02/13 Bailey PMPS HI +3 320- any thoughts??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

So I am still having fun (not ) trying to regulate Bailey. Saw another HI tonight and I am starting to recognise the signs when he is (eating less the day before then squinty eyes)

I am wondering about a dose increase. Now I know he dropped to 40 (and would have gone lower) on this dose but the low also coincided with when he got sub Q fluids. We gave him 150ml that morning and he dropped continually for most of the day as a result. But we haven't seen green since.
Then next time we gave him fluids (yesterday) we gave him a little less and he dropped to 115 which wasn't as bad.

Plus I think this HI is also part of a bounce.

So i worry if I increase dose that the fluids will take him too low. But I also worry that the rest of the time he is too high. Plus if I increase the dose will the bounce get worse?

Thoughts?
 
Hard to say. If not for that 41 I would say sure, go for an increase if you're going to be around to monitor. But that 41 . . . although if you think it was fluids related . . . I'm looking at your comments section and it looks like he's still getting fluids, but no more plummeting from them. Do you think that's right? It looks like mostly you're doing every couple of days, but maybe you just went 6 days between fluids? I've wondered if the times that fluids cause a cat to go lower is because the cat is dehydrated, and the relief of it causes the BGs to drop. I don't KNOW that, but have wondered. You might try giving him less quantity but more often and see if that makes a difference in his blood sugar.

Mostly it looks as though Bailey is bouncing from hitting blue numbers. If you think that's the case also, you could probably go ahead and increase and just monitor carefully.
 
I wondered that too. How often can I have fluids to a cat that doesn't have kidney problems? His heart is ok we think.. Is there any risk giving it to him say every second day?
 
He was hospitalized with bad dehydration three weeks ago.. Long story. Read my last few posts.. And after that vet recommended fluids twice a week. If we don't give them he gets high and stops eating

. I wonder if he is still dehydrated, don't know if the vets IV fluids completely topped him up if you know what I mean.

We have a vet appointment Wednesday and will do blood work to see..
 
are you also adding water to his food?

If the vet said you can give them twice a week, then I'd either go with that or do that total amount (ie, if he said you could give 100ml twice a week = 200ml/week) or possibly give 1/2 as much every other day, so 50ml/every other day. Does that make sense? Fluids don't always affect blood sugar - seems like they do sometimes but not other times. I'm just thinking that he needs enough insulin to bring down some of those higher numbers, and maybe if you give a smaller quantity of fluids more often they will have less impact on his blood sugar.
 
Are you checking him for dehydration using the scruff test and/or the gum test? (You may already know these, but just in case, the following.)

For the scruff test, which may identify moderate to severe dehydration, you gently pull up the skin at the scruff and release. If it snaps right back, he's doing pretty well. If it stays pulled up and only slowly returns to normal position, he is moderately to severely dehydrated.

For the gum test, which may identify milder levels of dehydration, you lift the lip and gently press on the gums. When you remove your finger, if the gums pink right back up, and the mouth doesn't feel sticky, he probably isn't dehydrated. If it takes a while for the gums to pink up and/or the mouth seems sticky/tacky, he is somewhat dehydrated.
 
His scruff slowly (few seconds) goes down but the vet said since he is an old cat thats probably not a good measure. However the mouth is sticky (compared to my other cats). The gums aren't that pink to start with but they pink back up fast. Gave him 100ml this morning and am looking forward to the vet on Wednesday...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top