02/01 Maximus AMPS 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa + Maximus

Member Since 2009
last condo
I need an explanation on how to "chew GUM." Maximus is doing great. He no longer drinks out of the toilet, but rather out of recirculating fountain. Wishing blues and greens today for everybody. cat_pet_icon
 
Good morning Teresa

you haven't begun GUM yet right? Your ss says u shot yesterday and this morning.
there are instructions for GUM, we'll see if someone can drop by today for u...

Nice start to the day for Maximus!! :mrgreen:
 
We think Maximus is ready for an OTJ trial, whenever you're ready!!!

I would start (or stop, rather!) with his next green PS, just because I like starting trials on green numbers.

Here's what you do:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck and congratulations!
 
Re: 02/01 Maximus PMPS 116, +3~112

I think all this GUM chewing has made Max turn blue. I will print out the protocol and wait till he's grown some more mold. Thank you for looking out for Max. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top