02.10 Lily PMPS 142 +2 52 +3 56 +4 47 +12 83 +13 142 +1476

Elizabeth20

Member Since 2020
Hi

Previous

Just increased Lil's dose yesterday morning. She had a low night. I struggled to get her to come back up, managed from 2.8 to 3.1 with HC food but then she dropped again and I resorted to a mix of HC and honey with her normal food.

She's fine this morning but I've never shot at 76 before, and she often has an early nadir as long as she's not bouncing. She's now 45 mins post normal shot time, have fed and she hasn't had a bump. Should I shave her dose or just go ahead and keep a close eye? I gave her three Lick-e-Lix over an hour or so yesterday with little effect except to keep her steady so I'm worried about managing her. Honey works though and I can mix it with food and freeze dried tuna and she will always eat that.

Thanks
 
You have earned a reduction in dose down to 1.25 with that 47.
When you get a lower than normal Preshot like you did this morning with the 76, it is best to stall, dont feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising, and post and ask for help.
Now that you have fed Lily the BG of 83 is food influenced. I am unable to stay with you this cycle.
As long as you have no ketones in the pictures I would skip the shot.
Shoot as normal PMPS with the new dose of 1.25 U
 
Last edited:
Thank you Bron. Half an hour after breakfast she was still low but I wasn't sure what too low was and just went on autopilot ready to feed and shoot. Nearly shot anyway but checking figures against past low shots had a panic.

She'll be fine today, thank you for coming back to me so quickly. Will reduce dose this evening.
 
She started coming up quite fast at +2 so I gave 1iu then to ride the excess left from the depot - I know she will have had a later nadir but I wanted the stability of numbers for her. I'm happy with the cycle she had today. Also very happy that she doesn't seem to have bounced (though there's still time!). 1.25iu given this evening. Will keep a close eye from +1 to +3 and leave food down.
 
Can you update the subject line to show the latest status and numbers? Looks like your question was answered.

The shot this morning was actually at +14, not +2. The way you'd enter data on the AMPS cell is 76@+12; whatever other data you had, then 142@+14. Otherwise your test times are out two hours related to where they should be with the shot. Your shot tonight should have been 12 hours after your shot this morning. Shooting two hours early is not recommended with her in such numbers. It can act like an increase.
 
Ok I can see how that would look confusing. I'll get it all fixed. I gave her her shot tonight 11 hours after which I appreciate is still a slight increase, hence the close monitoring.
 
Back
Top