02/06 Max PMSP 398 Thank You

Status
Not open for further replies.

critterlover

Member Since 2012
yesterday's condo

Things are starting off quiet today. I've dropped his dose by .25 and hope he works well with that for now. It was a crazy weekend, I've posted yesterdays condo but haven't figured out how to rename it yet,is it the same as putting the name in for the profile?

I'll be working from home today so will be able to monitor him but the rest of the week I'll be working outside, hopefully there will be no drastic dips.

Have a great day everyone.
 
Re: 02/06 Max amps 370

Hi guys .. oh max, come on down off that pink floor please! No answer from me on the condo name change, but I can't even get to your condo from the link you posted? Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 02/06 Max amps 370 +6 58

Looks like Max has cleared his bounce and is back to green :mrgreen:
Fingers (and paws) crossed that he does well on the new dose.
 
Re: 02/06 Max amps 370 +6 58 +6.5 52 + 7 70

Max came close to too low again today. I caught him at 52 (2.9 on my scale) but it was right around his mid cycle meal time and I fed him and brought his BG back up.

Does this mean I lower his insulin by another .25u tonight (I lowered it last night for this same reason)?

Also, I haven't left the house since our vet appointment last Friday so I have to go into the office tomorrow. I'll be able to do an am +2 test but then I will have to leave. What do you think I should do about his dose in the morning when I'm not going to be here to monitor him?
 
Re: 02/06 Max amps 370 +6 58 +6.5 52 + 7 70

I can't help you with a dosing decision, but if you edit your subject line to show you have a question, it will draw the attention of more experienced users.
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

dawn, what + time will you be back from work? so you'd be leaving at +2 and returning at +?

do you have a timed feeder?
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

btw, your condo link to yesterday works just fine! wahoo! i think your ss link in your signature might be broken, however. i can't get it to work, although it was still in my google docs from before when i looked at it.

sometimes those links just randomly die, it seems, and you have to re-put them in.
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

I will probably be back between +8 and +9.

I'll try to get the ss link working again
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

Hi there :cool:

50s are safe for kitties to surf.
Personally I'm only comfortable with decreases/increases based on seeing the actual numbers.
Not to say that Max may very well have dipped below 50 today had it not been his regular meal time.
There is the possibility that what you are seeing today is residual "shed action" caused by the shed shrinking to adjust to the new dose.
hopefully others will chime in.

How much longer to shot time?

:cool: hang in there - you two are doing great!
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

it's time for his shot now and his PMSP is 398. I'm confused, is he bouncing again, what #'s do we go by to determine his dosage?
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

Yes, he is bouncing again - it takes time for the liver to realize he is not in danger when in the 50s.

I would stick with the .75u for now.
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

thanks Sandy, that's what I would have done had I not heard from anyone. I'll check him before I go to bed and get up thru the night again just to make sure he's doing ok.

I just a post on Checkers where his owner (sorry, I forget the name) said she was going to give him a bit of HC to keep him from dipping thru the morning. May be that's something I can do before I leave for work in the morning, just to be safe?
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

With Lantus, the dose is always based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. Max would need to drop below 50 in order for you to reduce his dose. Keep in mind that the criteria for a dose reduction is based on research. It it was not safe, the research would never have been approved nor would it be published.
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

Dawn:

Great job on the link to yesterday's condo AND the profile!!! Thank you so much...that was quick and we truly appreciate it.

We base dosing on nadirs with some consideration given to PSs. However, you don't want to base dosing on bounce numbers. I know you will have the age-old question that we all do....how do you tell the difference between
a bounce and high numbers?

If Max goes low and then goes high, like he did today....that's a bounce. If we allow six cycles for the bounce to clear and the numbers are still high, then we increase the dose per the protocol. If, before those six cycles are up, Max comes back down into green, then he has cleared the bounce. Let's hope that happens!! Sometimes bounces can also be in blue. If you check out my Gracie's SS, you'll see that she bounced last night into blue from lower green numbers.

Increasing the dose:

Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I agree 100% with Sandy.....I think you are seeing shed action from the previous dose. Due to the cumulative action of lantus, one dose builds upon the next and so you can see the effects of a dose for several cycles. So it's a good suggestion to have you hold the new dose (.75u) for six cycles or until he clears the bounce and then we can reassess.

Great questions!!! You both are doing super!
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

Now that tonights shot is out if the way. . .

critterlover said:
what #'s do we go by to determine his dosage?
when it comes to decreasing, for newly diagnosed (less than 1 year) kitties the guideline is if kitty dips below 50, reduce by .25u
As you did last night.

I don't think we have to go over increases here. . . :-D ;-)

critterlover said:
I just a post on Checkers where his owner (sorry, I forget the name) said she was going to give him a bit of HC to keep him from dipping thru the morning. May be that's something I can do before I leave for work in the morning, just to be safe?
many working folks use food strategically when they are going to be away and are concerned.
Timed feeders are great, however there are other tricks - some folks freeze food mixed with a bit of water in an ice cube tray.
Then, they leave out a couple "catsicles" so that food is available as it comes to room temp.

Is Max a grazer, or do you feed him on a schedule?
 
Re: 02/06 Max Have Questions

thanks, that makes it a bit clearer. I've printed your post so I read it again and again, make me understand better. I really appreciate everyones help.
 
Dawn:

One word on Checkers.....he is a huge dropper from PS to +1....he can really come down fast. So Barb feeds him a little higher carb food...not because she is leaving but to control the drop. Bounces are caused not only by
lower numbers kitty is not used to but also by big drops (or dives as we call them). By trying to flatten those out with higher carb food, Barb is trying to get him to quit bouncing.

HC food is also used, as Sandy said, when kitty is at a number that worries us and we need to bring him/her up or we have to leave. Of course, there are some low numbers that you don't want to leave...they need to be
monitored and fed so kitty is definitely on the way up and safe.
 
they used to graze when they were on dry food. Now that the three of them are all on canned only, they are fed on a schedule. I'm having a bit of a time with my other two making sure they are getting enough to eat as they only eat a small amount at a time and I have to bring it to them a little later to make sure they get it all. Max seems like he would eat all of theirs if I left it out.
 
Hi Dawn and Max,
I don't think I've visited your condo yet and just wanted to say WELCOME! You are doing an excellent job and you are getting excellent advice. Max is a lucky boy to have you helping him.

Wishing you a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
hi dawn - glad you've gotten lots of good advice today.

punkin is a pig - my other cat, anya, doesn't stand a chance with food if punkin's able to get to it. but . . . i tell myself that anya isn't diabetic and she won't be hurt if she can't get to the food while everyone is gone. i have a feeder set to go off while i'm at work and i know anya doesn't get any. so i feed her something when i get home separately.

i think if i were you, if you can afford a timed feeder that's an excellent option, even if your other kitties don't get any. it's max that needs it while you're gone to work. if you can't get one now, i would try the frozen catsickles. i haven't done them but have heard others do this. you could prepare both high carb and low carb sickles and then decide by the preshot number what you want to leave out. you could even make littler high carb cubes and add them to a larger quantity of low carb cubes.

to make them you mix a can of cat food with a can of water, put it in ice cube trays or muffin tins, and after they are frozen you could store them in a labelled freezer bag. Beth/Atlas is a pro petsitter and she said to make sure and try this out when you're around to make sure it works and that max would eat it.

that would also give you an idea of about how long it takes to thaw and who is willing to eat the cold food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top