02/05 Casper AMPS 578, 0.75U, +2 323, +4 151, +5 85, +6 98, +8 112, PMPS 477

He's dropping fast. Have you fed him a small meal to see if you can slop that drop speed? I might even check in an hour and consider some MC to slow him down if he's still plummeting then.
 
This is why I was suggesting you hold the dose a little longer and if you increased he might drop fast. You want to prevent a drop under 50 but this +4 might very well trigger another bounce.
 
Yup, some days his BG drops fast, some days it's slow..., I gave some tuna puree treat at 11. Will test him again at +5 just to be sure. Thank you for the advice.
 
Do you want me to reduce the dose back to 0.5U?

No. The increase was needed. I was just going to hold an extra cycle because I saw he was clearing the bounce. This is a really good cycle but he might bounce tonight or stay green and need to be tested a lot. Not he knows for sure.
 
I shouldn't ask him to review the numbers when his office called yesterday. Too low is a crisis, too high is potential big trouble too. :banghead::banghead:

This is a really good cycle but he might bounce tonight or stay green and need to be tested a lot.
I am going to ask before giving him 0.75 tonight, so afraid this dose will put him into lime green..... Dumb/stupid question, are we allowed to adjust insulin dose per preshot number situation?
 
Never adjust dose based upon the preshot. We test at AMPS and PMPS to see if it’s safe to shoot but tge dose is based upon how low the dose takes him. Looks like he’s on his way back up so it should be fine to shoot. If ever you aren’t sure, stall, don’t feed and post for help.

No question is stupid. The only stupid question is the one not asked. Are you going to ask tge vet? Why?

He won’t drop under 50 as long as you test and feed the curve.
 
He’s bouncing. Get a +2 and I don’t think you will need more than a before bed test. If the +2 is lower than the PMPS but still high I think you are fine to stop testing. If worried you can set an alarm for +6. I’ll be around for another 2 hours so let’s see.
 
He’s bouncing.
Part of the food bump too...I came out of the office at 8:20 to get his BG tested before shot, saw my mom started feeding him. :banghead: "oh, it's just 2 syringes full" :arghh: I just don't know how to get into her head, test, feed, shot! Thought we've been doing this long enough.
I Will test him at 10:30 as +2, don't want to hold you up too late. Thank you Elise!
 
Back
Top