01/31/2011 Leo/AMPS 492/ +3@577/ +6@377/ +9@431

La-La Leo (GA)

Member Since 2021
BG numbers have not dipped much in awhile. Still haven't sent curve to Vet and they haven't asked yet. This is hard. I had to poke several times last night and this morning; if it wasn't due to a large enough blood spot, ER4, & there was even an ER1 error--whatever ER1 is, it was me not inserting the strip in properly, I guess, because there was an arrow appearing. I assumed another error. Grrrr.

Need to get calipers because I don't trust the syringe lines... too much variability when the plunger is pressed down as far as it can go to 0; nope, it isn't down all the way.

Need an auto-feeder, too.
BTW, I haven't seen Leo throw up in several weeks now. I did find Leo chewing on the plastic bag for the sweet potatoes when I got up this morning.

Prior: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-29-leo-amps-218-5-195-pmps-502.258565/
 
Sent curve to vet; here's her reply:
"I recommend a protocol closer to the SLGS. I do not recommend trying to test for ketones at home. I also recommend only checking a blood glucose when doing the curve and not at other times as this can cause you cat to stress and you can get falsely high results. Thank you!"

Meanwhile, Leo's +3 is 577!
 
Sent curve to vet; here's her reply:
"I recommend a protocol closer to the SLGS. I do not recommend trying to test for ketones at home. I also recommend only checking a blood glucose when doing the curve and not at other times as this can cause you cat to stress and you can get falsely high results. Thank you!"

Meanwhile, Leo's +3 is 577!
That's crazy what the vet suggested, why don't you ask the members here if you should increase Leo's dose :cat:
You have SLGS? In your signature and on your spreadsheet you have TR?
I think you need to decide which one you want to follow

I would ask someone to look at your SS
I'll tag some members for you
@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom[/USER


[USER=5773]@Wendy&Neko


@Sienne and Gabby (GA)[/USER]
 
Last edited:
That's crazy what the vet suggested, why don't you ask the members here if you should increase Leo's dose :cat:
You have SLGS? In your signature and on your spreadsheet you have TR?
I think you need to decide which one you want to follow

I would ask someone to look at your SS
I'll tag some members for you
@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom

@Bronx's dad (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Thank you. Leo definitely needs help. I know there were some better readings before since 1U was started, 1/9, and my hope was that Leo would lower, but it's not looking that way. :(

As far as TR or SLGS, I am still not sure the way to go. I have changed my mind more than once now.. The vet saw my email with the link about the two protocols and she "recommends a protocol closer to SLGS," and feels negative about the testing BGs or even ketones. What?! Oh, brother. Interesting how neither the vet or even here is suggesting a dose increase, yet BG numbers are clearly still high. My sister keeps telling me how her kitty ended up in the emergency due to undiagnosed diabetes and kidney failure (and didn't come through).. I don't know what to do at this point.

Maybe the vet will reply once she tries the proper link to Leo's SS. I originally provided the wrong URL. My fault.
Leo's diet was changed even before the insulin started, and now Day 22 of shots, today's numbers are awful.
 
Last edited:
Thank you. Leo definitely needs help. I know there were some better readings before since 1U was started, 1/9, and my hope was that Leo would lower, but it's not looking that way. :(

As far as TR or SLGS, I am still not sure the way to go. I have changed my mind more than once now.. The vet saw my email with the link about the two protocols and she "recommends a protocol closer to SLGS," and feels negative about the testing BGs or even ketones. What?! Oh, brother. Interesting how neither the vet or even here is suggesting a dose increase, yet BG numbers are clearly still high. My sister keeps telling me how her kitty ended up in the emergency due to undiagnosed diabetes and kidney failure. I don't know what to do at this point.

Maybe the vet will reply once she tries the proper link to Leo's SS. I originally provided the wrong URL. My fault.
Leo's diet was changed even before the insulin started, and now Day 22 of shots, today's numbers are awful.
I'll try tagging them again :cat:
and ask someone to look at your SS
Don't know if anyone has been getting these tags :cat:

@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom

@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@Wendy&Neko

@Chris & China (GA)



@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Please see #3 and #4
Thanks ladies
 
Last edited:
Can you put question mark in your title Joni? And change the words on your title to say you need help adjusting dose - first timer.

Also have you decided what protocol? If so put it on your signature so people know how best to advise. If SLGS then have you read the sticky with instructions on when to increase the dose?

I think I mentioned the vet would likely say something like this about monitorong at home. Just keep at it. That is why we are all here. Many many cats have gotten very sick by NOT home monitoring as you’re doing.

Also it’s not uncommon to get some nice numbers then shot back up. Lots of cats do it on their way to getting regulated, even Pearl if you look at the early days of her soreadsheet.

Also if you get in the habit of posting daily for questions (remember the question mark in your title) etc, people get to know you on here and you will get more frequent input as people will become knowledgeable about Leo's journey. Also if you haven't started yet - visiting other kitty's posts (we call them "condos") and looking at how other pet parents are doing the dosing, feeding, tracking numbers - commenting to ask them questions or cheer on - that helps too with the community buidling and gives you more knowledge and ifnormation about similar situations with Leo!

Here is the link for the sticky you need to read with directions on adjusting dose for either TR or SLGS. Good to print out and keep for reference. That way when you’re asking for help adjusting the dose, you’ve got some idea of whether you need an increase or have questions etc.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
Can you advise Joni about a dose increase for Leo?
 
Last edited:
Thank you. Leo definitely needs help. I know there were some better readings before since 1U was started, 1/9, and my hope was that Leo would lower, but it's not looking that way. :(

As far as TR or SLGS, I am still not sure the way to go. I have changed my mind more than once now.. The vet saw my email with the link about the two protocols and she "recommends a protocol closer to SLGS," and feels negative about the testing BGs or even ketones. What?! Oh, brother. Interesting how neither the vet or even here is suggesting a dose increase, yet BG numbers are clearly still high. My sister keeps telling me how her kitty ended up in the emergency due to undiagnosed diabetes and kidney failure (and didn't come through).. I don't know what to do at this point.

Maybe the vet will reply once she tries the proper link to Leo's SS. I originally provided the wrong URL. My fault.
Leo's diet was changed even before the insulin started, and now Day 22 of shots, today's numbers are awful.

many vets are like this. what they dont understand is that to us its like having a child who has diabetes...we are not just guna guess how much insulin is needed, wait until they are almost dying, then take to doc, then go to doc everytime a blood test needs checked!

also, the stress thing makes no sense whatsoever because our cats (most of them) get super stressed atthe vet...so almost Everytime a vet reading would be off. and once u get used to getting enuf blood b4 touching it to the strip with ur ER4's ...Leo will get more used to it most likely, at least that is how me n ares worked. I also got alot of Er4s at first, then someone i think Elise, suggested getting a bigger drop ready b4 putting strip to it...and what do uknow, it works!

the keytone thing...why in the world she wud not want u to do that is completely beyond me...its completely noninvasive....

not to put down any vets, but they dont seem to be very educated in FD specifically.

i think ur better off testing at home of course. regulation much quicker and u can keep from ER visits because of hypo by feeding and testing...
 
also, u only get 2 min afyer u insert the strip usually to get the drop ready...so what i do is get all stuff ready (ear warmed and vaseline out, get ur cotton ready, get out ur lancet and strip and BG reader) put strip in, not all the way tho. until i get Ares ear warmed and a stick in and see some good blood, then i will put strip in ALL the way (timer starts), and by then u can milk the ear to get more if needed, then put strip to blood...u shud hav enuf time after all that to get a good read.
it seems like alot, but once u get used to all these steps, it will become second nature.
 
I could not disagree more with your vet. Testing for ketones especially when this high can prevent DKA which can be life threatening. Not testing can be dangerous and lead to a symptomatic hypo which can also be a crisis situation. We have cats here go from black to lime in hours! Bouncing can make you think they need more and more insulin when they actually are reacting to going lower than the body is used to and the dose is fine or even a reduction is needed.

We see this all the time with vets. They just either don’t understand fd or think we can’t manage it ourselves. My vet is a diplomat in internal medicine and he showed my spreadsheet to his third year veterinary students when they cycled through his office and spent a week with him. He said I managed Max better than any client he ever had and he’s been practicing 30+ years. He taught me how to test. Max was very sensitive and I was afraid to test him for fear he would hide from me all the time. Trips to the vet led to pancreatitis episodes from stress but he was fine with testing. He liked his special treats and waited at his testing spot if I forgot them or something else for testing.

In my opinion Leo needs an increase to 1.5 and at least a before bed test to see if he is dropping at all at night.

I remember when I joined I said I would not be home testing. That changed when I went to my vet’s office for a nadir check and he was at 60. When people here started making dosing suggestions I thought to myself why would I listen to lay strangers rather than my vet. I soon realized that my vet was not available when Max dropped low after midnight or on the weekends and the help here kept Max safe. I hope you decide to trust us. :bighug:
 
also, u only get 2 min afyer u insert the strip usually to get the drop ready...so what i do is get all stuff ready (ear warmed and vaseline out, get ur cotton ready, get out ur lancet and strip and BG reader) put strip in, not all the way tho. until i get Ares ear warmed and a stick in and see some good blood, then i will put strip in ALL the way (timer starts), and by then u can milk the ear to get more if needed, then put strip to blood...u shud hav enuf time after all that to get a good read.
it seems like alot, but once u get used to all these steps, it will become second nature.

Thanks, Ashleigh. For some reason, it was a difficult day and usually I can poke the sweet spot and get an easy BG. Several times it's when he's relaxing on the couch with me. All I had to do was warm the sock and sit down with him again. Easy-peasy... he wasn't even looking for his dehydrated chicken treat.
He's actually been more alert lately and plays with the other two kitties. Too bad I can't post pics here... must be an Android issue or me not understanding how to do it.

BTW, thanks for the encouragement! I appreciate it.
 
Thanks, Ashleigh. For some reason, it was a difficult day and usually I can poke the sweet spot and get an easy BG. Several times it's when he's relaxing on the couch with me. All I had to do was warm the sock and sit down with him again. Easy-peasy... he wasn't even looking for his dehydrated chicken treat.
He's actually been more alert lately and plays with the other two kitties. Too bad I can't post pics here... must be an Android issue or me not understanding how to do it.

BTW, thanks for the encouragement! I appreciate it.
Im glad u have a good handle on it!
actually just a week ago i had to poke Ares 3x at AMPS cuz he was hyped up..and i realized i was also frustrated..ive learned when he is flippy like that to get a good drop put it on my nail and let him go!!

so are you going to do 1.5 like Elise suggested? i was just curious??
 
I could not disagree more with your vet. Testing for ketones especially when this high can prevent DKA which can be life threatening. Not testing can be dangerous and lead to a symptomatic hypo which can also be a crisis situation. We have cats here go from black to lime in hours! Bouncing can make you think they need more and more insulin when they actually are reacting to going lower than the body is used to and the dose is fine or even a reduction is needed.

We see this all the time with vets. They just either don’t understand fd or think we can’t manage it ourselves. My vet is a diplomat in internal medicine and he showed my spreadsheet to his third year veterinary students when they cycled through his office and spent a week with him. He said I managed Max better than any client he ever had and he’s been practicing 30+ years. He taught me how to test. Max was very sensitive and I was afraid to test him for fear he would hide from me all the time. Trips to the vet led to pancreatitis episodes from stress but he was fine with testing. He liked his special treats and waited at his testing spot if I forgot them or something else for testing.

In my opinion Leo needs an increase to 1.5 and at least a before bed test to see if he is dropping at all at night.

I remember when I joined I said I would not be home testing. That changed when I went to my vet’s office for a nadir check and he was at 60. When people here started making dosing suggestions I thought to myself why would I listen to lay strangers rather than my vet. I soon realized that my vet was not available when Max dropped low after midnight or on the weekends and the help here kept Max safe. I hope you decide to trust us. :bighug:

Impressive! I definitely trust this group more than the current prescriber. Maybe my email will sink lower and lower and they'll forget about me. Sounds like I eventually need to find a better option.

Thank you for all your comments.
As far as dosing protocol, I want what's best for Leo.
 
Last edited:
Hi it's @Diane Tyler's Mom well I'm glad you got some help after me tagging some of the members
@Mom of 3 Fur Babies

Yes, Ma'am. Thank you very much. The numbers have all over the place and not sure what to expect. 2/1/22 is Day 23 of shots. There are some improvements in his behavior, grooming, some zooming and socializing with us and the other two cats, but BG numbers haven't been fantastic except a handful. I know it's still early on.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top