02/04 Bubba AMPS 437; + 6 421; +8 416; PMPS 409

bubbasmom (GA)

Member Since 2022
yesterday

precious boy started antibiotics yesterday... 3 rounds completed so far (antibiotics are 2 tabs q12h for 7 days)

started onsior this morning for inflammation/pain associated with pancreatitis... 3 more days of same. then will reassess for longer term pain management options with vet to ensure Bubba is comfortable

appetite is good, thank goodness

just one small pp accident overnight; otherwise peeing appropriately in his box; poor thing must have been painful to pee :(

higher BG # this morning - due to infection from UTI & pancreas flare up I imagine

nothing is ever easy with this boy :bighug: but he's worth it
 
Last edited:
how did Neko do on the bupe for pain management? did you administer via liquid (buccal), or tablet?
It was a liquid. Since we knew she would be on it long term, and it's outrageously expensive from the vet, the vet suggested getting it compounded. I got a vial good for 3 months, chicken flavour, which made it quite a bit easier to give. It made a world of difference to her, from quiet and withdrawn to playing and interacting with us. There was no Solensia at that time.

Your spreadsheets says you reduced the dose to 3.25 unit for both AM and PM yesterday? If so, that'll restart the cycle count on the 3.5 unit dose.

Is he getting anything for the low potassium? or just a retest later to see if it comes back?
 
It was a liquid. Since we knew she would be on it long term, and it's outrageously expensive from the vet, the vet suggested getting it compounded. I got a vial good for 3 months, chicken flavour, which made it quite a bit easier to give. It made a world of difference to her, from quiet and withdrawn to playing and interacting with us. There was no Solensia at that time.

Your spreadsheets says you reduced the dose to 3.25 unit for both AM and PM yesterday? If so, that'll restart the cycle count on the 3.5 unit dose.

Is he getting anything for the low potassium? or just a retest later to see if it comes back?

thanks Wendy. I'll discuss using bupe long term with my vet at Bubba's follow up appt next week... from what they've told me it's always been used short term only, haven't really found anything definitive for long term use in the quick google search I did, so want something to back up that it's ok for long term use for cats. it would be great to get it compounded at a pharmacy with a fish flavour, Bubba loves his fish.

I'm glad bupe worked for Neko! I feel like solensia isn't really working for Bubba? Since there's so many issues at play - with his arthritis, diabetes, continued weight loss, now pancreatitis, ongoing infection (high WBCs last November, but nothing in the blood panel or urinalysis indicated where there may be an infection, not unless it was generalized inflammation), and now his UTI - I would like to try something else for his pain - to get him more mobile again :)

Yes, I gave him 3.25U yesterday AM & PM... thanks for the reminder that the 3.5U cycle will restart today (figured as much anyways).

I will be picking something up for hypokalemia today at the vet. I will request another blood panel next week to see how things are. I wouldn't think he would be hypokalemic after one vomit. his potassium #s were fine at his last blood panel November 1.
 
I have a kitty who had a temporary low potassium, possible due to her reduced eating during a GI episode. Once she started eating normally again, K was OK. Since you are in BC, I'm also curious which potassium supplement you are getting.
 
I have a kitty who had a temporary low potassium, possible due to her reduced eating during a GI episode. Once she started eating normally again, K was OK. Since you are in BC, I'm also curious which potassium supplement you are getting.

thera-K is the brand from the vet… either liquid or tablet but I want to see the ingredients first before potentially buying, in case if there is any additives or flavours
 
I have an unused bottle of the liquid in my cat cupboard. Active ingredient is potassium gluconate. Inactive ingredients are water, potassium benzoate, xanthum gum, natural flavouring (non animal origin), potassium sorbate, d-fructose. Flavouring is bacon, I can smell it. It's really a dog product because the better cat one wasn't available according to my vet.
 
And possibly a reaction to that yellow yesterday. Yellow, if he's not used to it recently, can also cause bounces.
Yesterdays yellow was a nice surprise considering all the chaos Bubs went through that morning LOL

*manifests blues and yellows* I need to cast a spell LOL
 
abnormal values from Bubba's BW on Friday Jan 3:
Chemistry:
glucose: 23mmol/L
IDEXX SDMA: 19 (normal = 0-14); Nov 1 was 23
UREA (BUN): 26.9 (normal = 0-14); Nov 1 was 13.3
potassium: 3.1 (normal = 3.5-5.8); Nov 1 was 5.6
total protein: 91 (normal = 57-89); Nov 1 was 75
albumin: 40 (normal = 23-39); Nov 1 was 31

creatinine: 183 (normal, range is 71-212); Nov 1 was 161
BUN: creatinine ratio is 36 (no range is given, but was listed as normal); Nov 1 was 21

Urinalysis:
specific gravity: 1.018; Nov 14 was 1.014. properly hydrated feline values should be 1.035 to 1.060 (Bubba is thus dehydrated, even though he drinks and has access to fresh filtered water 24/7)
glucose: 100mg/dl (should be 0); Nov 14 was 50 (after being on lantus for previous 2.5 weeks); Nov 1 was 1000 (after being on caninsulin from Sep 24-Oct 24
NO KETONES :)
some blood
some WBCs, & RBCs
suspected presence of RODS - indicates e.coli bacteria
squamous epithelial cells 1-2 HPF
hyaline casts: suspected presence

fructosamine 511; Dec 27 was 450
 
Last edited:
Back
Top