01/31 Fortune AMPS 174 +1 110 +2 58 +3 44 +5 99 +9 378 +11 412 PMPS 369 +1 393 +2 451

We've had people here give CBD before, without influencing the BG.

I don't want to pile on the "test or not" comments, just saying there was someone on Health yesterday who had only periodically been testing, and finally starting testing in earnest when her kitty had a symptomatic hypo with BG in the 20's on at AT. :eek: That's what we want to prevent.
 
Yikes! Yes, happy to prick this bunny's ears and get him well regulated. He knows now to come when we go to the chair where we sit him down for BG testing. He hops up on the chair and lays down. So cute!! :) It was just striking how she was so confident about my "testing too much." Which yes, there is a place for that but Fortune's not there yet.

Noted on the CBD! Hoping to give him some relief...
 
OMG, no pain with chronic pancreatitis? How stupid is that! I could point you to many veterinary articles that say quite the opposite. At various times Max was given buprenorphine, ondansetron and cerenia for nausea, flagyl once for diarrhea, and when needed sub-q fluids.
 
You aren’t safe to stop testing unless he’s off insulin.

Right, I just meant the frequency we are testing at rn.

OMG, no pain with chronic pancreatitis? How stupid is that!

It is the most stupid! I messaged the GP this evening to push for pain meds. I need to find him better care - feels like I’m doing this on my own and if I just listened to these folks he wouldn’t be getting any additional care.
 
I just read the report on groupsio. Heart murmurs can be benign or require treatment. Max had one for years that was benign. The only way t know is to get an echo. His first showed a harmless murmur. At 19 it was determined he had CHF. Totally different situation not caused by the original murmur. It would be a good idea to see the cause since you are giving Fortune prednisolone.
 
It would be a good idea to see the cause since you are giving Fortune prednisolone

I agree, I will bring it up with the GP. Would that require a separate visit to a cardiologist, or only once the echo comes back?

So concerned, especially right now, he is not looking great. Eyes are very squinty, the area around his eyes is red, somewhat wobbly and he is more lethargic than usual. So worried about him, and I feel helpless!
 
So we are back (way back) up to 378. He did have a (unknown brand or type) HC food at the vet, and we fed him rabbit when we got home, so it's not surprising. I feel a lot more comfortable giving him the juice tonight - we will of course keep checking! According to TR it says we reduce immediately only if he under 40 - would the 44 BG reading count since it's within the 20% margin? Or do we hold the 2.75IU and see if he stays low? My biggest concern is that he goes hypo at night when we are unaware!

Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • Fortune is considered newly diagnosed diabetic , after a year he is considered long term.
  • So if he drops below 50 like he did today you reduce by 0.25 units
 
Last edited:
I agree, I will bring it up with the GP. Would that require a separate visit to a cardiologist, or only once the echo comes back?

So concerned, especially right now, he is not looking great. Eyes are very squinty, the area around his eyes is red, somewhat wobbly and he is more lethargic than usual. So worried about him, and I feel helpless!

You need to see a cardiologist who will do the echo and consult with you. It’s one appointment.
 
Any luck finding a good IM vet in NNJ?

Thank you! Not yet, it looks like Dr. Eriksson move to North Carolina. I’m going to post in some Facebook groups to see if I get someone who also has a complex kitty. Rn I’m following up with the GP and trying to make an appt for an oncologist and cardiologist too (even though we really need the IM)
 
Last edited:
Dr Dustin Lewis in Tinton Falls was the oncologist we used, but that was mainly for the radiation treatment. I know people swear by Oradel Animal Hospital for their specialists. Sorry to hear Dr Eriksson left

Thank you! I'll try Dr. Lewis since our next stop is an oncologist to discuss "rescue" options.

I have also hear that the excellent things about Oradel

I'll check them out - thank you both!
 
Back
Top