? 02/08/20 Thomas J. AMPS 320, PMPS 304, +4 297 Vitamin/Supplement Recommendations?

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
02/07/20
Didn't do too horrible today. He just wanted to eat all of the chicken. Didn't like me touching his ears, kept pushing my hands away.
Poked his left ear twice but not enough blood on it yet again. His right ear (bad ear, still healing) I got blood after 1 poke thankfully. Need to figure out how to get his left ear bleeding well again. I don't like having to poke him more than twice.
He was a pretty good boy. He eats his food well still and doesn't pay any attention to his injections.
I hope everyone and their fur babies have a great weekend.:)
 
Thomas J. is still lethargic and not playing or being active, seems like he's still suffering from carb flu since his food switch. Any vitamin or supplement recommendations? Anything that may help with energy and joint health, something like that. He still has a slight limp from time to time, I can't tell which leg(s) it is.
He used to play all the time until around the last 3 weeks, now he just sleeps all day and nothing else really. I've been trying to get him to play a bit until he gets tired of it, even if it's just a couple minutes a day.
 
Morning,

It's only been about 3 weeks or so since diagnosis, right? Give him some time to let his body regulate. As for joint health, there are definitely things out there, but I'd *heard* that Cosequin may raise the glucose some? Hopefully somebody will have more info on that.

There is a shot that helped my previous guy. Here in Canada the one I'd used is called Cartrophen. One shot a week for a month, then once a month (if needed) for maintenance.

Gotta get ready for work . . . give Thomas a skritch from us!

Darcy and Jonesy
 
I got his PMPS is one poke, plenty enough blood. He still pushed my hands away when I went to touch his ears but other than that he was a very good boy. Changed my meter's batteries so hopefully I won't have to worry about it randomly resetting in the middle of countdown anymore.
 
Morning,

It's only been about 3 weeks or so since diagnosis, right? Give him some time to let his body regulate. As for joint health, there are definitely things out there, but I'd *heard* that Cosequin may raise the glucose some? Hopefully somebody will have more info on that.

There is a shot that helped my previous guy. Here in Canada the one I'd used is called Cartrophen. One shot a week for a month, then once a month (if needed) for maintenance.

Gotta get ready for work . . . give Thomas a skritch from us!

Darcy and Jonesy
I agree he needs more time to adjust. I just hate seeing him not being himself. I thought some supplements in general might be good for his health since he's a senior kitty.
 
He's probably lethargic because his body is trying to adjust to everything. I think it's time for a dose increase to 0.75 units. Any chance you can get some day time test tomorrow to see how low this dose is taking him? Then you'll have a better idea of if you need to increase.
 
He's probably lethargic because his body is trying to adjust to everything. I think it's time for a dose increase to 0.75 units. Any chance you can get some day time test tomorrow to see how low this dose is taking him? Then you'll have a better idea of if you need to increase.
I agree. I still haven't had a chance to speak with my vet about the dosing method I'm using yet though. Gonna try to call Monday and leave a message for him to get back to me about it, I think he wanted a checkup after a week anyway. I'll try to get 1 or 2 mid day tests in tomorrow.
 
I hate to be a damper, but I doubt seriously that your vet is going to be very helpful.

It takes time for kitties to adjust to the new way of feeling...it's difficult to say how long he's been diabetic before it was discovered...and these numbers are kinda high. If you or anyone you know is a diabetic, when their sugars are high, they don't feel well. So it's going to be a little while before he's back to feeling perky. Give him a little more insulin and let's see if those numbers will come down - keep posting here and asking questions.
 
I agree. I still haven't had a chance to speak with my vet about the dosing method I'm using yet though. Gonna try to call Monday and leave a message for him to get back to me about it, I think he wanted a checkup after a week anyway. I'll try to get 1 or 2 mid day tests in tomorrow.

I suspect your vet won't have a clue when you bring up "dosing method" ;) Good on you for getting the PMPS in one shot! WOOT WOOT!!
 
I hate to be a damper, but I doubt seriously that your vet is going to be very helpful.

It takes time for kitties to adjust to the new way of feeling...it's difficult to say how long he's been diabetic before it was discovered...and these numbers are kinda high. If you or anyone you know is a diabetic, when their sugars are high, they don't feel well. So it's going to be a little while before he's back to feeling perky. Give him a little more insulin and let's see if those numbers will come down - keep posting here and asking questions.
I know, I just don't want my vet thinking that I don't care about his opinion, I'd like to be partners in treating my cat. Maybe I should go ahead and increase his dose though, his numbers haven't been going any lower. Thank you, I appreciate your input.
 
Back
Top