02/03 Chaos PMPS 295, +4 260 dosecrease implemented

Status
Not open for further replies.

Violet and Chaos

Member Since 2010
WB, everybody! I missed LL yesterday!

WCR: Waiting at the bedroom door this AM, Chaos greeted me with soft happy chirps and purrs... that's my sweet buddy! He's a happy boy, ready for his test and shot. No test drama, then he hopped up on the table and resumed purring for his shot. Breakfast was an exciting event, of course, "Chirp, chirp...mrrrr-meeeeeep!", he says. He's very cheerful in the mornings. His fur gets softer and glossier every day.

But his numbers- ugh! He's had one good cycle on 0.75u and then right back into flat yellows again. I don't understand why his numbers don't move very much over the course of a cycle. If he doesn't budge from the yellows this cycle, it will be his sixth without any blue or green numbers if we assume last night went similarly to the day and night before. If he doesn't get any lower during the next couple of cycles it's dosecrease time, but here's the thing- I can't seem to find a nadir in Chaos's cycle. Often the +6 is higher than or very close to the PS number. Anyone have any insight?

I wanted to show everyone a unique feature of Chaos's. He didn't lose his kitten teeth when his adult ones grew in. The vet says this is fairly rare in cats, so I'm kinda proud of it...lol... plus it's just so cute. Check it out:
 

Attachments

  • teeth1.JPG
    teeth1.JPG
    659.3 KB · Views: 307
Re: 02/03 Chaos AMPS 310 nadir/dose question

Freaky LOL - I've never heard of anything like that.

I can't give dosing advice but I wonder if they will advise upping him instead of waiting as long to increase dosing. Bump for you.
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos AMPS 310 nadir/dose question

When Gizmo was losing his baby teeth, I remember him having 2 sets of canines. It was a little scary to think he was still young enough to not know better than to chomp on one of my fingers with those teeth!

I'm thinking along the same lines as Karrie. Since Chaos' nadirs are typically not in the blues, I wouldn't hold a dose for much longer than 3 days. And, because you want to be sure you're not missing those drops and the AMPS doesn't reflect a bounce, please get a before bed check every night.

I think Chaos is telling you that more insulin is needed. However, this may also be a bounce so I would want you to be sure that the bounce has cleared before increasing the dose. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. Trying to sort out if you have a bounce clearing, not wanting your cat to sit in higher numbers, and navigating a dose increase can feel like you're walking a tightrope. Let's see how things go today. It's possible that your AMPS is a high before a break. (See Gabby's SS on 1/30 if you want to see an example of this.)
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos AMPS 310 nadir/dose question

How cute he is! How "different" are his teeth! :mrgreen: But he sounds like Shadow with his purring and happy attitude. I just keep mentioning my Shadow and how great he is...people must be tired of reading about it. Chaos sounds like a real charmer and a happy boy too!
Glad Sienne was here to discuss the dose. And yes, before bed time checks are very important.
Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos AMPS 310 nadir/dose question

Well, how cute Chaos and those teeth - I've never seen anything like it. Is that a blanket surrounding his face? Chaos sounds like a sweetie. You've gotten some good dose advice here, so good luck and have a nice day.
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos AMPS 310 nadir/dose question

WOW on the double canines - never seen that before. See Chaos? We always knew you were unique. :)! he seems like such a great kitty - love the affectionate ones, so nice to cuddle.

Have a great day guys - and good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos AMPS 310, +4 280 nadir/dose question

That's not a blanket around his face, those are his front legs thrown up over his head. He was being super cute yesterday. He's a good companion to have around all day, that's for sure.


@Sienne, I've taken a look at the 1/30 numbers for Gabby and I see what you mean about clearing a bounce. 280 at +4, so no action or evidence of that so far. It does feel like walking a tightrope. I am grateful that Chaos is such a steady boy, for the most part. I'll test and post a few more times through this cycle; let me know what you think.
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos AMPS 310, +4 280, +7.5 250 nadir/dose questi

Well, it's +7.5 now and we have 250. I don't think there's any bouncing going on.. what do you all think? Considering going up to 1u tonight.

Chaos has been his usual self, enjoyed a FF turkey fare treat this afternoon, had nappus, and now he's washing his face and paws. He always washes his face and paws after eating, even if it's only a chicken treat.
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos +4 280, +7.5 250, +10 317 nadir/dose questio

Toothy Boy comes in at +10 with 317. No bounce evident.

Dosecrease to 1u just about inevitable, isn't it?
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos PMPS 295 dosecrease implemented

Well, with a PMPS of 295 I have decided to go with the dosecrease. Shot 1u tonight, we'll see what happens. Cross your paws, everyone.

I promise to get that night-time check!
 
Re: 02/03 Chaos PMPS 295 dosecrease implemented

I'm holding you to that PM spot check!! (Either that, or I'm telling Chaos to chew on one of your toes. With those teeth, he'll definitely wake you up!)
 
Night time spot check accomplished.. 260 but I wasn't expecting action till tomorrow maybe. Not right away anyhow. So now I can go to bed, guilt-free and fang-free! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top