02/03 Blackie PMPS 125

Status
Not open for further replies.

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=62675

Jill & Alex said:
hi angela. i see you've started front loading blackie's cycles. what did you find out... when is her onset, nadir, and how much duration is she getting from this dose? the answers to those questions will help you figure out when to feed her for the best results. the idea is to prop her up at nadir to keep her from dropping too low while increasing the dose. the increased dose should help bring the preshot numbers down.

Here's what I think is correct:

Onset: +1
Nadir: +3
Duration: Not sure.

Given this information, I'll be giving her a mini curve again today, and perhaps a spot check later in the cycle before PS time.

I think I'm going to need some assistance with regards to her new feeding schedule, if it needs adjusting. All I know is that to feed much later in the cycle will make her #s go right up there. We've tried that before, and it didn't work. She almost got up to 200 at one time. She's currently getting 0.70 oz. Evo 95% Chicken & Turkey 6x/day, and 0.20 oz. raw turkey cutlet.

I'm waiting on funds in order to hopefully get a baby scale as our human scales don't do anything to weighing her properly. I get inconsistent readings, and I hate it. What's a good baby scale? Do I need one that has a "hold" for when the "baby" moves so that the weight can be accurately read? (hope that makes sense)

MY WISH: For God to help those ailing make a full and speedy recovery... For God to help heal the broken hearts of those who lost a beloved pet and/or human... For everyone to have great #s... For everyone to be OTJ.
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134, +1 112

It's looking like that her +1 is down 7 points from the last time I took it, which was on January 31. I know that the PS #s are the last to come down. It's going to take her some time to adjust to the new feeding schedule (and, oh my, we LOVE our new schedule, I tell you :lol:... She tells me ALL about it :-D ). I would like to give her system time to adjust to 1 thing before I adjust the insulin.
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134, +1 112

good morning, angela!

knowing when onset and nadir occur as well as knowing how much duration blackie is getting are essential before making any changes. this is how you learn how blackie is responding to insulin. usually it'll require a series of random spot checks to figure it out. having said that, sometimes our kitties like to switch things up on us. for example, alex recently presented me with changes in the way she's been responding to insulin. i've been furiously collecting data to figure out how to best change her feeding schedule and dose to accommodate these changes. prior to this, i was able to get away with a mere 4 spot checks per day. :roll:

over the years, i've found it helpful to return to basics. the "New to the Group?" sticky at the top of the page contains many, many clickable links (in bold blue type) including links to explanations of onset, nadir, and duration. you might find a refresher on the basics as helpful as it is for me.

once you know blackie's response to insulin, there are several of us here who are well versed in using food manipulation to bring kitty's entire range down.

baby scales that have that "hold" feature are wonderful!
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134, +1 112, +2 70

In order to get the link to your previous condo to work, you need to have URL brackets encasing the location (i.e., the "http" info you copy and paste from your browser). In other words, it should look like this:
Having the code will activate the link.
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134, +1 112, +2 70

Ok, tried it yet again, and hopefully it'll stay put this time.

Now, back to the kitty at hand...

Her onset seems to be +1. Her nadir will probably be +3, and the duration isn't that long at all, since she seems to start going back up +4, and so on.

Granted, we just started frontloading her January 31st. And I know that this will take time... I may or may not wait until next weekend to increase her dose a bit. I'll just have to see. DH is going to be off on vacation from the 10th until the 17th for my birthday. Usually when he's off it's when we're the busiest.
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134, +1 112, +2 70, +3 51

Hi guys .. lovely numbers for blackie! Seems like you're getting a lot of good info about the front loading .. I hope it's going to give you the results you are seeking .. we are often busiest when peter is off work as well .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134 +1 112 +2 70 +3 51 +4 61

Not as well as I thought. :lol: I may have to increase her dose sooner than expected, but I want to see if I increase her Evo fuds by 0.10 oz. this evening will make a difference in her PS #s, now that she's being frontloaded.
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134 +1 112 +2 70 +3 51 +4 61 +5 62 +6

+6 63

Ok, giving these sets of #s, going to stick to my original plan of waiting to see if frontloading will help her in the long run. IF not, then we'll go from there. In the meantime, I'm going to get a baby scale.
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134 +3 51 +4 61 +5 62 +6 63 +7 88 +8

Here's hoping Blackie doesn't take a page from Binks' "Trickster Manual"

He's the Kokopelli of Kitties...
just when I got comfy and thought I knew his cycles...
he'd change up his routine :roll:
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134 +4 61 +5 62 +6 63 +7 88 +8 120 +9

+9 145 - currently sleeping (or was, until I poked her)

I'm sure she did, Celi. :lol: You never know what they do behind our backs.
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134 +6 63 +7 88 +8 120 +9 145 +10 142

Angela, what would .70 be in a teaspoon?
What do you feed for the first breffis?

ECID, but Checks does just what Blackie does. Onset and nadir and duration are similar. We feed differently, of course.

Just curious. :smile:
 
Re: 02/03 Blackie AMPS 134 +7 88 +8 120 +9 145 +10 142 +11 1

+11 136

I'm not sure what it is in a teaspoon. I use a digital kitchen scale to measure her food with. I feed 0.70 PS, +1, +2, and 0.20 oz. raw turkey cutlet +3 each cycle.

Right now, she's looking outside the office window "talking" about a crow that's eating seeds from the feeders. :lol:
 
PMPS 125, 1u, 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+1 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+2 - 0.70 oz. Evo 95% C&T
+3 - 0.20 oz. raw turkey cutlet

Given the amount of testing I've done today, I'm not going to be testing this evening. She's been a very good kitty all day by allowing me to get a full 12 hour curve on her to see where she's at. Her ears deserve the rest. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top