02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 PMPS 278

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
This is one of Whiskers lowest AMPS. I was just stunned when I checked her BG. I have to work today and can not be home to monitor her. Do I shoot our regular dose of 2.5 units or a lower dose or not at all?

With all thats going on I'm really concerned and overwhelmed. I did not sleep much last night. I have to call the IM vet, I think I'm going to ask if we can wait a few days to start any other meds, to try to get more information? I'm not sure if he will think otherwise.
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

i don't know if you are still there....

i'll bump you as i don't know the answer to it...sorry....
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

Couldn't wait anymore. Gave 2 units instead of 2.5. Talked to our regular vet, he said give 1. Talked to The IM vet he said give 2 units.

The IM vet said the other meds mentioned at this site have been used in dogs, and cats have not responded well to them. http://www.marvistavet.com/html/adrenal_treatment.html.
Trilostane is the best choice for Whiskers (It is also used for dogs). It started out being used in Pituitary cushings, but is also used now in adrenal cushings. We need to control her cortisone output, in order to get her as healthy as possible. This is the main focus right now. I have to trust him. I am going to trust him. I will do my research as well, but after talking to him just now, I feel he really knows what he is doing, this is so rare in cats, and he is an expert IM vet and has the resources needed to get the medical information we need. I need to hurry now to get over to the U of M for the medication Trilostane, I want to keep Whiskers feeling as well as possible.

I just checked her BG one hour after food and she is still at 175. gave to 2units of lantus. I have to pray now I am doing the right things. I'm really scared. nailbite_smile .
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

how long til you leave now?

trust the vet...he knows....and start treatment as soon as you can
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

Feeling that the vet is knowledgeable and can answer your questions nondefensively is huge!

I'm presuming you left food out.
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

Based on how you describe the vet talking to you, I think you are very correct to trust him and his treatment plan. The fact that he talked through his rationale is very good thing, and I think he clearly has as good a handle on Whiskers' condition as you could hope any vet would have. I'm sure Whiskers will be fine on the dose you gave, and I hope you are having a good day.
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

Cheryl, I know you are at work now but I am sure you have done the right thing. Whenever I have to leave Harley with a lower b than I would like, I put him in the bedroom with a litter pan, some food, and shut the door. That way, I know he will be the only one eating the food. Hang in there, you did the right thing.

Pattie
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

Hi,

I'm at work now, was able to pick up Trilostane and make it to work on time.

DH will be home today (I forgot, he has rotating days off and it is hard to keep track of), I am Whiskers primary caregiver, but he know what to do, he will keep an eye on her. (sigh of relief).

I feel a little calmer, sometimes having a routine helps.

Thank you all for your continued support. I'm afraid we are going to need it in the months to come.

Keeping Claudia & Rocket, and all others in need in our thoughts and Prayers.
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

I'm glad you got the meds so quickly. I hope they really help Whiskers improve. Sending you and Whiskers prayers and healing energies.
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

Cheryl, you are very lucky to have a knowledgeable vet and you should trust him. I hope that all will go well with the new medicine and that you will feel more and more comfortable with your plan of action for Whiskers. Thinking of you and sending a beautiful bouquet of healing vines to Whiskers.

Have a good evening,

Many hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

You and Whiskers are always in out thoughts Cheryl.

I am glad that you trust your IM vet - it is so huge to be able to feel that way, have confidence in his course of treatment. I hope all goes well with the new medicine.

have a great night - I hope you can relax, unwind some. and sleep.
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

sending hugs to you and our little girl!

CuteKittyHug.jpg
 
Re: 02/09 Whiskers AMPS 175 Do I Shoot?

Celi, what a cute picture.

Thank you everyone. I really wish with all my heart that Whiskers can be ok....

Hoping you all have a good night.
 
Good Evening,

Miss Witty's PMPS BG was 278 so we went back to our regular dose of 2.5 units tonight. We started the trilostane 10mg bid with food, to treat her cushings disease tonight as well. I have several papers from the IM vet indicating our treatment plan, how do I scan and add them to google docs?
So much to do now. I'll post on tech too.

Have a good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top