? 02.08 Lily AMPS 196 +3 196 +6 212 Increase?

Elizabeth20

Member Since 2020
Hi

Previous

After a couple of bounces since her last increase Lily has had a decent AMPS read but then stubborn numbers today. I think the AM read is likely off the bat of lower overnight numbers but not so low that she's had her usual bounce. I feel like I don't want to increase again because she's still settling but that following TR would dictate an increase. I'm also worried that increasing now will require me getting up and staying up in the night when she dips to control her with food and I can't do that and go to work.

Is it a no-brainer and I just have to cope with no sleep or is it justifiable to keep her on the current dose and wait for her to settle?

Thanks

Liz
 
Liz

First, can you please put your subject line in the correct format as indicated in our posting guidelines? We’d appreciate it. That allows us to see the daily BGs and we might see something in them that you wouldn’t.

She has room for an increase to 1.5u. She’s had enough cycles at this dose and she’s not churning out long cycles of blue numbers...she’s just dipping her toes in and heading back up. It’s difficult to say whether you will have to get up to test but possibly. The hope is always that a member won’t have to stay up all night. If you can rest between tests and just get her to where she’s flat, you can leave food in an auto feeder.

I’d also like to ask if you could please put the SS tabs back in the default order. The US tab should be to the far left, then the World tab, then the lab tab, followed by any others you need. That order will then open to the US tab whenever we click on the signature link. That saves time for us when we are helping so many people. Thank you.

Good luck with the increase...you might want to start it during at AMPS tomorrow just in case she responds quickly.
 
I'll give it a go. I'm tempted to try a 0.12iu increase but really I think I'm just a bit demoralised that she earned a decrease on the same dose before. In retrospect I probably just didn't manage the lows on that dose very well. Can the lows be caused by new dose wonkiness and resolve as they settle on a dose?
 
I'll give it a go. I'm tempted to try a 0.12iu increase but really I think I'm just a bit demoralised that she earned a decrease on the same dose before. In retrospect I probably just didn't manage the lows on that dose very well. Can the lows be caused by new dose wonkiness and resolve as they settle on a dose?
I wouldn’t just fatten the dose by 0.12u. For newly diagnosed cats or cats that are not at a tiny dose and we just need to tweak it a smidge, fattening is not a good option.

New Dose Wonkiness only causes the BG to be elevated the first few cycles. It never causes low numbers. What she is doing is very common and we often find that cats will go up and down around a dose. They might look ok on it, earn a reduction, fail the reduction, go back up, sometimes need a little more, etc etc.

I tell everyone...don’t get attached to a dose. She needs what she needs. :) Sometimes, they just need an increase for a couple cycles...it just gives them a kick in the pants and they earn a reduction and then do better. But....only Lily knows and she’s not telling right now.
 
Back
Top