he constantly undermines me and acts like everything I'm doing is wrong. That I shouldn't be testing so much and that I'm hurting him. Says that I'm overtesting and I'll scar his ears so they won't be able to move properly.
He likes to compare human reactions to insulin with cats' and information regarding Lantus being a bedtime insulin as reasons for not needing to test other than PS. Everything I say he questions, I just quote from the research I've done myself and then he'll say he doesn't remember reading that anywhere.
I'm pretty much just rambling and complaining but I want to stress the importance of having a support system to be able to help you or at least ease the stress of it all. He is a good brother in general and supports me in everything else at least.
Could anyone link me info to where it shows mid cycle testing being important for cats and also the importance of nightly testing so I can attempt to convince him?
Oh, also, Happy Valentine's Day! I bet our sugar kitties are extra sweet today. I hope everyone is able to have a great day!:p
 
Last edited:
Thomas is lucky to have you. I hope your brother will be open to learning. I'm not sure where it's written down anywhere, but mid cycle testing catches the low numbers since Lantus dosing is based on the nadir.

@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
Is there anything we have that can help her explain things to her brother?
 
The original study on the TR protocol may be helpful, The study indicates that people tested on average, 5 times a day.

You're welcome to show him Gabby's spreadsheet. I was a testaholic. Her ears were not scarred and they moved just fine! She didn't hate me. I'm not sure where he read Lantus is a "bedtime" insulin. That's nonsense. He needs to read the package insert.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
The original study on the TR protocol may be helpful, The study indicates that people tested on average, 5 times a day.

You're welcome to show him Gabby's spreadsheet. I was a testaholic. Her ears were not scarred and they moved just fine! She didn't hate me. I'm to sure where he read Lantus is a "bedtime" insulin. That's nonsense. He needs to read the package insert.
Thank you! I asked him to send me the articles but he must've forgotten because he hasn't shown me yet what he was reading.
 
Cats are not little humans. Their metabolisms are different. I once compared Neko’s spreadsheet to a friends, who uses Lantus herself. She was impressed, thought she should step up her own testing. LOL. Now she wears the Freestyle Libre. Not sure when she shoots her Lantus, but yet another friend shoots in the morning.
 
Cats are not little humans. Their metabolisms are different. I once compared Neko’s spreadsheet to a friends, who uses Lantus herself. She was impressed, thought she should step up her own testing. LOL. Now she wears the Freestyle Libre. Not sure when she shoots her Lantus, but yet another friend shoots in the morning.
I also told him cats' metabolisms are faster than humans. That didn't change his point of view in how Lantus worked unfortunately. That reminds me, I'm still considering testing out a continuous glucose monitor with Thomas J. My veterinarian was interested in trying it if I agreed, he's never used one before but heard good things from colleagues. Still not sure if it's worth the money, then again, perhaps in the long run it may be worthwhile if it works well.
 
Thomas J. fought me a bit for testing just now. Did it 2 hours later than normal since I stayed up to watch a movie with my boyfriend. I ran out of lancets for my lancer so I had to start free handing this evening with the other lancets.
They do a great job at super smooth poking but it's like it's too easy to go too far. He absolutely does not enjoy it, it's like it just goes too hard but not enough blood still. He attacked me a little. I felt bad that he hated it so much. He hadn't done that in a few days.
Still waiting for my new lancers and lancets to be shipped out that I ordered Monday, hopefully they come in next week. Heading to bed finally.
Have a good night everyone.
 
Back
Top