02/03 Eddie AMPS 230 +3 416 +5 340 +7 290 PMPS 346 +8 297 (increase dose)

Jodey&Eddie&Blue

Member Since 2021
Good morning,

Here is Eddie's story from yesterday:

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-02-eddie-amps-499-4-5-344-8-328-pmps-293-7-304.273747/

I am still trying to learn how to read bounces. While I understand the logic behind them, I do not understand their duration or how to determine if/when they resolve and stabilize or when they result in a failed reduction. By duration I mean the cycles on the spread sheet.

I don't know if this morning's AMPS 230 signals the pausing of a bounce or the end of a bounce. I look at the drama beginning January 25th when we actually skipped a shot and then try to comprehend the depot in relation to resuming insulin but at a reduced dose and then getting on the rollercoaster at the Bounce City Fairgrounds.
 
Last edited:
Was Eddie’s AMPS 184 or 230?
Spreadsheet shows 230; thought maybe his and Blue’s numbers might be transposed one place or the other.

Not a bad start to the day. Hope you can get some tests today to see where the cycle heads.
 
Was Eddie’s AMPS 184 or 230?
Spreadsheet shows 230; thought maybe his and Blue’s numbers might be transposed one place or the other.

Not a bad start to the day. Hope you can get some tests today to see where the cycle heads.
I'm curious as to your thoughts here: AMPS 230 AM +3 416.
 
I am still trying to learn how to read bounces. While I understand the logic behind them, I do not understand their duration or how to determine if/when they resolve and stabilize or when they result in a failed reduction.
Bounces last up to six cycles. Not all bounces last six cycles. As cats get more used to better numbers, the length and height of the bounce will be reduced. They will all resolve at some point. During a bounce, numbers can wobble all over the place, but generally won't go down to normal BG numbers. The important question for you is, how long do Eddie's bounces last? Bounces are over when you see good BG numbers again.

The concept of a "failed reduction" is for TR only. If after a reduction is earned, the cat does not get back to greens after the bounce is over, the reduction failed. Note, having skips or reduced dosing in there can impact how long you have to wait for the bounce to be over as you also have the factor of a depleted depot. If following SLGS, you wait for 14 cycles (you are at 17 now), and if the nadirs are not in the desired range (90-149), you increase. I think you would be OK for an increase now. You might want to try for just a 0.5 unit increase now, given that 15 units got him crashing down.
 
Bounces last up to six cycles. Not all bounces last six cycles. As cats get more used to better numbers, the length and height of the bounce will be reduced. They will all resolve at some point. During a bounce, numbers can wobble all over the place, but generally won't go down to normal BG numbers. The important question for you is, how long do Eddie's bounces last? Bounces are over when you see good BG numbers again.

The concept of a "failed reduction" is for TR only. If after a reduction is earned, the cat does not get back to greens after the bounce is over, the reduction failed. Note, having skips or reduced dosing in there can impact how long you have to wait for the bounce to be over as you also have the factor of a depleted depot. If following SLGS, you wait for 14 cycles (you are at 17 now), and if the nadirs are not in the desired range (90-149), you increase. I think you would be OK for an increase now. You might want to try for just a 0.5 unit increase now, given that 15 units got him crashing down.

Well, I guess if you look at the spreadsheet, I've been doing the same testing pretty much as I was with TR. The point of all my questioning was just this: how to read the cycles, the nadirs, the dose. My intuition has been saying "increase" and I've been far too hesitant, I think, to go with my gut feeling, thinking either that I wasn't understanding the numbers or that I was too focussed on the numbers or that I was testing too much or not testing enough.
I've tonight increased to 14.5.
 
Back
Top