02/01 Willow PMPS 95/ (PMPS+15 103)/ +2 68/ +2.5 63/+3 65/+4 74/ +5 83/ +8.5 90

nslade001

Member Since 2018
yesterday

Hello,

Yesterday I bought a pair of calipers (mastercraft, from crappy tire). Brief history: Using BD syringes, and markings are quite inconsistent so I'm not sure of her *actual* dose. I'm not certain if these are the calipers I will use to determine her actual dose (see below), but for now I will use them to maintain her current dose (which I still haven't calculated, but I think it's more than the 1.25 U I thought it was going by the syringe markings, and which I'm still calling it). So, I'm aiming for consistency right now, because she seems to be doing well on whatever dose this is :)

That being said, when I drew up today's dose using the calipers on a poorly marked syringe, she got an amount barely below the 1.0 U mark (I'd say it would be 1.1 ish U if using the syringe markings). Looked like *such* a tiny amount for a higher-than-many-recent-AMPS, hopefully it brings her to the greens.

Now, a quick question for caliper users...the first time I measured a U with them I got 1.5 mm, which is spot on for BD syringes apparently. The next time I measured, I got 1.36, then 1.26 ... this may be user error? But is this enough variance to cause problems when dosing? I calculated that for a 0.25U dose it would mean a difference of 0.31mm to 0.38 mm... is this ok?

Thanks so much! Wishing you all a great day of safe surfing kitties! With love, Nikki

AMPS 6.5 (117)
1.5 U Lantus
+3 5.1 (92)
+6 5.2 (94)
+10 5.7 (103)
PMPS 5.3 (95).....I *knew* she was rising, but wanted to double-check the trend :) in case preshot numbers are lower in near future.
stall 15...next PMPS 5.7 (103)
1.5 U Lantus
+2 3.8 (68)
+2.5 3.5 (63)
+3 3.6 (65)
+4 4.1 (74)
+5 4.6 (83)
+8.5 5.0 (90)
 
Last edited:
the first time I measured a U with them I got 1.5 mm, which is spot on for BD syringes apparently. The next time I measured, I got 1.36, then 1.26 ...

Are you measuring each syringe each time you dose?
Do your calipers have a lock on them?

You don't want to be measuring the syringe every time you draw up a dose. You need to be consistent not precise with the dose.

Get out a few syringes and look for ones with relatively consistent lines. Measure them and then pick the middle number or calculate average measure for 1u. Then calculate the measure for your current dose based on your 1u measure and lock down the caliper so when you draw your next dose you don't need to measure again. Even if the dose needs to be reduced or increased, just calculate based on the measure you determined was average for 1u on your syringes, adjust the caliper and lock it down again until the next dose adjustment.

Nice start to the day for Willow! :D
 
Great start for Willow.
Linda's explanation was perfect!

I chose a syringe that had the zero line at the exact top, labeled the syringe with some tape, and I now use it as a reference syringe. Even though I know the lines are off, I still get nervous ignoring them so I like to measure out the dose with the calipers, then compare to the reference just for my own stress reduction.

The calipers remain locked, but I did write down the measurement because I seem to have an affinity for hitting the zero button when I handle the calipers.
 
Are you measuring each syringe each time you dose?
Do your calipers have a lock on them?
You don't want to be measuring the syringe every time you draw up a dose. You need to be consistent not precise with the dose.

Get out a few syringes and look for ones with relatively consistent lines. Measure them and then pick the middle number or calculate average measure for 1u. Then calculate the measure for your current dose based on your 1u measure and lock down the caliper so when you draw your next dose you don't need to measure again. Even if the dose needs to be reduced or increased, just calculate based on the measure you determined was average for 1u on your syringes, adjust the caliper and lock it down again until the next dose adjustment.

Nice start to the day for Willow! :D

Hi, thanks for responding.

No, this was my first day even using the calipers, just got them yesterday. I'm not sure how accurate they are, those measurements were with me testing the calipers and measuring the unit markings on syringes (ie random units on syringes), and getting those varied measurements (units measuring from 1.26 to 1.5 mm) so I didn't dare use a "measured" unit without asking that question: is that enough variation to matter? So I just take an average? Or buy another set of calipers?

I actually *used* the calipers by locking it down on the amount I've been giving daily using the markings (I used last night's syringe and eyeballed the amount I gave last night), and locking the calipers at that. So at least it *will* consistent, just the actual amount is ? right now.

With love, Nikki
 
Nikki, what you did last night is fine for consistency with your current dose. But assuming you may need to reduce the dose at some point in the near future (fingers crossed!), then measuring 1u gives you a nice round number on which to calculate any dose under 1u.
 
Once you get the hang of using calipers, it will help you get a consistent dose. You just have to get used to ignoring the lines on the syringe and measuring your dose from the calipers. You measure from where the end of the syringe plunger goes into the syringe, not the zero line because it can be off.
 
Once you get the hang of using calipers, it will help you get a consistent dose. You just have to get used to ignoring the lines on the syringe and measuring your dose from the calipers. You measure from where the end of the syringe plunger goes into the syringe, not the zero line because it can be off.
Yes, EXACTLY. Since the lines can be all over the place, once you choose the measurement on the calipers, you stick with that each time (unless you are are intentionally making changes to the dose of course). I was using BD's as well, and since Uncle was on such a small amount of insulin, consistent dosing with calipers was a game changer!
Awkward at first but after about a week, I felt like it was a breeze. I was a CONVERT! I'd be happy to share any tips or tricks as you go along as well :bighug:
 
Great start for Willow.
Linda's explanation was perfect!

I chose a syringe that had the zero line at the exact top, labeled the syringe with some tape, and I now use it as a reference syringe. Even though I know the lines are off, I still get nervous ignoring them so I like to measure out the dose with the calipers, then compare to the reference just for my own stress reduction.

The calipers remain locked, but I did write down the measurement because I seem to have an affinity for hitting the zero button when I handle the calipers.
So SMART!!!
 
Thank you all! I am comfortable (though awkward) using the calipers, and with changing dose calculations...it's just the original figuring out a unit that bothers me because I'm fearful that my calipers aren't accurate (since when I measured a unit I got different measurements). But I know I worry too much, so I should just go ahead and get an average of my unit measurements and say, this is my mm per Unit; trust the calipers and get on with my day. ugh.

@Barbara & Uncle (GA) , I may very well take you up on your offer of help when it comes to smaller units! And I appreciate any hints and tips you want to send my way :)

Thanks again, with love, Nikki
 
Thank you Thank you Thank you! For this sentence:

"The reason for doing this is that the syringe hash marks vary (even among batches of the same type and brand)."

That is why I got different measurements! It's not my calipers or me! So now I can be confident using them :) I thought the markings were consistent, and either I or the calipers were wrong, and I would somehow mess up dosing my Willow. Big sigh of relief.

With love, Nikki
 
So, I did many measurements and I'm getting 1U=1.5mm. Don't know where the mismeasurements came from; I know I was tired lol. Anyway, at that measurement she's actually been getting approximately 1.5 U Lantus over the last while, not 1.25 U. Thanks, BD syringes:rolleyes: Also, had my first ultra-crooked zero-line this evening. I never noticed these before; I didn't know to look for them. What I *do* know is I'm going to love the accuracy of calipers, I'll feel much more confident in my doses. Thanks so much, everyone.
Also @Barbara & Uncle (GA) , I can't think of anything right now to ask you; but if you think of anything I might find helpful, please let me know :) The only thing is, I don't know how I'll do doses under .25U since the small caliper arms seem to be too close by then. But also, I don't know if I'll ever need to dose that small lol.
With love, Nikki
 
Good luck with the calipers. They were a game changer for me when we got to smaller doses. For the last while, Neko's approximately 0.25 unit dose was under the zero line on the BD's. :rolleyes: I looked at the Mastercraft calipers, but rejected them due to the size of the smaller arms. The points need to be quite skinny. However, they will do you for a while.
 
Hi, just wondering if there will be anyone around in a bit, in case I need eyes? Willow has her lowest +2 on our first day of using calipers, and I may want/need some guidance on feeding. Just took her +2, will be doing a +2.5. She was just fed 2tsp of LC FF with pumpkin as per her normal schedule (after testing) and is due for another feeding at +3.
Thanks so much, with love, Nikki
 
Just working on dinner, but I can keep an eye on here.
Hi Wendy, thanks! She's coming up now, so everything should be fine. I'll just keep checking as normal till bed.
Every time I ask for eyes, she slows down...I think i'll hold off a bit next time lol. I'm getting more comfortable with lower numbers, anyway :)
A quick question, though...she gets her small LC meals going on till midnight usually...but at what point would I consider breaking out HC? If she actually touches 49?
Thanks again! With love, Nikki
 
Not really a quick answer. Yes, normally and probably the first time you see an under 50 you would break out a tsp or two of the HC gravy. The Hnadling Low Numbers Sticky Note tells you how much and when and how to test. That’s a good document to print off, just in case you can’t access th internet for some reason. The complication or nuances come as you learn how carb sensitive your cat is and what time in the cycle it is. A low early in the cycle when the insulin is strongest may need higher carbs than later in the cycle as the insulin is waning. Depending on the carb sensitivity of your cat, you might be able to get away with medium carb food later on. But start with high carb, take good notes on how much and what carb % you feed and when. That’ll help you learn what is best for Willow. If she rockets up with HC, then maybe try a little less quantity or lower carbs next time.

Another factor is how far below 50. You would do higher cafb, maybe a drop or two of syrup, should she hit the 30’s.
 
Not really a quick answer. Yes, normally and probably the first time you see an under 50 you would break out a tsp or two of the HC gravy. The Hnadling Low Numbers Sticky Note tells you how much and when and how to test. That’s a good document to print off, just in case you can’t access th internet for some reason. The complication or nuances come as you learn how carb sensitive your cat is and what time in the cycle it is. A low early in the cycle when the insulin is strongest may need higher carbs than later in the cycle as the insulin is waning. Depending on the carb sensitivity of your cat, you might be able to get away with medium carb food later on. But start with high carb, take good notes on how much and what carb % you feed and when. That’ll help you learn what is best for Willow. If she rockets up with HC, then maybe try a little less quantity or lower carbs next time.

Another factor is how far below 50. You would do higher cafb, maybe a drop or two of syrup, should she hit the 30’s.

Thanks! I have the stickys all printed out and a emerg box ready with foods labelled with %carbs lol. But just in case no one was around or my internet was out (it flickers in storms) I didn't know how much to feed; now I know where to start :). Thanks again, with love, Nikki
 
Back
Top