? 02/09/2020 Lionel PMPS 24.7

Frank&Lionel

Member Since 2019
Was advised to bring Lionel down to 1 unit but I am now getting way higher numbers then before, I had done a curve last week but I think the 2 units were still in his depot, he had neuropathy and it was getting a lot better, with these high numbers I’m worried it’s gonna come back, I could do a curve Thursday when I’m off but I think it’s evident with his AMPS and PMPS he isn’t going very low. I will try to test more during the day
 
Hi. We’re you advised here to go from 2 units to 1 unit? The only condo I found on this forum for you was Wednesday and you were already at one unit. It’s best to link your last condo to the new one. We usually move in .25 increments so I think it’s very likely he needs more insulin . However you don’t have any mid cycle tests which makes it hard to assess. When can you do another curve? Since you dropped a whole unit I think you could increase to 1.25 but if following SLGS you need to do a curve.
 
Yeah he was actually at 3 units and then took away high carb kibble, so I started home testing which was 2 weeks ago, was advised to go back to 1 unit and then move my way up, I smartened up with the home testing after getting a 3.3 in the am, but he did go to the vet last week and got a 14 day antibiotic, I ll try to get a few during the day test the next couple of days and see about lifting it to 1.5 or something.
 
What type of infection does he have? That can definitely raise his bg. I definitely would not go back up by .5 given that information. I’d also get a before bed test as well.
 
Not sure how to link convos but yeah I was advised by a few people on here to start back at 1 unit, although my vet told to do 2 units, I ll just do a curve Thursday when I’m off, unfortunately I am out of town Friday so he ll miss 2 shots, cause my cat sitter can’t home test, such bad timing, I’m suppose to have him regulated by March 5th to have a full dental extraction because he has stomatitis too.
 
Is Lionel on all low carb wet or raw now?

You did see a 101 on the 1 unit dose. We determine how to change the dose based on the lows, not the highs, which are often the preshot values. I would stay at this dose until you can get some more data. Is it possible to get a test before bed? You are missing half your data. Many cats go lower at night, hence the need to grab some night time spot checks to see if he’s going lower then.

A favour to ask on behalf of others. The convention here is to report BG values in the US mg/dl numbers. I understand the World values, but a lot of people here who give dose suggestions do not.
 
Is Lionel on all low carb wet or raw now?

You did see a 101 on the 1 unit dose. We determine how to change the dose based on the lows, not the highs, which are often the preshot values. I would stay at this dose until you can get some more data. Is it possible to get a test before bed? You are missing half your data. Many cats go lower at night, hence the need to grab some night time spot checks to see if he’s going lower then.

A favour to ask on behalf of others. The convention here is to report BG values in the US mg/dl numbers. I understand the World values, but a lot of people here who give dose suggestions do not.
Morning! Yes Lionel is now on low carb wet only! I ll try to get some post PM tests done on him, it’s just we are at 10/10 and I’m usually in bed by midnight, I live in the bush and have been running low on strips lol I m using a alphatrak 2 from my vet but the strips r crazy expensive so I’m going into town today to buy a human meter, Chris from this group had me my SS so I’m not sure about what went wrong there, but if I have a new meter guess I ll need a new SS anyways ‍♀️
 
There’s nothing wrong with your spreadsheet. If you click on U.S tab at the bottom you will see the numbers to report. I’m glad you are switching to a human meter as you will save lots to f money. Even a test at 10 might show if he’s going to have an active cycle. In that case you could set an alarm for a +5-7 test if he’s already headed down. Likewise a test at +11 in the morning might give us clues.
 
Just popping in to say wow, Lionel is a real beauty, isn't he? :cat: :cat: :cat:

So glad the testing seems to be going a bit more smoothly these days! Or, at least, you are getting some more tests in... how is he feeling about the whole thing?

Here's a thread from Feline Health where some of the previous dosing discussion happened (fair warning, it's a bit long...:) ):
Lionel-3units Lantus
 
You don’t need a new spreadsheet if you switch to a human meter. Just leave a blank line between when you stop using the AT and start using the human meter. We can get someone to help with other changes, basically the lime green shows up at below 68 on the AT and below 50 on the human meter,
 
Back
Top