02/04 - Bandit - PMPS (187) +2(77) +3(60) +4(68)!!

Ooooooh..... Hope you got a nap in today!

Hopefully Bandit will behave herself, and that high shot will recede into the past, like it never happened...
 
77 at +2!

I know that qualifies for a decrease per SLGS but I think I should ignore this one as being the effect of the 4u shot last night?

Also, I have found that Bandit responds to dose increases very well - soon after - but doesn't maintain those levels after. Any thoughts on why that is?
 
Whoa!

Feed a small LC snack now, let's try to slow her down a bit.

Too soon to make any decisions about the dose decrease, let's get through this cycle first! I do agree that the 4U shot should be taken into account, but let's get there when we get there-- Bandit may have even more to show us in this cycle!
 
Whoa!

Feed a small LC snack now, let's try to slow her down a bit.

Too soon to make any decisions about the dose decrease, let's get through this cycle first! I do agree that the 4U shot should be taken into account, but let's get there when we get there-- Bandit may have even more to show us in this cycle!

Yup. Fed her some YA. Let's see where she heads!!!
She is one bouncy kitty though!
 
And honey? We don't need it yet, but because kibble takes a while to hit the system, if Bandit does a sudden dive below 50 we'll want to have something available that acts a little faster.

The trade-off with kibble is that it stays in the system longer, too, so if you end up tending an extended hypo here, that'll work to your advantage!
 
And honey? We don't need it yet, but because kibble takes a while to hit the system, if Bandit does a sudden dive below 50 we'll want to have something available that acts a little faster.

The trade-off with kibble is that it stays in the system longer, too, so if you end up tending an extended hypo here, that'll work to your advantage!

Yup, I have honey too.

How long does honey take to hit the system? And kibble?

And how long do they stay in the system?
 
I hesitate to give very exact estimates here, because there are a lot of factors involved (amount administered, cat's particular response to carbs, etc.), but here are the general outlines how I think of the most likely effects:

honey: should take effect within 15-30 mins, probably largely gone an hour or two afterwards
kibble: takes up to an hour to really see effects of carbs, lingering effects for several hours

Note that I said "lingering" effects for several hours. That means, kitty may be higher than they would be without that kibble boost, it does not mean that a single hit of HC kibble means the cat is safe for hours.

That's about as specific as I'd ever want to get with these predictions. Remember, too, all of this is happening inside a cat's body, and it, too, gets a say about what happens and when!

Edit: or, much more concisely, what Sandy said!
 
about time for the next test...

68 now. I can assume she is in the clear? she usually nadirs around +4 or +5 and then heads higher. only a bounce breaking takes her lower in the second half of a cycle.
though i don't know what the 4u shot from yesterday will do.

do I keep feeding her LC food? she's not really interested in eating. has eaten her quota for the night!
 
89 at +5. she is slowly creeping higher. She also nibbled on some YA kibble.

I'm calling it a night.

Thanks again for your advice and support!
 
Back
Top