02/01/20 Thomas J. AMPS 288

LilTurkey

Member Since 2020
Introduction on Main Forum

I'll officially be starting Lantus tomorrow morning. I've got everything in my hypo toolbox other than a bulb syringe and lube, an extra meter, and extra testing strips. Still deciding on what meter to get. I ordered a higher carb wet food online and it should be in next week to add to it as well.
I'm currently home testing with a human meter and he's doing fairly well with it. My vet suggested using a continuous glucose monitor but I wanted to see what other people's experiences have been with them before deciding. So, is anyone currently using one or have you in the past? If so, what was your experience like with it?
 
Last edited:
@Vtambo & Rex
Regarding the Weruva and Tiki Cat, since it's so expensive and mostly seafood I wouldn't be using it as a main meal. Thought about using it as a pate topper and a treat every now and then for a little extra protein. I'll check out the Whole Earth Farms duck and chicken pate and the Organix turkey and chicken pate you suggested. Thank you!
 
The continuous meters only last 2 weeks and are expensive. But if you want to start out with one that is fine.
I would buy a human meter. They are much cheaper to run than a pet meter and our dosing methods are based on human meters. You will eventually have to learn to test yourself unless you have unlimited money to spend on the continuous meter so you might as well start now. But up to you

what dose are you starting on?.
 
Whole Earth Duck used to be a great option, lower carb and low phosphorus, but not anymore. They changed the formula maybe about a year ago. Check out their website, I believe there are some comments regarding the new values, but if I remember correctly, carbs are above 10% now.

Good luck with Lantus, and welcome.
 
The continuous meters only last 2 weeks and are expensive. But if you want to start out with one that is fine.
I would buy a human meter. They are much cheaper to run than a pet meter and our dosing methods are based on human meters. You will eventually have to learn to test yourself unless you have unlimited money to spend on the continuous meter so you might as well start now. But up to you

what dose are you starting on?.
I home test with a human meter already. I was just curious if anyone had experience with a continuous glucose monitor, it's a little too expensive for me right now but I thought I'd at least look into it. Thank you for the advice though. 0.5 unit
 
AAHA Insulin Injection Tutorial
I watched the video reccomendations on here but I also watched this one. It says to draw up your syringe a bit to check if it's on a blood vessel. Is this okay to do, wouldn't that draw air into it? If I do draw up blood do I have to get rid of that insulin and get another syringe and dose of insulin?
 
I don’t think it is necessary to draw back the syringe when you inject the insulin. But I would hold the barrel of the syringe down as you withdraw the needle. That’s stops a drop of insulin being sucked back into the syringe.
 
I don’t think it is necessary to draw back the syringe when you inject the insulin. But I would hold the barrel of the syringe down as you withdraw the needle. That’s stops a drop of insulin being sucked back into the syringe.
Thank you, I'll remember to do that.
 
Hi Brittany,

Freckles had the Freestyle Libre on for 2 weeks. It was interesting as the Libre did indicate when her glucose numbers went up or down, but the numbers I got on the Libre were quite different than I got with a blood droplet using my Freestyle Lite glucometer. What I found was the Libre was more accurate with lower numbers (like in the green and low blue range). When Freckles numbers were high, there could be a discrepancy close to 200 points. Now in saying that, Abbott did feel like the Libre I had may have been defective because when I compared the Libre to the Precision (which is the reader for the Libre but also is a glucometer) the difference between the 2 was higher that what is considered to be acceptable for meter variance.

Towards the two week mark, Freckles started scratching at it and was irritating to her. The vet who applied the Libre used an additional adhesive to make sure it stayed on.
 
Hi Brittany,

Freckles had the Freestyle Libre on for 2 weeks. It was interesting as the Libre did indicate when her glucose numbers went up or down, but the numbers I got on the Libre were quite different than I got with a blood droplet using my Freestyle Lite glucometer. What I found was the Libre was more accurate with lower numbers (like in the green and low blue range). When Freckles numbers were high, there could be a discrepancy close to 200 points. Now in saying that, Abbott did feel like the Libre I had may have been defective because when I compared the Libre to the Precision (which is the reader for the Libre but also is a glucometer) the difference between the 2 was higher that what is considered to be acceptable for meter variance.

Towards the two week mark, Freckles started scratching at it and was irritating to her. The vet who applied the Libre used an additional adhesive to make sure it stayed on.
Thank you for your advice. Thomas J. hates stuff on him, not sure how he would handle it being on him 24/7.
 
I wasn't sure how Freckles was going to take to it either. I started getting her use to things by putting a soft head band around her for a couple of hours here and there and if she got out of it, it was no big deal. Then I progressed to a cat halter and started leaving it on her longer and longer. For the first 10 days wearing the Libre, Freckles did not even acknowledge it, but I think once the glue started to let go a bit, or her hair started to grow more under it (which could be the same thing - lol) she started to scratch at it.
 
I wasn't sure how Freckles was going to take to it either. I started getting her use to things by putting a soft head band around her for a couple of hours here and there and if she got out of it, it was no big deal. Then I progressed to a cat halter and started leaving it on her longer and longer. For the first 10 days wearing the Libre, Freckles did not even acknowledge it, but I think once the glue started to let go a bit, or her hair started to grow more under it (which could be the same thing - lol) she started to scratch at it.
Ah, I see, that makes sense.
 
wow. I had no idea. what is interesting though is that Rex used to gobble that down and in the last little while was sometimes interested in it, but sometimes not. I wonder if it was the new formula. I never did get the hang of being able to look at the nutrition info and determine if something was ok or not. I always just referred to Dr. Lisa's list. but I guess that is now 3 yrs old so things could have changed since then. there was a while back when I was not even able to get the WEF Duck. I wonder if that is when they changed it? however, I did contact the company at that time and explained the situation to them and asked if/when the item would be coming back and if the recipe had changed. the person I talked to assured me that everything was the same and rest assured it would be back in stores soon and that the reason for its absence was just popular demand. Hmmmm…..
 
Back
Top