02/14/18 Texas Gizmo PMPS=180, +2=177, +4=145, +11=242

Status
Not open for further replies.
Idk if any of this helps or just adds to the quandaries.

Thank you for your input. Right now I just have to find a vet that will work with me. The one I am currently using is not working out and I have to find one that will work with me. I have to focus my $$ on that and the tests "required" right now and weigh what is the best way to move forward with the $$ that is going to be required (so it appears).
 
Good morning , Lizzie :bighug: Sounds like you have a plan and that is helpful . After 5 years of dealing with aging pets and their needs it always helped to do what you did ... write down all that was going on and then prioritize . Praying for you to 1. Find a good vet ASAP and 2. To have wisdom as to what to do and in what order for Gizmo :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
And also couldn’t agree more with @HWright from yesterday’s thread . A homeopathic vet is invaluable and I would not have made it without mine . She is a phone consult practice and is a homeopathically trained DVM ...best of both worlds in my book . She has talked me off many a ledge and helped me sort it out when multiple things going on for the past 20+ years .
 
And also couldn’t agree more with @HWright from yesterday’s thread . A homeopathic vet is invaluable and I would not have made it without mine . She is a phone consult practice and is a homeopathically trained DVM ...best of both worlds in my book . She has talked me off many a ledge and helped me sort it out when multiple things going on for the past 20+ years .
Same here and through many years and with many cats, some of them with multiple and quite serious and daunting issues, too. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
And also couldn’t agree more with @HWright from yesterday’s thread . A homeopathic vet is invaluable and I would not have made it without mine . She is a phone consult practice and is a homeopathically trained DVM ...best of both worlds in my book . She has talked me off many a ledge and helped me sort it out when multiple things going on for the past 20+ years .
I hope you find a vet that will work with you and get a good treatment plan for Gizmo. Sending prayers.
Same here and through many years and with many cats, some of them with multiple and quite serious and daunting issues, too.
Ok, I have contact Dr. Bradley via the website and completed all the forms. I will try and call this afternoon to schedule a phone consult. I also contacted another vet office and requested a consultation visit which is for next monday @ 10:20a. I don't have to take Gizmo, just his medical records/labs (that I have) so we will see how I like her/their office. This was my first choice when trying to find a place to take him last panc flare but they couldn't see him that Saturday and the other place could (I was need Cerenia ASAP).

Having a really rough day so THANK YOU:( :bighug:
 
I'm sorry I haven't been able to follow your posts these last 3 weeks. I see that it's very difficult for you and Gizmo now. You're doing all possible however, and that's hopeful. I've become fond of you and Gizmo, and I'm sending you both the best energy possible. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok, I have contact Dr. Bradley via the website and completed all the forms. I will try and call this afternoon to schedule a phone consult. I also contacted another vet office and requested a consultation visit which is for next monday @ 10:20a. I don't have to take Gizmo, just his medical records/labs (that I have) so we will see how I like her/their office. This was my first choice when trying to find a place to take him last panc flare but they couldn't see him that Saturday and the other place could (I was need Cerenia ASAP).

Having a really rough day so THANK YOU:( :bighug:
Lizzie , I am thrilled that you will be talking to Dr Pat ....she is full of knowledge and common sense ...VERY easy to talk to and so calming . :):bighug::)
Lizzie,
Hope your day going a little better than earlier. It all is very stressful (as I know too well), sorting out vets, tests, what might or might not be workable and or right for any given set of situations. That said and known, I hope that your consult will be both helpful and calming. I know that with my local and long distance alternative vets, I feel very much the way that Beth has described with hers. I hope you will find that an inclusion of alternative perspective (which is rooted in whole body the whole being) will be helpful and complement all that you are doing. I’m not articulating this very well. You’ll know, as in any situation, what feels right. Sending vines and hugs for deep breaths to get through this and every day.
❤️
 
Hi Lizzie. I am so excited that you are getting a phone consult with Beth's holistic vet. I am also glad to know that a phone consult is an option!

Hoping this gives you some answers and direction to go that helps to make you comfortable. Please keep us posted. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you all for your kind words. Brought me back to tears again. Just a lot of stress at home, at work and with Gizmo and I guess it just all hit me this morning.

We had a "reduction in force" at work and one of the ones laid off was my boss.

Then the vet office called and still "couldn't work me in" on Monday (holiday) and the blood draw has to be done Monday-Thursday to be sent in to TAMU and they were still insistent that he be dropped of and had to fast for 12 hours.

Then I called Diamondback about the RX for Cerenia and they informed me that they can no longer take non-original prescriptions. They must be original (signed) and snail mailed in - so I am back to stressing about getting the next box

And another forum (that shall not be named) sent me a nasty email saying I posted wrong and that they were going to put me in moderation (I have posted less than a dozen posts total) and that just put me over the edge. I have pretty thick skin and not a lot bothers me but it just upset me so much - it was an honest mistake.
 
You poor thing! This has been a horrid day for you.

I wish I had some Cerenia to send to you to hold you over until the RX gets to Diamondback and they mail you the script.

So, the new vet office can't see you for the consult but they will do the blood draw? If I am understanding this correctly, that is good but, I would want to know what their practice is for a patient of standing if they can see you the day the pet is sick and not 3 days later. It makes my blood boil to think that a practice can't or won't see an animal when they are sick and not eating, especially a cat. :banghead:

The other forum: what does put you in moderation mean? They sound nasty.

I hope your evening is going to be nicer and calmer. Sending you a big virtual hug! :bighug: Lots of them. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Is the anemia related to kidney failure? I ask, because at a certain stage , the kidneys can no longer produce erythropoietin. At such a time, epogen can be given (carefully and slowly) and the erythropoietin will "cure" the anemia. At Costco and Walmart's it cost around $180.00

Don't know. Blood test was on the treatment plan but regardless they were requiring me to bring him back in for the treatment. I have tried to explain to them multiple times that we need to do as much as possible during one visit due to the stress vet visits cause him but they just seem that they want(ed) to stretch this out and milk as much $$ as possible. Maybe that is not the case but it seemed that way. It also felt that they were holding my Cerenia rx hostage until I indicated I was making arrangements for the follow up visit. Again, this could all be in my head but something rubbed me wrong with the entire situation.
 
I'm so sorry, Lizzie, what a stressful mess this all is. Tons of hugs and vines and love to you and Gizmo. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

The new vet office can't work you in or the old one? Why on earth does he need to be dropped off and are they aware he is diabetic? I know some of that bloodwork is more reliable when they are fasted, but I also feel they have accommodations when diabetes is in the mix.

Is there another online pet pharmacy that will take a non snail mailed rx?

Sorry about the other forum. I love this forum and that the mods are level headed and not heavy handed. It sure can get annoying on a forum where everything is micromanaged, and triple that if you are there for medical reasons and not just for the fun of it!

I hope tomorrow is a much better day. :bighug:
 
I wish I had some Cerenia to send to you to hold you over until the RX gets to Diamondback and they mail you the script
The problem is I don' have an original. I have a scanned off that the vet sent me. Diamondback requires original or for the vet to call it in directly.

So, the new vet office can't see you for the consult but they will do the blood draw?
I called three different offices last Saturday. "JC" (practice) was the only office that could see him that day. My first choice was "C". "JC" is the one that won't work with me. "C" is who I have appt with to take in the labs and record to discuss them taking over his care. I want to make sure they are comfortable with his issues and can treat him and to see if we can work together. I can take him in if I want (and I may).

The other forum: what does put you in moderation mean? They sound nasty
It means that all my posts would go to a moderator before posting to make sure I am "following the rules". It is a strange format and I don't fully understand how it works and I accidentally posted wrong.
 
Why on earth does he need to be dropped off and are they aware he is diabetic? I know some of that bloodwork is more reliable when they are fasted, but I also feel they have accommodations when diabetes is in the mix.
I want to make sure that the vet is prepared for when I bring him in. He gets so stressed and thst causes panc issues, stomach issues, etc. The GI lab (per TAMU website) states 12 hour fasting UNLESS diabetic then only 6 hours (which is doable). I even sent them the link and a screen capture and they are still insisting.
Is there another online pet pharmacy that will take a non snail mailed rx?
Nope. Seems this is a new requirement for all now.
I hope tomorrow is a much better day
It will be :bighug::bighug::). Like I said, it all just to seem to cascade down on me today.

Im sorry you're having a rough go around Lizzie :bighug::bighug::bighug: sending lots of warm thoughts to you, your family and of course, Gizmo. :bighug:
Thank you:bighug:
 
Oh my, what a day of so many divergent and omg :banghead: stresses. Hope you can have some relax time for you.

I do have 2.5 cerenia 16 mg pills (2 in the sealed pouches and 1/2 pill resting in an opened pouch, left over from Sootie’s rx. The expiration on the box is 30 June 2019, lot #8063308. The box is kind of beat up bc of Spunky’s weird ideas about what is it or isn’t a toy, but the contents are intact. It’s not a lot but if it will help tide you over, just let me know and pm me your address, I’ll get in mail to you tomorrow.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
just let me know and pm me your address, I’ll get in mail to you tomorrow
Thank you. I will keep that in mind and let you know. I hate to take it if you might need it.

It doesn' make sense to me why this rx is being withheld, I mean I could kinda understand Bupe but a pet only rx for nausea? :banghead: And it is expensive! :banghead::banghead: what do they think I am doing with it? :banghead::banghead::banghead: :rolleyes: LOL.
 
This WILL get all sorted out and you WILL get a great vet and direction on care for sweet Gizmo
Yep. Just got to get out of this funk and move forward. Tomorrow is another day. I got a reply back from Dr. Pat and will be setting up payment info and appointment tomorrow. The receptionist I spoke to at the new, new vet office "C" was understanding and helpful so I am encouraged by that. "C" is owned by husband/wife vets and there are a total of 4 vets that all take care of cats (and dogs) and all graduated from Texas A&M.
 
Thank you. I will keep that in mind and let you know. I hate to take it if you might need it.

It doesn' make sense to me why this rx is being withheld, I mean I could kinda understand Bupe but a pet only rx for nausea? :banghead: And it is expensive! :banghead::banghead: what do they think I am doing with it? :banghead::banghead::banghead: :rolleyes: LOL.

I can get a script from reg vet for cerenia pills or get pre-doses injectable for home use from him if needed. So far the tribe has been ok without cerenia and I’d just as soon Sootie’s go to good use before they expire! If I put in mail tomorrow, you’ll surely have them by Saturday just in case you need them.

Re compounding pharmacies new(?) rules about paper scripts. I know that here in CT, vet or dr can call in, email or fax rx’s to a regular or compounding pharmacy unless the rx is a controlled substance. In that case patient or family has to pick up the original script at Dr office (or be there when rx is written) and that original script must be printed or written out on special paper and physically brought to the pharmacy.
Would compounding pharmacy put off-label meds in that category ? Idk. Would the compounding pharmacy be trying to be sure that they to protect themselves and be sure that weren’t working from a copy if the original had been filled as well? Idk.
Whatever the reasons, it sucks that the vets have been stonewalling (is that a nice word for it?) about issuing a legitimate rx.
 
Would the compounding pharmacy be trying to be sure that they to protect themselves and be sure that weren’t working from a copy if the original had been filled as well? Idk.
Not just compounding. All vet pharmacies that I checked; 1800petmeds, KV Supply, and a couple other I forget who.
 
Not just compounding. All vet pharmacies that I checked; 1800petmeds, KV Supply, and a couple other I forget who.
I just called Wedgwood pharmacy (they’re in NJ), who compounded a med for Azalea last year (via vet call-in). They are closed right now but I thought I’d ask what their protocol is re new scripts. If you’ve already talked to them, I’ll belay inquiry. I know they’re a good distance from you but they’re reliable and with good turnaround time.

I hope tomorrow will be a better day for you. There are good aspects of today amidst the mires: gizmo’s pm bg looking pretty darn good, you’ve made some positive headway in communication with “c” vet possibility and you’ve been in touch with Beth’s alternative Dvm, with a telephone consult in the works. I feel synergy at play here and I hope you can rest tonight with less weight of worry on your shoulders. After all, as Scarlett O’Hara said,”tomorrow is another day.”

Sleep well, healing and relax vines for you and Gizmo, hugs for you and scritches for Gizmo and for all in need.❤️❤️❤️❤️
 
Oh my ... what a nightmare of a day. Things must get better from here. Hoping you get some rest and relaxation tonight and that tomorrow brings a calmer day. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Don't know. Blood test was on the treatment plan but regardless they were requiring me to bring him back in for the treatment. I have tried to explain to them multiple times that we need to do as much as possible during one visit due to the stress vet visits cause him but they just seem that they want(ed) to stretch this out and milk as much $$ as possible. Maybe that is not the case but it seemed that way. It also felt that they were holding my Cerenia rx hostage until I indicated I was making arrangements for the follow up visit. Again, this could all be in my head but something rubbed me wrong with the entire situation.

you found a new vet? I usually trust my instincts, and they are usually right. Probably the same for you. If they don't listen frig them.
 
That is one that I had NOT called (or heard of till now). Please post when you find out. Thank you for doing that.


Thank you. I need sleep. That always helps.
Good morning Lizzie. Hope you got some good, refreshing sleep and that today will be a better day all around.

I did talk to Wedgewood Pharmacy this morning. Alas, they don’t do cerenia bc it’s readily available from other commercial pharmacy sources. Even if they did carry it, their protocol is the same as what you’ve described for other sources you’ve contacted: vet phones or faxes in (she didn’t mention email orders) the rx or pet owner mails the original script to them.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top