Zelda & Walter
Member Since 2019
Yesterday http://1-30-walter-amps-242-pmps-119.
I've got someone who is going to stay at the apartment but he's not very computer literate. There's a chance that I might have some access to the s'sheet (and to internet)--just not sure at this point. I believe it was Bron or Wendy who mentioned that I should do a "vacation" dosage level while I'm away. I just decreased Walter to 2 the other day so I'm not sure that I want to go lower. He's been doing pretty good--some late night/post midnight dips (at +6, 7, 8) but I'm hoping he might be leveling out.Hi Zelda, Walter is looking better these days.
I saw your comment about leaving soon - I'm sorry I don't remember all the details...did you get a pet sitter for Walter? Will they be able to post his numbers for us to follow him?
I've got someone who is going to stay at the apartment but he's not very computer literate. There's a chance that I might have some access to the s'sheet (and to internet)--just not sure at this point. I believe it was Bron or Wendy who mentioned that I should do a "vacation" dosage level while I'm away. I just decreased Walter to 2 the other day so I'm not sure that I want to go lower. He's been doing pretty good--some late night/post midnight dips (at +6, 7, 8) but I'm hoping he might be leveling out.
The cat sitter will take BG at the usual times and give insulin. I'm also asking that he test in the evening before he goes to sleep and in the middle of the night (good luck with that one--I know). I'm thinking that if there's a pattern of high numbers (350+) I would suggest inching up by .25--and also if there's a decrease to 100, that he might pull back by the same amt; if under 90, skip?Yes, a vacation dose is good - how long will you be away? Is the house/cat sitter going to be able to test before giving insulin? Very important to get a few tests - wouldn't want to give even a reduced dose without knowing what Walter is doing with that dose.
The cat sitter will take BG at the usual times and give insulin. I'm also asking that he test in the evening before he goes to sleep and in the middle of the night (good luck with that one--I know). I'm thinking that if there's a pattern of high numbers (350+) I would suggest inching up by .25--and also if there's a decrease to 100, that he might pull back by the same amt; if under 90, skip?
I'll be away until Feb 15.
What number would you recommend to not shoot?Not sure I'd want caregiver adjusting the dose at all...unless they're familiar with the protocols it's probably better to just hold the lower dose until you return - unless of course there's a low pre-shot number. Usually when people are away -they give a 'do not give shot number' like any number under 100 they should not shoot - that kind of thing. Dose adjusting is tricky business and requires more testing to see what the effect is...
Thank you —this makes sense—especially since he’s been running low lately. His PM tonight is 78–I’m trying to decide what to do.Looks like you shot a 105 and a 137 and Walter went low both of those nights. Is your caregiver reliable enough to test after shooting a number that low? If not, perhaps nothing below 150...it's just so hard to say how low Walter will go...
I hate to see his numbers go way up high...but there's a saying around here; better a day too high than an hour too low. The hypo situation is what we all have to be vigilant of...that's why we test so much...and if we can't test, then reduce the dose, keep testing until there are little to no low numbers showing up on the SS. Not ideal, but will keep your cat safe.
I've had to do the same for Luci recently as we have so much sickness in our house that we cannot check on Luci as often as we'd like. I wouldn't shoot a low number like around 100 for safety's sake and since I'm sick and having a difficult time getting up to check on her - and her numbers reflect this - she's running a bit higher than ideal...but at least she's safe and not likely to go into a hypo situation.
He’s a clever one! I’m loving these lower numbers— I hope Walter will at least stay under 300 while I’m away. I’m holding off on starting the Zobaline until I’m back.Looks like 2 units is too high for a petsitter dose. Walter was listening to you threaten to increase.
FYI - a dose on the line is always easier for the petsitter, maybe 1.5 units? I would also leave a used syringe filled with coloured liquid, to show that dose.