02/03 Kabosu 387 AMPS

Dasha and Kabosu

Member Since 2021
Kabosu is on 3U of Lantus at the moment. It's been 6 cycles on this dose, and I basically saw NO NADIR this last cycle. I'd suspected Somogyi effect, but that's now ruled out, as I tested +1, +2, +4 and it was pretty much the same high number as pre-shot.

He is 90% on Sheba Fine Flakes Fish Selection in Jelly at the moment (since three days ago), sometimes eating Whiskas in Jelly at the neighbours. He definitely eats more than he should: probably 5-6 pouches per day (he is a large cat, and his ideal weight would be 5kg or more), but he keeps losing weight.

He's on fluids 10ml 2x per day, Gabapentin 1/2 capsule twice a day, Losec Mups 1/2 table once a day, Caningest 3ml twice a day. Although today is his last dose of the last two.

I'm not sure what to do anymore, losing hope here :'( Every time I test it's worse and worse.

Previous post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-31-kabosu-338-amps-no-nadirs-below-300.242376/
 
He needs to eat a lot as long as his bg is high. Give it 6 cycles to see what 3.0 will do. Somogyi is not documented here at all. Is he having a pancreatitis flare? Is that the reason for gabapentin?
 
e needs to eat a lot as long as his bg is high. Give it 6 cycles to see what 3.0 will do. Somogyi is not documented here at all.

It's the sixth cycle on 3U, will be the 7th time on 3U tonight. Definitely no Somogyi, and I am not worried about hypo at this stage, as I haven't seen anything below 15mmol/l recently.

Is he having a pancreatitis flare? Is that the reason for gabapentin?

Yep, he got diagnosed with pancreatitis a couple of weeks ago. He spent 48 hours at the hospital, we did the test again last week, and it is still positive unfortunately. Now we've just giving him subcutaneous fluids at home. I don't think I can afford another hospitalization for a while.
They also said gabapentin should reduce his pain and make him sedated. Not seeing any of the sedated thing, because he is running after me demanding food all the time.
 
Yep, he got diagnosed with pancreatitis a couple of weeks ago. He spent 48 hours at the hospital, we did the test again last week, and it is still positive unfortunately. Now we've just giving him subcutaneous fluids at home. I don't think I can afford another hospitalization for a while.
They also said gabapentin should reduce his pain and make him sedated. Not seeing any of the sedated thing, because he is running after me demanding food all the time.[/QUOTE]

Max had chronic pancreatitis for at least a few years before he became diabetic. We stopped testing as his SpecfPL was always above normal and treated the symptoms when they were there. For Max the second his appetite started to lower he got ondansetron for nausea. Once eating well it would be stopped. My vet only ran the SpecfPL if he wasn’t feeling well to see f it was really high and make sure we weren’t dealing with another health issue. The test is not perfect. Diabetes and CKD can inflate it. Not sure why he needs to be sedated. It doesn’t sound like he’s in pain. I used buprenorphine for pain as needed.
 
I think with the tests you are getting, and nadirs being over 300, I'd consider increasing tonight to 3.5u. @tiffmaxee , what do you think?

Perhaps change your title to question mark, and add comment dose increase? Others should be by to comment.

Sometimes kitties get comfy in higher numbers, and it takes a few increases in dose before they get improvement in BG levels. How is he feeling these days, otherwise? We call them the 5Ps- purring, playing, peeing, pooping and preening.

I'm not sure about the carb content in the foods you have, but that might be part of the equation.
 
I think with the tests you are getting, and nadirs being over 300, I'd consider increasing tonight to 3.5u. @tiffmaxee , what do you think?

Perhaps change your title to question mark, and add comment dose increase? Others should be by to comment.

Sometimes kitties get comfy in higher numbers, and it takes a few increases in dose before they get improvement in BG levels. How is he feeling these days, otherwise? We call them the 5Ps- purring, playing, peeing, pooping and preening.

I'm not sure about the carb content in the foods you have, but that might be part of the equation.

I would increase tonight too. I had counted 5 cycles but it’s 6 today.
 
Back
Top