02-13 Small Kitty amps 313 pmps 245 +2 196 +4 169 +5.5 173 - Ketone Going down - Levemir Ahead

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Member Since 2016
Good morning all,

Yesterday some were concerned about the fact that I didn't post, everything was alright.
I usually post while breakfasting and as it was my birthday my father invited me for breakfast,
early. After that I went back to sleep as I skyped with Amanda quite late ;). Yep, we're
together now. Not at the same location but we are feeling each other like if it was the case.

In regards of Small Kitty he seem to be feeling quite well. Dehydration is being fixed, he got
a full bag of liquid since last Friday, some time it looked like he was pregnant :). Also, the
2 days of Antibiotic should have fixed infection, I hope.. Will test tonight.

Another move that will come soon is the switch to Levemir. As soon as Small Kitty is touching
blue he skywards to pink. Vet said it's because I don't have the right dose, might be the case ?

Hope there will be better with Lelvemir cause I don't like what's going on..

Good day everyone, thanks for your support, thank you Amanda for being there.

Last post

Sébastien
 
I'm glad everything was okay yesterday and hope you had a great birthday. I'm glad SK is doing better. It is tricky finding the right dose with a bouncy kitty. You usually have to go up in dose (which seems like the opposite thing to do) to get them to flatten out. I hope the switch to Levemir helps.
 
Good Morning Sebastien and glad to see you . Here's hoping that the Levemir will be the ticket for SK.

Hope you had a nice BD breakfast with your Dad and Happy Belated BD :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You usually have to go up in dose (which seems like the opposite thing to do) to get them to flatten out.

Humm.. Interesting. The veterinarian was telling the opposite but it's right that Small Kitty is kind of
a low dose for a pink / red expert. Is the objective to rush the system up so it starts to feel released
of some hard work ?
.
 
Humm.. Interesting. The veterinarian was telling the opposite but it's right that Small Kitty is kind of
a low dose for a pink / red expert. Is the objective to rush the system up so it starts to feel released
of some hard work ?
The idea is the higher dose will push the cat back down to lower (normal) numbers more of the time and give the cat's body time to get used to those numbers. Then the bouncing should lessen and hopefully stop. The more time the cat can spend in lower numbers, the more his body gets used to them and then he hopefully won't bounce.
 
A lot of veterinarians will tell people to lower the dose to get the cat to flatten out because their patients don't home test and they don't want them in lower numbers.
 
Usually if the kitty is not consistently seeing green they bounce more. I think SK needs and increase but might hold off until you make the switch to Levemir depending on how soon you are planning that. Do hope he's feeling better and Happy Belated Birthday!
 
Thanks for that piece of information !

Are the bounces proportional to the dose the system is not used to :

Small Kitty is blue with the current then turn into pink.
Could an increase dose (resulting in a lower then blue nadir) bring reds and black ?

Sorry to burst you with question, it's to interesting.
.
 
Thanks for that piece of information !

Are the bounces proportional to the dose the system is not used to :

Small Kitty is blue with the current then turn into pink.
Could an increase dose (resulting in a lower then blue nadir) bring reds and black ?

Sorry to burst you with question, it's to interesting.
.

I'm not sure I can technically answer your question or not. Also, have to clarify since you are using AT and not a human meter was the protocol was written with. Although green is what the protocol mostly calls for, on AT normal numbers are believed to be 68-140ish. So low blues are actually green.

The more the kitty spends time in those normal numbers, and if that requires an increase that's what is needed. Some kitties never stop bouncing so you can only do what you can do and have to continue adjusting the dose based on the nadir and not how high SK bounces. He could benefit from TR but with your schedule it's not something you've been able to do so you're doing the best you can.

Please post for dosing advise when you switch to Levemir and plan to do so when you can monitor closing for the first 24 hours minimum. Some kitties have a marked response with the switch and of course, some don't.
 
Please post for dosing advise when you switch to Levemir
I will, thanks for your help. What I mostly need as information is the time it takes (if it can be defined) for
a new type of insulin to take over the place of the previous one. I will make a post with question mark later
this week to confirm that 1 or 2 days will give time for Lantus to leave room to Levemir to have a 24h
curve next week-end mostly consisting of Levemir effect.
.
 
What I mostly need as information is the time it takes (if it can be defined) for a new type of insulin to take over the place of the previous one.
As the Lantus depot goes down, the Levemir depot will be building. You usually have a good idea how the Lev dose is going to do after 3 days. But every kitty reacts differently and as Karen said, it's good to do the switch when you have 24 hours you can monitor more closely.

Very nice cycle tonight SK. :cool: And great news on the ketones. :joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top