02/01 Tiger - AMPS 290 Help with dosing please

Status
Not open for further replies.

tigersdad

Member Since 2010
Previous posts
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4588
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4354

Starting afresh after glucose curve taken yesterday (see spreadsheet)
Still on two units Lantus. Had AMPS reading of 290 this morning.
Seemed a bit hyper in the night, meaning he was quite restless and fidgety.
Need advice where to go from here with the dosing thanks.

Then should I start this dose from tonight?
When are the important times to test after this (apart from pre-shot of course)?
 
Re: 02/01 Tiger - AMPS 290

Great job yesterday with getting the full curve!! One question - are you able to get spot checks any later in the PM cycle or is +2 around bedtime? Many cats have lower numbers at night so it's helpful to have as much data as you can from the PM cycle.

My hunch is that you have room to increase Tiger's dose. I would, however, wait until some of the experienced members here have a chance to look over Tiger's SS and offer their input.
 
Re: 02/01 Tiger - AMPS 290

+ 2 is at bedtime for all of us. We are one of those early to bed type families.
 
Re: 02/01 Tiger - AMPS 290

Hi Tigersdad!

We are in Toronto now, but I am from the Prairies, so I can appreciate the early nites. If you can take a test just before you go to bed and then as soon as you get up in the morning, that would be a good start if you don't normally stay up late. How early in the morn do you rise?

It's great that you have your ss all set up because it will make it easier for the more experienced ones to see what's going on with Tiger. Usually, it's good to stay with one dose for 6 cycles (3 days) then decide which way to go. It takes a bit of time for the kitty's shed to fill and they settle into a dose.

I think times for testing after a shot good to catch are +3, +6, +9, and that gives you an idea how Tiger's doing with his dose. Eventually, with the numbers on his ss, you will start to see Tiger's patterns.

Others will be along soon who will offer you much advice, but keep asking your questions and we will keep giving you answers.

Scratches for Tiger, and I hope you have a great day today.
 
Hi Peter! Nice to see you .... :-D
Good job so far....I just wanted to say that when we post our first "condo" of the day, we link the previous
day's condo to it so that people can click on the link and read what happened the day before...
I am linking Saturday's condo for you here.... (did you post yesterday or not? didn't see one...so here is the last condo...)

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4588

I will go back now and find the other thread that was on health so that anyone who stops by today can quickly link to what has already transpired!

You are doing a GREAT job and I am so happy that you are here!
BRB...
ETA....here it is ...the one from the Health board ...for reference.....

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=4354
 
I am quoting from whatLibby said on Saturday...
Libby and Lucy said:
welcome to Lantus Land!

Tiger's numbers aren't that bad for now, they give us something good to work with. Once you get a few more days of testing under your belt we'll be able to help you interpret Tiger's numbers. I personally don't see any harm in sticking with the 2 units BID since Tiger's numbers are pretty decent, hold that dose for a few days and get tests before every shot, and whatever tests you can get in between shots. That will give us the data to make good recommendations for Tiger. Make sense?

You have done a great job of getting the curve...keep on testing at different times...and in the morning when you wake up. does your schedule allow you to do testing at +3, +6 & +9 today and then tomorrow +4 and then perhaps +8? Along with the AMPS and the PMPS of course...After a few days, there will be enough data to decide what to do. No rush right now...you are doing a fine job!!! Very admirable!

How is it going with the food? Have you been trying to eliminate the dry?
I know that is difficult...just wondering. :-D

Peter...you are doing so very well and you sound very enthused. You are in the right place now here on the Lantus board and we look forward to yo posting every day with the AMPS first thing ....and attach the link to the previous day....and ask any questions you have in the same condo all day...including any updates that you might get....k? :mrgreen:
You can also click on any condos here on the board and just say hello to your neighbors. :-D Most times, there is interesting information that you can glean from reading what others are going through! Talk to you later!
 
Honestly... I would go up. You have shot 2 IE for 6 cycles now. So you would be able to go up.
Since I'm a bit careful I would only increase by 0.25.
So this evening you would shoot 2.25.

But also try to get some other input of more experienced ones.
 
I would, however, wait until some of the experienced members here have a chance to look over Tiger's SS and offer their input.

I agree with Sienne -

let's see how this 6th cycle goes , keep updating and posting when u can, we'll get those o:-) eyes by PMPS time.
 
Welcome to lantus land--I would wait out the last cycle as it is the one where my cat usually sees some bg action..
You have done everything right so far, and the best thing was coming here to lantus..We all help each other & have a myriad of experience with this disease..
We have several members who know dosing very well..I'm sure they will contact you later...I would also wait out the cycle--good job you are doing!! Tiger is a lucky Kitty! :-D
 
Welcome fellow Brit :mrgreen:

Not many of us seem to find our way to this board.

Great that your starting to get your head round all of this. It is a steep learning curve initially, but you'll soon be in the swing of it.

As you've dose hopped quite a bit, I'd say you need to stay on this dose at least 5 days (10 cycles) maybe even 7, see how your numbers go.
As everyone has said post each day. Depending on your commitments you can update your post as you get spotchecks or you can just do it at the end of the day.
Obviously if your numbers move dramatically you post and ask for advice (just change the title of your first post of the day so it shows up on the list)


Cute Tiger :mrgreen:
 
I just wanted to stop in and say HI! - I think you are doing a wonderful job with tiger. the affection, love and concern for him is so wonderful. cat_pet_icon I remember one of your first posts, and the comment made that all you wanted was to be able to help your kitty. It touched my heart.

You will get great help here. Alot of truly great folks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top