02/07 Cleo AMPS=426 +2=459 +6=432 +8=306 +9=265 +10=202 +11=196 PMPS=161+1=335+2=390+4=357+6=424

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
2/6/15 recap
amps 428
+1 511
pmps 277
+2 450
+5 465

Hi everyone,
in two hours we went from red to yellow. I always think this dose is too hight, but I'm not expert so I trust in you and what you say to me.
I made some graph, maybe can help you to understand Cleo's bg.
First graph is from last three days (2.25u).
Second graph is about curves from 12/24/14 (1.25u) to last sunday (2.0u). Cleo is a little kitty and her weight is only 3.6 kg (ideal weight 4.0 kg).
Please tell me what do you think about. I don't want to bother you, but since I'm giving Cleo more insulin, her values are getting worst.
image.png
image (1).png


Thank you for your help
 
Hurrah!!!! PMPS was blue!!! I shot as usual 2.25u. I'm staying at home tonight so I'll be able to monitor her. Hope she will see some green:D... Stop bouncing please Cleo!!!
 
Thank you Marilyn, now she bounces to 335 :(. She ate only 25 g of 1,5% carbs food.
 
WOOHOO She spent 2 hours under 200 today! I'd just stay the course, Delia, and she'll get there. You've been reassured she doesn't have any infection, so just plow ahead with the dose. It's very common to have to go up in dose to get on top of the blood sugar. When you get to the "right" dose things often click into place. I'd give her one more cycle at this dose (total of 6 consecutive cycles) and then increase to 2.5u. She's having mostly nadirs over 200, and you're beginning to see some progress with those blues today. Hang in there!

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
What Julie said. It might help you to check out other TR kitties spreadsheets, it's quite frustrating at this stage of the game but she will breakthrough if you just keep battling that liver into submission per the protocol
 
So do you think I should increase? Even if she is always bouncing? I saw other TR kitties spreadsheets and they always seem to me so regulated. Cleo's values are so unpredictable.
So you don't think she bounces because she went too low when I wasn't able to test?

Do you think it's safe to increase her dose even if I can't monitor? I have a full time job and I leave from home after am shoot and come back at pm shoot.
Thank you very much!!!
 
Cleo's spreadsheet just looks like a new kitty who isn't regulated yet. Don't be discouraged by comparing against people who've been doing this for a while. This is typical.

No, I don't see any evidence of her having gone too low. More likely it's that she's reacting because her body has begun to accept 300's as normal, so like today, she got into 100's and her body almost immediately pulled her back up into the 300's. Your testing today shows very clearly that this dose is getting her into the upper 100's range. I think it is safe to increase. Let's just figure out your day issue.

Remind me of what your situation is during the day - do you have other kitties at home? can you leave her food? do you have a timed feeder? Food is the friend of the person who works, so you want to find some way to have food available to her while you're gone.
 
ok - awesome. What are you currently doing with the feeder?

Here's one option to try:

I would try setting the feeder at +2, +3, +4 and +4.5 or +5. So all 4 covered compartments would have food in them. Take whatever you normally give her in between preshots and divide it up fairly evenly between those 4 compartments.

However, if you get a lower preshot, then either add more volume of low carb food or put high carb in some of the compartments. The compartments will stay open until the time for the next one to turn, so if she doesn't eat it all at once, it'll be there for her to graze on.

Will that work for you?
 
I give her food during the first 5/6 hours of the cycle (+1+2+3+4 or +1+3+4+5 or +6), but I don't know what happens after the last meal. I will follow your suggestion and try to set at +2+3+4+5. She seems to go low at the end of the cycle, so is it safe to let her without food after +5? She is not prone to free feeding, she is like a hoover :p, so she eats all food at once.
 
You know, I was thinking she was low today late in the cycle because she was clearing a bounce, but looking again, she does often seem to do that. I think i might shift the times later - say +3, 5, 6, 7, or even +4, 5, 7, 8.
 
Ok Julie, tomorrow morning I will try this new scheduling.
Thank you so much, your help is really precious to me!
 
you're very welcome - it takes a village to help a diabetic cat. good thing we've got a village here! :bighug:

i'm sure you've read the suggestions on the sticky about how to follow TR when you work full-time, haven't you?
 
Yes, I've read the sticky. It is very helpful and comforting. This is a wonderful village full of great people!!!:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top