? 02/06 Tiger AMPS 293 +2 267 +4 252 +6 243 +8 277 +10 240 PMPS 257

J9 Pearson

Member Since 2024
Been at this awhile with Tiger and just bumped up after today's curve to 4u of lantus. His numbers for today's curve seem overall a bit higher than they've been over the last week (maybe?)
I have 3 questions:
1) Is there a limit to increasing insulin? (he's a big cat at a lean 12lbs)
2) He visited the vet this week since I've had some concerns re: his teeth (vet recommended a teeth cleaning and took bloodwork - awaiting results.) I'm guessing it's possible that if he's feeling stress from his teeth/mouth hurting it could increase his blood sugar a little (or a lot?)
3) Can an expreienced person see a pattern of any improvement over the past few months? I find it hard to understand how the insulin can keep increasing (and have had several pops of blue numbers at 1u in early Nov) and he still stay generally in the 200s.
 
His numbers for today's curve seem overall a bit higher than they've been over the last week (maybe?)
I wouldn't say he is higher. He is stuck in a range and possibly seeing some glucose toxicity which is a temporary sort of insulin resistance.

1) Is there a limit to increasing insulin? (he's a big cat at a lean 12lbs)
No. There is no limit to increasing insulin. A cat needs as much insulin as it needs.

He visited the vet this week since I've had some concerns re: his teeth (vet recommended a teeth cleaning and took bloodwork - awaiting results.) I'm guessing it's possible that if he's feeling stress from his teeth/mouth hurting it could increase his blood sugar a little (or a lot?)
Yes, dental issues can cause numbers to be higher and interfere with his ability to get regulated. A dental will help.

Can an expreienced person see a pattern of any improvement over the past few months? I find it hard to understand how the insulin can keep increasing (and have had several pops of blue numbers at 1u in early Nov) and he still stay generally in the 200s.
He just needs to get to a good dose. You want to just keep increasing as per the dosing method you are following till you get to a "breakthrough" dose. Insulin is a hormone, not a drug, so results might not always be proportional or linear.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top