02/01 Max AMPS 21.6

Status
Not open for further replies.

critterlover

Member Since 2012
Max is staying high today. I'm working from home so am able to test him more frequently. I tested him first thing this morning before feeding and insulin. then I fed him 1/2 can Grammys Pot Pie (his usual breakfast). He hasn't had anything to eat since and the insulin doesn't seem to be taking effect. What would cause this? Looking back at his SS I see this is not really unusual for him but I don't understand why yet.

On the advise of other members I'm going to start tonight by dropping to .5 units and will stay at that dosage for a while and see what happens.

Dawn and Max
 
I would say you need to increase the dose because it's not enough insulin.

If you look at Max's numbers on his ss, they stay high all through the cycle, no dip.
You have also been at the dose 1u more than long enough, so try to go with 1.5u for 6 shots and see if you start to see some improvement.

You need to be sure to get a before bed test because your ss has only half the story, the AM cycles, and you need to know what's going on after the PM shot.

Aside from the numbers, how's Max acting? Better, same, worse? What about his weight, his coat, his appetite, and his LB deposits?
 
thanks for responding Gayle. An increase, Ok. I certainly need to get up to snuff on my diabetes education.

I've noticed an improvement in Max since he was first diagnosed. I initally took him to the vet because he lost a lot of weight quickly. That's how I found out he had FD. I don't have a scale but he appears to have gained some weight back although he still has a ways to go. He's a lot more active now, nothing wrong with his appetite, (actually he may be appearing a little too hungry again). His coat looks and feels good. With 3 cats its hard to tell with LB deposits but since I've changed to all canned food for the 3 of them I've noticed an increase in the amount but all firm. Even when he had some really low AMSP numbers I didn't notice any behavior changes in him, he's been riding it out good.

Dawn & Max
 
Welcome, Dawn.

To be honest, I'm not sure what I would advise at this point regarding dose. Gayle's logic makes sense to me overall. However, you've been seeing some AMPS tests that are under 200 and it's pretty clear Max is bouncing. It's hard to know where some of the numbers are coming from without any PM tests. Are you home in the evenings? It's really looking like Max's numbers are dropping during the PM cycle (e.g., all of the blue AMPS and the 70s on 1/24 and 1/27 at AMPS). It would help enormously if you could get some tests in at night and/or get a PM +11.

(Also, it would be helpful if you could put your AMPS numbers in US format. Most of us don't read Canadian. Sorry!!)
 
yeah, I'm a little confused as to what to do. I've had several posts to decrease as well.

I keep forgetting to mention that I picked up some ketostix on Tuesday. The only ones I could get were a combo glucose/ketone stick. The result was ketone negative but I don't know what the glusose reading means. The results for urine glucose were 56 mmol/L and 2% g/dl. Anyone know what that means? I'm in the process of googling it.
 
here's your other post today 2/1 in relaxed lantus forum

it helps people giving you advice to know whatever the back story is, so we link our condos (threads) so a person can go backwards to read previous advice/story.

it looks from max's spreadsheet that you've held it at 1.0 units - is that right? i would second sienne's recommendation to get at least 1 test during the pm cycle. you wouldn't believe how many cats are overall lower in the evening cycle, but then come up to a higher preshot in the morning. it's hard to know what's going on with max because he's kinda all over the place and doesn't have an obvious curve yet. an evening test might help us figure out what he's doing the rest of the time. a lot of people get one test right before they go to bed.

i think of the spreadsheet like a jigsaw puzzle - the preshots are like edge pieces, but the more mid-cycle tests you get the more the picture fills in. you're doing an awesome job of getting midcycles during the day - a lot more than a lot of people - but an evening cycle test can really help decipher the puzzle.

keep posting and we'll try to figure out where to help you go from here.

the only thing i know about the urine glucose tests is that you're measuring where the blood sugar was from a while ago. a blood sugar test tells you what it is right now. i don't know how to interpret the test results.
 
hello dawn. welcome to the group!

i agree with sienne and julie. collecting more data is a must before contemplating a dose adjustment. it's imperative to know how low the current dose is taking any kitty before increasing the dose... even more so when a kitty tends to bounce as hard as max does. 2u dropped him to 34 and then he zoomed to 405 only 3 hours later. the 1u dose (including shots skipped as well as a reduced shot) has left you with AM preshot numbers of 94, 74, and 77... not to mention some low blues. makes me wonder if he was lower in the previous cycle. you may be looking at a reduction rather than a dose increase.

i'm glad you were able to get a couple of spot checks during last night's cycle. good job! please continue. like julie said, these spot checks are like pieces to a puzzle. the more pieces you have... the easier it is to see the whole picture.

hope to see you posting often...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top