02/05 Bailey AMPS 345

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous post

So Bailey is doing well. We had another scare last Saturday as he stopped eating again so we went back to the vet who gave him 150ml subQ fluids and an appetite stimulant. Within half an hour he was behaving normally again and has been doing so ever since. I have raised his insulin to 1 unit and am giving it a week to see how it does. We are also now giving him fluids twice a week.

Interesting thing though - the vet tech said fluids dilute the blood and will also reduce his blood sugar - not something I had thought of before..
 
Good to hear there is improvement for Mr. Bailey. Some people notice a difference in blood sugar with fluids, some don't. You might want to start doing fluids in the second half of the cycle, just in case.
 
When Trix was on both insulin and fluids, her BGs would drop like a rock no matter what time I did the fluids. I ended up having to separate the locations - fluids by the shoulders, insulin in the flank.

I wonder if he may need fluids more frequently than twice a week, too...maybe he's getting dehydrated and that's why he stopped eating, and then started again after fluids? Of course check with your vetty first...just thinking outloud here. Sending vines that Bailey continues to do well!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top