02/09 Chaos PMPS 330 +4 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=36297

Good morning, everyone! ~O) ~O) ~O)

Yesterday was quite a day! It took a lot of phone calls and frustration but I will be picking up Lantus pens for Chaos later on today. Of course I could not get them for the AM shot- too early- but he will have nice FRESH insulin for his PM shot tonight. :mrgreen: I did notice that the Lantus site did not advertise cartridges so I figured they were being discontinued. After watching the video on the solostar pen, I feel comfortable working with it. Unfortunately we don't have a Costco nearby, but purchasing the whole box of 5 pens should have me set for almost a year. Spending the whole $225 doesn't seem so bad if I look at it that way.

WCR: NO snooze button today! Much insistent meowing and pawing at the bedroom door this morning. He purred all the way through his tests this AM, even the pokes. I had to do two tests; the first one gave me an error message, but he was a good sport.

So here's the question. I am worried that since his old insulin has apparently lost its potency, 1.25u of fresh insulin will be too much for him. Do I reduce the dose a bit to be safe? What's the best thing to do?

Since I still can't attach pics, here's a link to last weekend's pansy cake for everyone who asked:
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=4 ... 0749552124
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, dose question

that's a lovely cake, you did a great job!

No answers with Chaos' dose question, someone will come along soon I hope.

Have a wonderful day
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, dose question

Sienne, it's OLD. Opened in early September. The fact that insulin loses its potency is one of the things my vet did not tell me. I had no idea until I landed here.
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, dose question

Good morning guys! Your cake looks great! So glad you are getting some new pens for chaos ... I know that when mochas numbers start going up and we start a new pen we don't reduce her dose at that point. We just watch them and if she earns the decrease then we do it. Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, dose question

LOVE the cake! You are talented.

Can't help with dosing but I'll be watching to see what your advice is.

Looks like Chaos has realized the bean is not sleeping with him finally :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, dose question

Just so I put it out there, if you read the Tilly Protocol, the members of the German Lantus forum routinely get 6 months or more from their Lantus. You are seeing some movement with your insulin but it looks like the numbers are uneven. I've seen a similar pattern with Gabby when her insulin was either old or it was mishandled at the pharmacy.

Some people do, in fact reduce the dose. I've never done that. Keep in mind that if, in fact, your insulin is only partially working, you will still need to refill the shed with the good stuff. As long as you monitor and are prepared (i.e., have strips and HC food in the house), if Chaos responds dramatically to the new insulin you will be able to manage the numbers and Chaos will earn a dose reduction.
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, dose question

Good luck with your new pens and wow on lasting a entire year wish my set of 5 would do that but you are using much less insulin then we ever have we are on second set of lantus pens and have used 2 vials( on the vials never empty just had to discard after the insulin quit working) and not to mention the lev we tried can you see me sighing over here......... oh well he is my boy my credit card has suffered for sure hope Chaos has a great day today and gets down from the pink floor
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, dose question

Good luck with the pens! I know you will like them. It should help too with how often you have to buy new - so much more economical.

Good luck with the dose tonight and the pen. It should be OK - as long as you can monitor, like Sienne said. FWIW - it's is what I'd do.

very nice cake, btw!

Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, +6 247, dose question

Ok, I have been all over running errands for Chaos, but I am all done now. First, I hit mom's to pick up Chaos's money, cuddle her papillon, Sweeney, and print out my Lantus coupon and some PDFs I made of HC, MC, and LC foods so I have nice, neat lists to take to the store. Then off to get the insulin. The coupon worked, Chaos got a $25 discount! ...then home, to get insulin into the fridge, test and feed Chaos and Lu. then to Wal-Mart to get extra test strips, and I have to put my opinion in here. If you are not smart enough to use the self-checkout, then DON'T! :twisted: So after that trial, where I'm sure I waited so long my roots started growing out (Violet has been a gray girl since age 17!), off to PetSmart to get all the kitty fuds. All done, wheeeeeeee! People stared at my el Camino all the way. :lol:

SO- I am very well prepared now! I have LC, MC and HC fuds, lotsa strips, fresh insulin, and one sweet, willing kitty participant. cat_pet_icon I think I'm going to stick with his current 1.25u dosage and keep an eye on him. Sienne has a point about the shed, and if by chance his old insulin was working, I wouldn't want to reduce and have him shoot up to the icky floors. Sound like a good plan?

Thanks for the compliments on the cake, everyone. The recipient was thrilled, which was what I was going for. The same client has ordered a Valentine's day cake, yay!!
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, +6 247, dose question

Lots of smiles and chuckles from your condo today! Smiles for the cake... beautiful!! Chuckles for the self-checkout commentary... I am soooooo with you! Fingers and paws crossed for some blues and greens on the new insulin! I'm going to wait a bit to start my pens... My vial is not quite a month old, so I'd like to get out of it what I can. I'll just start keeping an eye out for any wonkiness!

Hope you're recovering from the self-checkout and having a good day! :)
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, +6 247, dose question

Violet and Chaos said:
Ok, I have been all over running errands for Chaos, but I am all done now. First, I hit mom's to pick up Chaos's money, cuddle her papillon, Sweeney, and print out my Lantus coupon and some PDFs I made of HC, MC, and LC foods so I have nice, neat lists to take to the store. Then off to get the insulin. The coupon worked, Chaos got a $25 discount! ...then home, to get insulin into the fridge, test and feed Chaos and Lu. then to Wal-Mart to get extra test strips, and I have to put my opinion in here. If you are not smart enough to use the self-checkout, then DON'T! :twisted: So after that trial, where I'm sure I waited so long my roots started growing out (Violet has been a gray girl since age 17!), off to PetSmart to get all the kitty fuds. All done, wheeeeeeee! People stared at my el Camino all the way. :lol:

SO- I am very well prepared now! I have LC, MC and HC fuds, lotsa strips, fresh insulin, and one sweet, willing kitty participant. cat_pet_icon I think I'm going to stick with his current 1.25u dosage and keep an eye on him. Sienne has a point about the shed, and if by chance his old insulin was working, I wouldn't want to reduce and have him shoot up to the icky floors. Sound like a good plan?

Thanks for the compliments on the cake, everyone. The recipient was thrilled, which was what I was going for. The same client has ordered a Valentine's day cake, yay!!

Oh I do not feel so bad now I started going gray at 21 :lol: sounds like you had a super busy day
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, +6 247, PMPS 330 dose question

OK, It's go time! Coming in with a PMPS of 330, I am not too worried even if Chaos's new insulin is more potent. He has plenty of room to come down, don't you think? I'll be getting +3 and seeing where to go from there. So, 1.25u fresh insulin for Chaos tonight as usual. Authority chicken formula being consumed with gusto as I type.

He has had a nice day, I think...aside from the brushing.. I'm trying to get him more used to it. Spring is coming, and with it, a cat hair epidemic unlike any other. Chaos has a brilliant beautiful white coat, but it's composed of layer upon layer of undercoats, it seems. It's so hard to find the bottom! So I figure if I got him to put up with testing, I can get him to put up with brushing. He's always hated it, but maybe we'll change that. FD chicken was given after a (mostly) successful brushing this afternoon.

I will post a +3 as soon as I get it. Thank you all for the helpful advice, hand holding, and just plain company through this process! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, +6 247, PMPS 330 dose question

Sounds like a typical day -strips,food, hc, lc mc, insulin,brushing cats, testing cats- shooting cats-using new pen...
Hey you know what this means--You are a Charter member of Lantus Land!!!!!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
The sugar dance begins the day you get here--
NOW::: What a Gorgeous cake!!! You are soooo talented!--and you made violets on the cake too :-D :-D

Ok Chaos, we are all waiting to see where Chaos goes--Go Boy GO!! Hugs from us!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, +6 247, PMPS 330 dose question

What a terrific day you had! A real "cat" day!! Good luck with the new pens, with the new foods, the strips, etc. etc. Did you buy Chaos a new toy? Have a good evening and let's see how the fresh insulin works.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 02/09 Chaos AMPS 326, +6 247, PMPS 330 dose question

Violet -- if your question has been answered, could you edit it out of your subject line?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top