02/11 Domino AMPS 112, Puff AMPS 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Domino and Puff

Member Since 2009
Domino -- Back to being the "bouncing boy"! I moved his insulin back up to 2 units on 2/9 because we were not seeing any green at 1.75 and now this am he gives me a 112 for AMPS! I can only wonder where he went last night. He did have access to food all night, so hopefully he did not go too low. He seems fine this morning, he ate well and was being his usual self. Had to take him back to the vet's today for another allergy shot, so I have asked them to check his BG today and make sure he is not going too low. Should I keep the 2.0 or go back to 1.75?

Puff -- Puff is just being Puff! He is a big orange ball of purrs. Eats really well (and often if allowed) and loves to be cuddled. Upped his dose to 2.5 last night in an effort to try and bring him out of the pinks and yellows. No luck yet, but will keep trying.


yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5842
 
Domino and Puff said:
Domino -- Back to being the "bouncing boy"! I moved his insulin back up to 2 units on 2/9 because we were not seeing any green at 1.75 and now this am he gives me a 112 for AMPS! I can only wonder where he went last night. He did have access to food all night, so hopefully he did not go too low. He seems fine this morning, he ate well and was being his usual self. Had to take him back to the vet's today for another allergy shot, so I have asked them to check his BG today and make sure he is not going too low. Should I keep the 2.0 or go back to 1.75?

Puff -- Puff is just being Puff! He is a big orange ball of purrs. Eats really well (and often if allowed) and loves to be cuddled. Upped his dose to 2.5 last night in an effort to try and bring him out of the pinks and yellows. No luck yet, but will keep trying.


yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5842


Domino: without additional spotchecks, there's no way to know if he has earned a decrease,...the weekend is coming up, maybe a good time to fill in those very important extra checks. Could be very good.
Hope u can catch at least one yourself this morning, this is a good blue for AMPS.
 
Ronnie:

Thanks for your reply -- I can always count on hearing from you and I appreciate it!
I did manage to get a check before I dropped Domino off at the vet's at approximately +1 -- he was at 91 (still falling). I know that is a good number, but it scares me a little because I will not be there to check on him. I alerted the vet's to check him to make sure he doesn't go too low, and I do trust them, just not as much as I trust myself. Maybe he will have a few good spot checks today.
 
Okay, I guess I was being a worry wart -- so I called the vet to check and see if they had tested Domino. The vet called me back and said they tested at +3 and he was at 88. He was worried that this was too low of a number for this early in the cycle, so he gave him some Nutrical (sugar). I know he did not need sugar yet, but they are not used to Lantus at all. I had to convince the vet to let me start Lantus -- he's never used it and says he has never had anyone willing to home test. They have never seen anyone like me! Oh well, better a little high than too low I guess. He said they would keep an eye on him and let me know if anything changed. Guess I'll quit worrying for now.
 
Ok two things real fast..
1. It's possible he did not drop down and come back up to 112 after the numbers he's been in.. but that he just drifted down late in cycle.

2. he's at the vet, so while we normally don't give sugar, it was a smart thing to do on the part of your vet. can't remember if it was you who said the vet doesn't bother your cat, but stress can make cats go the other way and drop like stones.. happens to my cat and several other cats on the board. This is a good thing, today's numbers are a wash except for that AMPS, which is niiiiiice! Maintain your dose, you have gotten no nadirs low enough to reduce quite yet. You can reduce tonight (only tonight) if he goes low at the vet, just to let things settle down. Back to regular programming in the morning.

Good on ya for Puff's increase, can't wait to see things improving for him.
 
Thanks Carolyn!

Yes, it was Domino who seems to have no vet stress. As you said, I have no way of knowing if he was lower in the night or was at his lowest this morning (why do we have to sleep?). I'll see what other numbers the vet gives me today (although I'll pay a lot more for their numbers than if I was doing them myself). I will give tonight's dose based on those numbers and where he is at shot time and then go back to 2 units in the morning.

Thanks again -- it always helps to have other opinions and advice!
 
I was gonna tell you to skip paying for those numbers, but I have a feeling it's a good thing you got them. Sugar doesn't last a long time. Next time he's this low at AMPS and going to the vet, might think about if you want to try a BCS (1/2) or flat out skipped dose, since we now know vet stress reduces his bg's. My Leo dropped from a 250something AMPS to 27 at the vet one day.. at +3.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top